Daily Driven 1992 32-20det Kinder Suprise.

Hey guys, long time lurker, short time member, new poster...

sorry lengthy, roundabout like post with a few pics.

So the story begins something along the lines of:

Last year after owning my 89 R31 5 speed manual, LSD, 2 1/2" exhaust, coilovers, etc
I had collected the parts in order to turbo it (GTR injectors, rb25 op6 turbo, low mount manifold, fmic,
front pipe, spare ecu for nistune etc) quite literally 2 weeks off slapping the turbo gear onto my 30e
and sending it off for a tune.

So mid last year 2 weeks before going to slap the turbo gear on I head to Melbourne to pick up a mate,
that was fine, on the way back we stop at Ballarat briefly for a feed, as we proceed to head up Sturt street
(main street in Ballarat for those of you playing at home), my 31 was written off by a bloke running a red light
taking out the rear 1/4.
drove the 31 home, it felt solid but insurance claimed it was to be written off due to cost of proper repair.

A few weeks after my 31 was written off I picked up an absolute bargain HR31 Passage, pillarless 4door, purple
plush interior, rb20det, 5 speed, coilovers in the rear, afterburner taillights, it was a rad car.
took it over to Shepparton in October with a bunch of mates for Skyline Nationals, great weekend, good blokes,
rad cars, lots of booze.
in December last year it turns out someone else liked it more than I did :( and it was stolen a week before xmas

e32dd3e4-3bf9-4660-81ad-81c5e8640e0c.jpg

Those of you from S.A. may have seen it was stolen, or know previous owners etc. car still to this day hasn't
been found in full or part, which is extremely disheartening, not to mention I got bent over by insurance and
ended up with about $3000 in my hand for it (about the same I got for my Ausdel 31 when it was written off)

So fast forward to late January this year, about a week before BSMC, and I purchased quite the gem, for the price
of $4800 with the history in the car. (previously owned by Olds Mark & Jules). And a folder full of receipts totalling
between $6000-$8000 or so it was a great pickup.

20150114_162327.jpg

20150130_171105.jpg

Rundown of the car from what I've seen via looking at the car, receipts, and told by multiple previous owners.

1992 R32 Skyline
under 200,000kms
5Speed manual
Exedy Cushion button clutch
Chromoly Flywheel
RB20DET Silvertop
Z32 AFM
Tomei poncams
444cc GTR injectors
Return flow fmic
Low mounted Hypergear ATR43SS1
(last dyno sheet 220kw ~ 15-16psi iirc)
3"turbo back exhaust
Splitfire coilpacks
Walbro 500hp fuel pump
Nistune Ecu
Greddy Profec B Spec II
Blitz turbo timer
Blitz pillar mounted boost gauge
A/R, Water Temp, Oil Temp & Oil Pressure Gauges
Apexi RSM
Momo steering wheel
Nismo Gear Knob
R33 S2 front seats
R33 GTR wheels 17x9 +30 215/45 tyres all-round.
lowered slightly stiffened suspension not sure haven't looked but comfortable feel, coilovers will take there place in the
future regardless.

So after happily driving around in the R32 for a few months and dealing with an intermittent misfire, I decided I would
travel to the northern suburbs to see my mother, around the corner from her house going through a roundabout the
steering went heavy while turning right but was light turning left.
upon arriving at my mothers I check power steering fluid which is about half mast, jump underneath and give the rack
boots a poke, which in turn they decided to make squid sounds at me.

GREAT STEERING RACKS SHIT ITSELF!FFS! this is around April/May from memory

FB_IMG_1426057955716.jpg

After pricing up a new/refurbished rack vs. rebuilding my rack and pump i swiftly decided to go with getting mine rebuilt.
only to be told my rack had rust marks all over the main shaft, how does that happen? :S
anyways I had my pump rebuilt and purchased a rack off of Koji at Japanese Import Spares in Windsor Gardens S.A.
Definitely recommend Koji to anyone looking for parts, good bloke, easy to talk to, and great prices.

so armed with another rack, and rebuilt pump, a swift stop into see Kelly Wong at Sleeka Spares in Pooraka to purchase
some Super Pro rack bushes, new rack ends and tie rod ends,
I set to work putting the 32 back together.

FB_IMG_1426568680637.jpg

And huzzah all fixed again ready to drive wooooooo.

11041569_10153515776556115_1440450981817

4_1.jpg

3_1.jpg

So the car was drivable again, still with inconsistent misfire which was annoying but money prevented purchasing parts etc.

so a few more months pass, its now end of July and I pulled some coin together to rid the car of that cancerous stuff we
call rust, which while it didn't have much about 10c size front of sunroof and 5c near rear window, I wanted to nip it in
the bud before it spread.
So the car was sent off the Robert Norton at Spikes Auto in Salisbury. Can't speak higher of the man, absolute magician
and ripper prices. rust removed, new front windscreen, new rubbers for sunroof and rear window and roof respray with blend
down the c-pillar (couldn't guarantee 100% colour match due to after market colour(r32 was resprayed in 2007 elsewhere with a metallic in it)) but its a perfect match, you couldn't pick that its been resprayed, all up cost me $1300 for the paint
and body work mentioned above, will take car back to him whenever body works needed.

pics below are where rust was removed from.

11800329_10153515776341115_8828967476101

11705262_10153515776316115_8851323468223

The following weeks after respray I purchased an Ignitor module which has fixed my intermittent misfire woooooo car drives
abillion times better than before super happy with it.

I also had a deal on a strut brace pop up I couldn't refuse, so i flicked some coins at a mate and in return was given a
Nismo Strut Brace with inbuilt BMC Stopper nice sturdy piece of kit for the $120 i paid which i thought was decent.
the following pics are engine bay/strut brace.
engine bay is in desprite need of a clean, any one want to clean it for me? hate cleaning engine bays hahaha.

11800079_10153500315921115_5298294613560

11781665_10153500315971115_4558657332651

11796301_10153500316016115_5295883825668

So that's about where the cars gotten me to now, few things on the todo list including cut and polish before summer, a pair
of reclinable back seats unsure what way to go late model gtrs or sparco/recaro etc (bit of side/bolster wear on drivers
33s2 seat currently), RB25 gearbox and clutch at the same time for piece of mind, coilovers, 300kw club? bigger injectors/turbo
and highmount?, maybe gtr front or autospoiler undecided currently, maybe some different wheels down the track too.
there's too many good wheels goddamnit.

So yea hopefully some of the to do list is knocked off in the short term that would be good, but so would a job to get them
done quicker hahaha.

anyway I'll leave you with an ass shot,
and if any of you S.A. guys see me around chuck out a wave or something hahaha...

11267528_10153513906901115_6945455855678

Ayden.

Edited by Ados31

Good to see a neat 32 getting some love!!!!

If you are not hard on gearboxes the std gearbox will be fine as long you keep good oil in it. Mine lived for over 10 years at around 260rwkjws and lasted 18 months at 310rwkws and then the last 6 months with an RB25 and T67 making 330rwkws in front of it. That gearbox had 220,000kms on it and I gave it to a friend to mod the bellhousing and put behind his GTX3071 SR20....it still lives and he is popping driveshafts. So don't smash gears, don't clutch kick and use Castrol Syntrans and there is every reason why your gearbox will last happily at the power you are making.

Just keep good fluids in the engine and with a good quality tune with your current setup at 18psi the engine will last forever! Just flog the guts out of it and enjoy it. If you must go bigger power I suggest you look closely at the FP based turbos with compressor wheels around the 68mm size size. Will flow 300rwkws with E85, about 280rwkws on 98 and 20psi. 20s don't mind boost provided they are tuned well as they have good solid pistons, plenty of wall thickness in the block and short stroke which means revs and boost don't hurt them near as much as the bigger RBs out there (and we know they don't struggle for reliability either so...)

LOL...that is my $2.02 worth :)

Cheers mate,

Yea the 20boxes have been solid for me, the s3 r31 use a 20det box, im usually gentle on the boxes, with the occasional beating and the box in my 31 lasted over 6years and beyond.

So i have no doubts about the 20box holding up, more so piece of mind, overkill is usually better.

Cheers for the info dude, i shall look into the fp turbos, id prefer to stay on pulp due to closest e85 servo being 25-30km away aswell as i do travel interstate from time to time and dont want to waste boot space carrying extra fuel etc.

Hahaha not wrong adelaides full of silvias and 33's, not complaining about either of them, but a few more 32's wouldn't go astray...

Cheers mate appreciate it, hope my luck with this is a touch better than it was with the 31's. Still wouldn't mind a nice HR31 coupe though hahaha.

hey guys,
been crook this last week, but decided it was a good time to give the 32 a good clean and a polish. love how it seems to gleam that much more after a polish but f**k me its not fun trying to keep a black car clean, such a dust magnet... ohwell...

also very pleased in deciding on purchasing the 32 all those months ago, as I was contemplating a 33 at the time, today after having the chance to jump into a 33 and take it for a quick blatt, my choice on the 32 was the correct one in my opinion.
The 33 feels strong and well put together but seems like its a very big vehicle, whilst I still have nothing against them, I just prefer the feeling of the 32, it just feels that bit smaller, nimble and agile in comparison.

anyway, hopefully some money/job comes in soon and I can splash some coin at the 32 in the mean time enjoy a few photos after the polishing it copped the other day.

12046867_10153642228056115_1521703335224

12036971_10153642227826115_3527201593998

12003265_10153642227911115_6329878998219

12002331_10153642228006115_7386279394481

• 10 months later...

So long time since update, not a whole lot has happened since the last update, 

Got a missus so all the funds that were getting put to the side for 32funds have been repurposed, luckily the 32 has been driving perfectly with no issues touchwood.

Basically just been driving it, got some new tyres aswell achillies atr sport 2, and some kumho hs51, good grip both dry and wet weather and decently priced.

Did purchase a brand new indicator stalk after getting cut off and flashing highbeams netted me a snapped stalk mechanism and replaced the h.i.d kit as passenger side ballast decided it didnt want to pull its weight anymore...

On ‎8‎/‎16‎/‎2016 at 1:55 PM, jmknights93 said:

Keen to see some pics. Such a neat package you have there.

its overdue for a wash so will give it a well deserved scrub, and take some pictures if I remember to update the thread...

So not a happy post with pictures of a clean car.

Instead much the opposite today, drove down to see my grandmother at brighton (in griffiths rehab centre after a fall), upon arriving at griffiths pulling into the carpark and the clutch went to the floor. As seen in the attached video *warning m15+ language :P *

After visiting grandma and weighing up my options for getting the car home, i opted for the drive it home with no clutch/rev match method. 

Upon arriving back home and inspecting the cylinders etc, only place that seemed to be leaking is the damper (assuming its a damper), so ordered some parts tonight car should be fully operational again end of this coming week.

Parts ordered:

New clutch master

New clutch slave

Hel braided full length clutch line (from master to slave).

Once thats all in and the car is once again operational i shall take it for a celebratory sk.....wash... yes a celebratory wash :)

20160909_175638.jpg

20160909_171646.jpg

Snapchat-4992142583726422593.mp4

1. So over the weekend i missed most of skynats with car f**keries, luckily thanks to a mexican i made an appearance at the track day on sunday...
  2. Anyways somewhere between the first and third pictures i went to bunnings to obtain a fire making device that burns a compressed gas in order to heat the bolts up allowing them to be undone and ultimately getting the tailshaft out...
  3. After getting the tailshaft out it came to undoing the shaft/splitting the shaft ofcourse that didnt ...go to plan, and had to chop the bolts...
    Ofcourse you guessed it finding the same bolts wasnt going to happen, well it could have but a venture down to nisswreck ultimately left me a little unhappy but thats a different story...
  4. Anyway i obtained some high tensile bolts of equal size/slightly longer, after obtaining them i had to purchase a bearing pulled to get the flange off in order to change the centre bearing... once all that was done,smashing it back together was a piece of piss...
  5. All in all, easy job turned flamin mongrelish, as they say if its got tits or wheels its always going to have problems, or its always going to be expensive...
  6. Anyway got it all back together, took it for a quick drive, slotted a few gears, hard launch and a brief skiddlydoo with bulk axle tramp and i can say the bolts seem to be holding 1f44c.png?1f44c.png?1f44c.png?
  7. Now im broke, slightly happier than i have been the last few days, and really wish i had myself some icey cold beverages...
  8. Lets make that tomorrows mission then...
    Hopefully now the cars fixed life can start being a bit easier on me... i know haha good joke, lets see how that works out for me ehhh...

14955880_10154641225586115_6711879935912808062_n.jpg
    14947774_10154641225701115_8931546976766214984_n.jpg
    14639683_10154641225886115_290425520852704180_n.jpg
    14947434_10154641225981115_5584402646858666335_n.jpg
    14907021_10154641226096115_4847193333786589978_n.jpg
    14947576_10154641226291115_3063698205768321636_n.jpg
    14732150_10154641226386115_3821892320257751460_n.jpg
    14600919_10154641226496115_4886335557298197195_n.jpg

14956638_10154641226201115_5828004151600577064_n.jpg

was rather disappointed that this issue caused me to miss the skynats weekend for the most part (didn't attend the show and shine), luckily to one of the Mexican (Victorian) mates i made the track day at mallala albeit not in my vehicle...

anyway days after and lack of time has meant I haven't jacked it up to recheck bolts,,, but the car has driven perfectly for the past 350kms so far... when I say driven perfectly the slight stutter/lag between gears aswell as knock between gears is gone...
but I have a deep deep sneaking suspicion I may have a big end on its way out... hope desperately its not, cars still driving well, just worried overall.
I'm not someone that tends to deal well when he knows his cars broken lol...

anyway tailshafts back together,,, cars driving well, still boosting and making zuutuutuu sounds so that's swell and imma call that a win,,, infact its a huge win currently...

also if anyone has a late 2piece shaft utilizing clip in uni joints, rather than staked in uni joints, please let me know I may be interested for future reference...