Relax, mate. I apologise if the way i phrased it upset you.

Also a 32 GTR is less refined than a 34. Fact. It is also 80% the same car as a 34. I got my 32R when it was 15 years old from Japan (2004) so I know as do a lot of folks on here how much they (32-34R) cost to build and run. A 34R is now as old or older than mine when I got it.

btw I didn't generalise as to why it wasn't good advice. I was quite specific.

All good Derrick, it is the internet.

Bonus fact -

1. I wish I had bought an EVO, had more seat time on the track over the years and saved all that cash that goes towards having a GTR.

To the OP. If you want a Skyline. A GTS/T/25T/GTT will still be around in years to come and stay cheap.

Naa its all good mate! I read the post on the train after a long day at work so i was rather moody. I do realize how expensive owning a r34 GTR can be as my friend spent roughly $40,000 on maintenance/mods only to have it stolen a year later. So i'd say Anfanee is also on the money there. Ill admit r34 GTR is probably bad advice, at the time of writing the post i just saw it as a goal and was ignorant of the costs associated with owning one.

Anyway, you clearly know much more about owning GTRs than me, ive only driven them, never owned one :( I was contemplating buying one (r32 or r34 GTR) this year but i couldnt justify purchasing one as the r32 GTR has gone up in price ever since they started selling in the US. I decided to instead put the money towards some real-estate :P Evo shall suffice

I reckon you made the right choice going GTR, they're only going to go up in price while the evo has hit a all time low. Evo 8 MRs go for 23k, 2 years ago they were 30k. All that time and money invested back then will make it that much more special to drive today ;)

$105k Sports car that is 25 years old with a systemic oil starvation issue that has in most cases been modified, driven hard, heaps of KM's under the belt and poorly maintained. Of course it lets go.

Then poorly rebuilt, modified further, tuned and pushed beyond it's limits, again.

Just because it sports a GTR badge does not mean it is a super hero.

GTR's have a rep because of their racing history. Racing teams have big budgets and experience to keep them on the track.

Over engineer it, maintain it and drive it within tolerances if you want it to last and have small ongoing running costs.

If you want a good GTR then build it or pay the premium for one that is done right and then treat it right.

Edited by Sinista32
  • Like 8

I'm not fussed about GTRs. They're awesome and everything, but I'm not going to be in a financial situation to afford and maintain a GTR until I'm in my 30s and by then they'll be way too old. I would be really happy with an R34 GTT on my fulls.

Edited by Wordsmith

$105k Sports car that is 25 years old with a systemic oil starvation issue that has in most cases been modified, driven hard, heaps of KM's under the belt and poorly maintained. Of course it lets go.

Then poorly rebuilt, modified further, tuned and pushed beyond it's limits, again.

Just because it sports a GTR badge does not mean it is a super hero.

GTR's have a rep because of their racing history. Racing teams have big budgets and experience to keep them on the track.

Over engineer it, maintain it and drive it within tolerances if you want it to last and have small ongoing running costs.

If you want a good GTR then build it or pay the premium for one that is done right and then treat it right.

Well said.

Get an EVO instead.. will do better times around Wakefield park, E8/9/10 will do 1m10s around Wakefield 100% stock (although with a pro driver).

A stock R32/33/34 GT-R would have a hard time getting those times.

I'm not fussed about GTRs. They're awesome and everything, but I'm not going to be in a financial situation to afford and maintain a GTR until I'm in my 30s and by then they'll be way too old. I would be really happy with an R34 GTT on my fulls.

Thirtys old ,ha ha ha,your never to old for a hpi. :-)

It's not about me being too old, it's about the GTR! By the time I'm 30 the car will be 25. I heard maintenance on GTRs is a lot, even when they're newish. When they're 25 years old, it'll be even more expensive to keep them running right?

From what I can work out with Skylines, either they have been flogged to death and sold just before it does POP!.

OR they get looked after. when things are getting worn out, they get upgraded and the only thing old left is the shell as most of the other shit is newish , not 15 or 25 years old . BUT you have to pay for quality.

So you need to know what you are buying, get all the previous work invoices if you can and find out as much about the car you are looking at buying. Do not take the private sellers word without proof, it is an as is sale.

Car yards, get the best warranty you can get from them , check the models value and read the fine print, twice!

From what I can work out with Skylines, either they have been flogged to death and sold just before it does POP!.

OR they get looked after. when things are getting worn out, they get upgraded and the only thing old left is the shell as most of the other shit is newish , not 15 or 25 years old . BUT you have to pay for quality.

So you need to know what you are buying, get all the previous work invoices if you can and find out as much about the car you are looking at buying. Do not take the private sellers word without proof, it is an as is sale.

Car yards, get the best warranty you can get from them , check the models value and read the fine print, twice!

words of wisdom right here.

The way I look at it, if I'm buying a 20+ year old car I'm expecting to have to spend money making it reliable, and anything that old is a project, not a daily driver. And as said above, the more you replace (or the previous owner replaced) the less there is to go wrong from that point forward.