But as i said, 90% of Australia is wide flat and straight, carting an extra drive train around just isnt worth it. If you live in the hills and drive on twisties or race all the time then its probably justified. Horses for courses.

But what percentage of the population lives out in the nullarbor?

I.e. Most of us don't live in the middle of no where :)

If I was doing a lot of straight line driving damned if I'm going to do it in a 32-34.

If you're going to granny it everywhere you don't need ATTESSA... or any sort of performance car.

However, as has been said here before. You can't experience these cars to their full potential on the road. (Idiots put aside)

^^ Hardly

There is no other way of putting it. GTR's are dinosaurs now. And they show their age. You really do have to love them to put up with them. And you will struggle to find someone that enjoys his car more than me. But you have to be realistic.

Legit the only reason you would buy a 32/33/34 and mod the crap out of it to drive it on the street is because of nostalgia. value for money wise you can get much more these days.

I fully agree with this and that's coming from someone who has owned a 33 GTsT, 33R and now a 34R.

I don't drive mine daily, so I'm a little different, mine is just a weekender but I always wanted a Z tune replica and while I know there are heaps of cars locally that could smash me in a straight line (there' sa lot of boosted V8s and Ford 6s here). None of them look anywhere near as good or handle as well in my opinion.

I've owned RWD, FWD, AWD, 4, 6 and 8 cyl NA and FI and my 2 most favorite cars to drive are the Rs.

The 33R was a daily, but I feel like they are wasted as a daily (I also ended up with 1 point left...). I feel like the age/cost of the car lends itself much more to being a special occasion/weekend only affair. There are much better dailies to be had for far less outright and ongoing cost.

I would also say there are way better track car options. I have a Silvia and it punches so far above its weight and costs peanuts in comparison to my mates big RB cars. For track I would be going Silvia or Evo.

But what percentage of the population lives out in the nullarbor?

I.e. Most of us don't live in the middle of no where :)

If I was doing a lot of straight line driving damned if I'm going to do it in a 32-34.

If you're going to granny it everywhere you don't need ATTESSA... or any sort of performance car.

However, as has been said here before. You can't experience these cars to their full potential on the road. (Idiots put aside)

Every major city in Australia has windy hill areas close by. Hell i have a choice of 3 or 4 really good locations less than 30 minutes away from me. And as RBN1 said. If you are going for straight line i wouldn't even buy a GTS-T.

Lol, I use mine for trips. It handles ok, has good long legs, is easy on the fuel [for 300rwkw], comfortable, still has cred, and has great power for overtaking etc. The trips I take like to Adelaide and back, Gold Coast and back etc are on main roads and have 20km in 1,000km of windy road [actually to Adelaide it wasn't even that]. Even on the Snowy you only have 40km in 300.

Going on the Sturt/Hume/Pacific/Newell/Oxley etc doesn't need 4wd. And yeah i could do it in my 4wd twin cab or some Kia/Hyundia buzzbox, but wheres the fun in that. And I get frustrated stuck behind vehicles and not being able to overtake, motorbikes and fast cars take the angst out of my day.

And not everyone lives east of the Divide RBN1, some actually live in the over 90%. :action-smiley-069:

Not saying don't, just saying consider your purpose. One day I might actually get a 34 or 35, but not just yet - real estate takes priority for now.

Everyone knows for touring you are better off with more Cyl. A V8 will sit much more nicely for long distance driving. Not to mention i don't know anyone that says a skyline is "comfortable", they are anything but.

Basically you are complaining because you bought the wrong car for what you do...

If anyone bought the wrong car it was me, but luckily I was in a financial situation to make it the right car for me. I do not see a problem driving Rs on long trips as most highways are pretty good. I go 5 minutes from home and it is like a driving heaven for 50 klm with all types of driving conditions with variable speed limits and some great twisty stuff and at the right time you are just about the only car on it.

I am going to have an extra large hole made and they can bury me in the GTR , get to hell ASAP and in a car I love to drive :)

• Like 4

Lmao........I have never complained once..............do you need an interpreter? A V8, yeah but they do the same job and are boring...been there done that. My Skyline is comfortable, something wrong with yours??? I hear GTR's can be harsh??? :rofl2:

Based on the above reasoning of only driving what is most practical, then we should all be driving corollas or VF sixes. Come on fellas. I have been driving mine daily for more the 6 years and couldn't be happier, love getting in the thing, love driving the thing, love the whole package. Keeping up the maintenance is so cheap too. The most expensive thing is changing 7 litres of oil every 5000.

Sure its not a family car because its not meant to be. I think most of the issues come with drivers hitting the limiter and breaking oil pumps or trying to push engines and drive trains to the limit with stock parts and crap tunes just to get big numbers, but u start doing that with any car you will break stuff, speaking from experience.

As for all the other small plastic crap, bolts, fittings and crap that is aging, just jump onto rhd japan or nengun with a list of what u need and doesn't cost that much really or get off ur arse and pull shit out and make them pretty if that's what you like.

Skyline GTRs are the best, the only thing that would be as fun to drive would be an AE86 with a welded diff, maybe.

With the Americans buying up all the 25+ year old skylines I can see the prices going up across the board in the near future. I want to sell my r33 that I've owned for 10 years but I think I'll regret because i won't be in the market if i want to buy one down the track.

Everyone knows for touring you are better off with more Cyl. A V8 will sit much more nicely for long distance driving. Not to mention i don't know anyone that says a skyline is "comfortable", they are anything but.

Basically you are complaining because you bought the wrong car for what you do...

They were a great "GT" car back in the day. It's classic motoring now!

Steady on, he's not complaining :)

That said most of our cars (inc your's and mine) are too highly modified to be comfortable. Fairly standard with nice road type coilovers (Bilsteins etc) they're great. Change every bush to urethane/metal, stiffer sway bars, large loud exhausts, roll cages, after market diffs, heavy clutch, harder track orientated (or just crap) suspension and so on and they start to be come a pig.

Based on the above reasoning of only driving what is most practical, then we should all be driving corollas or VF sixes. Come on fellas. I have been driving mine daily for more the 6 years and couldn't be happier, love getting in the thing, love driving the thing, love the whole package. Keeping up the maintenance is so cheap too. The most expensive thing is changing 7 litres of oil every 5000.
Sure its not a family car because its not meant to be. I think most of the issues come with drivers hitting the limiter and breaking oil pumps or trying to push engines and drive trains to the limit with stock parts and crap tunes just to get big numbers, but u start doing that with any car you will break stuff, speaking from experience.
As for all the other small plastic crap, bolts, fittings and crap that is aging, just jump onto rhd japan or nengun with a list of what u need and doesn't cost that much really or get off ur arse and pull shit out and make them pretty if that's what you like.

Skyline GTRs are the best, the only thing that would be as fun to drive would be an AE86 with a welded diff, maybe.

You're right mate, as I said, they are a great GT car still however I think there are better cars to do huge KM's on. They don't even have cruise control....

You can do countless miles on the road and they won't miss a beat. Put them on a track on a hot day and see how it goes. Perfect stress test.

They don't even have cruise control....

You can do countless miles on the road and they won't miss a beat.

Yeah cruise control would be nice, I thought about an aftermarket product years ago then I called myself a weak pussy and never did it.

[emoji57]

Yeah cruise control would be nice, I thought about an aftermarket product years ago then I called myself a weak pussy and never did it.

[emoji57]

lol if you ever do, let me know.

I'm getting weak in my old age and really would like cruise control.

I looked at an AM cruise control a while ago..........somebody on here had one, Kat maybe? Not sure. They said that they worked OK. Be a good thing across the Hay Plains.

The one thing I did say about skylines in general several years back now, as they get older and older and thus cheaper and cheaper they will fall into the hands of more and more street racers and bogans in general. There will be a universe between the ones like we treat ours [pristine with tasteful well set out mods] and the thrash machines fate that also awaits old Commodores and Falcons etc. I would not be surprised to see run down dented skylines for $1-2K. The plus for that is they would make a great project or track car, so start with a shell and build up from there.

Generally though Skylines will be similar to older corvettes, transams and camaro's and live on in an enthusiasts hands. Hell we may even see a slow cost appreciation for the GTR [esp. the 32] over time.

That's already well and truly on the way. Early model 32's have become legal in America. 34's have jumped in cost already in Japan.

http://www.classicandperformancecar.com/nissan/skyline/4725/nissan-skyline-r32-values-double-in-japan

Think of it this way. They made millions of Mustang's, and they're still worth an absolute mint. The most "common" GTR is the 32 with 44k odd produced. Do the math. The prices have already started to jump by leaps and bounds and they'll continue that way as younger generations get more cash + they become even more rare + American market is now open.

I have just bought some MCA X-C coilvers and will be having them installed in a couple of weeks, anyone had any experience with the MCA range?

Mine has a mind of its own on some crappy roads , take an extra pair of undies when I go to play, so I will also have the bushes changed and whatever else is loose down there. Try another alignment and hope it all helps keeping it going straight, lol

But, cruise control, really ??

I have had it on a few cars and only used it once :/

Its still 1975 ^^^^, it always is............every time we turn around its still 1975, Levi jeans and Led Zeppelin are everywhere!

The only proviso I'll put on my previous comment is that we have to wait and see if it will last past a generation. If it does then its classic status, if it doesn't then its just another blip in automotive history. That is the true test.

I know this because I have older british motorcycles and some are collectable and have gone on to be envied by new generations and others are worth little and and after all the people of that era get too old or die out then nobody wants them. Yet both models started out with similar pedigree's, And its not even how rare or practical they are, its more how they are remembered, aarrr the mists of time!!!

I personally think GTRs will have no problems, but I am trapped in the same generation so my opinion may die with me??

And apologies to the OP, there are still Skylines here and in Japan ready to be sold, so they will still be around in 10 leave alone 2 years.