My car was in an accident recently,  took a punt in front. 1997 GTS-T  Series II automatic.

Both driver's and passengers aibags deployed.

What part's do I need to require to fix this shit-suation?

Can you use second hand parts?

Should I  leave my battery disconnected until they're fixed?

Basically the proceedures to repair the car....?

Or can anyone recommend a good repairer in Melbourne?

I figure the ECU will require some sort of resetting procedure?

Nissan Genuine prices are outrageous.

Just trying to cost up the repair  atm

tmp_3798-IMAG2522-1432155831.jpg

tmp_3798-IMAG25211641643250.jpg

tmp_3798-IMAG2522-1432155831.jpg

tmp_3798-IMAG25211641643250.jpg

Edited by mercyseat

Don't know the answer to your question but I have seen cars written off because of the cost of replacing the airbags. I would suggest checking out some non franchised Nissan workshops for ideas.

you will need

both airbags (given)

steering wheel clock spring

undeployed airbag module (under centre console)

undeployed front seatbelts 

some instances, you may need new front crash sensors

2 hours ago, Dose Pipe Sutututu said:

you will need

both airbags (given)

steering wheel clock spring

undeployed airbag module (under centre console)

undeployed front seatbelts 

some instances, you may need new front crash sensors

Thanks Heaps!

Car WAS an economical write-off so not a complete Stat Write Off luckily.

How do you know though that you have the correct second hand airbags / clock springs etc? Are there specific serial numbers?

I just spoke to one guy in NSW and he said when you use second hand parts you have to program them into the CPU also.

But until they dial into the CPU the full diagnosis can't be determined...

I reckon the crash sensor is a given too seemingly the damage at the front. Don't even know what it looks like OR where it's located?

I found a guy who will quote to repair but he wants the other damage repaired first which makes sense. 

Sourcing other parts as we speak...bonnet, headlights, front bar, fog lights, radiator, radiator fan schroud, radiator condenser, windscreen....etc etc

It's gonna be a slow rebuild.

Edited by mercyseat

Whoever spoke to you is telling you fibs.. it's an old car the airbags are not coded like new cars.

Just get everything from a S2 GTS-t or S2/S3 GT-R they're the same. 

Older S1 or S14 S1 or 180SX have the airbag module built into the steering wheel.. newer one such as anything with dual airbags all run off the module undernealth the centre console. It's held in by a security torx bolt.. (star shape with a rod in the middle, bunnings/repco/supercheap have them... can't recall on price).

Just placed an ad in the wanted to buy section.

Only got the  car home yesterday,  gonna rip apart the front and go through the parts required.

Will try to buy an entire dash I think. Battery is dead from sitting untouched for a month, should i just disconnect it whilst I'm taking the front apart?

Was thinking of recharging it.

Just placed an ad in the wanted to buy section.

Only got the  car home yesterday,  gonna rip apart the front and go through the parts required.

Will try to buy an entire dash I think. Battery is dead from sitting untouched for a month, should i just disconnect it whilst I'm taking the front apart?

Was thinking of recharging it.

EBay and Gumtree are your friends for a lot of parts. There was a 33 dash for sale recently for like $50 on eBay. Why do you want to replace the whole dash. Is it damaged from the air bags deploying?

4 hours ago, admS15 said:

EBay and Gumtree are your friends for a lot of parts. There was a 33 dash for sale recently for like $50 on eBay. Why do you want to replace the whole dash. Is it damaged from the air bags deploying?

Bummer, yep I think from what I can see passenger airbag could have caused some damage, drivers one tore through the steering wheel centre section. No idea if it will turn over if I dismantle the centre section from the steering wheel. Either way the dash has to come out to repair the passenger airbag I've been told.

No bloody idea how to remove the stuffed airbags.

Passenger bag casing won't re-close.

Not sure how to dismantle the centre section of the driver's airbag. If I remove it,  will I be able to drive the car?

IMAG2718.jpg

IMAG2724.jpg

IMAG2727.jpg

IMAG2722.jpg

IMAG2715.jpg

IMAG2717.jpg

IMAG2723.jpg

Just spoke to Nissan.

Apparently if you want to replace the old airbags with secondhand/salvage one's they must be "stamped" OK from someone who's qualified in testing the airbags.

You won't pass a roadworthy if the second hand one's are not tested.

So leaving these off my second hand shopping list for now.Will find a proper airbag repairer to source/do all the work after the rest of the car is up and running

TBH.. if you're going down that path, you're better off wrecking the car/selling the car and getting another R33 S2.

Nissan will tell you what is best practices... I would personally replace it all myself, however that's me personally.

I plan to sell the entire wreck if I can't fix it myself or it becomes a headache. 

Still got a good solid engine with only 96,000kms on the clock and gear box to match, rest of the car was mint pre accident hence why I'm trying to fix it up.

There is no time limit here as I have another car moreso a project. I was thinking of buying another entire car and pillaging parts off mine, just haven't found anything that matches

my 40th Anniversary model, not many around .

Has anyone ever seen a Crash Sensor or selling one?  

4 hours ago, Dose Pipe Sutututu said:

most of the time (from my experience) you don't need to replace the crash sensor.. however on newer cars yes.

Well I bloody hope so that's the case because Nissan advised they don't supply that part anymore. R.I.P genuine crash sensor.

I did note they are willing to sell you  new airbags for ridiculous  $$$, weird but that might be because you don't need that little annoying sensor that deploys the airbags under 30 km's MVA's. Besides the airbags caused more harm than help in my case.

Maybe there's a generic part available otherwise I'm up shit creek.

Or just pillage an entire dash & bags from another 97 S2.

Buying a 40th Anniversary model can be a pain looking for parts. People go on about mainly cosmetics but there is way more differences,  some from R34 eg stock rims are the stock R34 style, injectors upgraded/moved,  seat belt holders, interior stitching, badging, rear wing tail light,  turbo has a nylon compressor wheel,not to mention bonnet/ headlights over all look is sharper. Also midnight purple isn't easy to match buying second hand.. Pre accident the car had more torque and very responsive gearbox. Much more guts than my old 1994. Actually had to tone down as the rear end liked to swing out , was fun to drive.

TBH.. 40th Anniversary isn't anything special.. I had one before, and sold it.. didn't go for much more than a 1996/1997 S2.

If your mind is set on fixing your car, unplug the airbag module under the centre console and start replacing all the airbags, clockspring, followed by the 2x front seat belts. Once that's done, install a new module (make sure the battery is disconnected). Then plug back your battery, then standing in a safe position where the airbags can't deploy and hit your face/head/neck etc. flick the car onto 'ON'.

Check the SRS light, it should come on.. do it's checks then turn off. If it remains on/flashing, then look up the error codes and replace the outstanding items.

"Usually" the clockspring & crash sensors can be reused.