Super Roo Posted July 26, 2016 Share Posted July 26, 2016 Hi all, So, I've had my offer on an R33 GT-R accepted (very exciting times!) subject to passing a mechanical inspection. I'd be much obliged if anyone could give me recommendations for a good mechanic to carry out the pre-purchase inspection for me, preferably with extensive experience with RB26 GT-Rs. Would need to be able to do a compression test.The car is in Casula in South Sydney, so being close to there would be a bonus. I've had a search on this and other forums. A few years ago someone mention Brad at Autosports (RISKING was/is his name on this forum apparently), is he still around and would he be a good choice? Thanks heaps in advance for your help, it's greatly appreciated . Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hadouken Posted July 26, 2016 Share Posted July 26, 2016 If you want guru. Take it to unigroup. If you want someone closer, take it to pulse racing 2 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7760871 Share on other sites More sharing options...
r32-25t Posted July 26, 2016 Share Posted July 26, 2016 Just jap or jem are ones I can think off that aren't to far out of your way, brad is no longer operating 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7760874 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aussie_Delivered_R32_GTR Posted July 26, 2016 Share Posted July 26, 2016 7 hours ago, Hadouken said: If you want guru. Take it to unigroup. If you want someone closer, take it to pulse racing Agreed re Unigroup ........Mark and Yavuz are great..... Google Unigroup.......... And the only potential negative you will find is that they are booked out a week or two in advance for major work. They are highly recommended. Bob. 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7760910 Share on other sites More sharing options...
JGTC Posted July 26, 2016 Share Posted July 26, 2016 The below 3 shops have all built numerous GT-Rs, options around Casula are; JEM - Ingleburn 2/2 Noonan Rd Ingleburn, NSW (02) 9618 6001 https://www.facebook.com/JustEngineManagement/ Powertune - Fairfield Address 8/88 Seville Street Fairfield East NSW 2165 Phone (02) 9724 0606 Fax (02) 9383 8632 Email [email protected] https://www.facebook.com/powertune.australia/?fref=ts F&E Autoworks - Smithfield Unit 5/369 Victoria Street Smithfield, NSW (02) 8798 6868 https://www.facebook.com/feautoworks/?fref=ts 2 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7760951 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longz Posted August 11, 2016 Share Posted August 11, 2016 I highly reccomend F&E Autoworks New shop address is 5\369 victoria st wetherill park tell them i sent you Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7765829 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RB25PWR Posted August 12, 2016 Share Posted August 12, 2016 On 7/26/2016 at 9:34 PM, Super Roo said: preferably with extensive experience with RB26 GT-Rs. Would need to be able to do a compression test.The car is in Casula in South Sydney, so being close to there would be a bonus. If you're gonna be dropping $30k+ you want someone who knows RB's like you said. Unigroup. 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7766070 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super Roo Posted September 14, 2016 Author Share Posted September 14, 2016 Thank you very much for the recommendations all. Had the car taken to Unigroup, who seem to have done a good job - car drives amazingly and is now all mine . Thanks to all here who have helped me with my journey so far! 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7775591 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aussie_Delivered_R32_GTR Posted September 14, 2016 Share Posted September 14, 2016 Did you see Mark or Yavuz? Ta...... Bob. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7775607 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super Roo Posted September 26, 2016 Author Share Posted September 26, 2016 Not too sure mate, as I don't live in Sydney I had the seller take it there for me. Will most likely go back for major stuff/an annual service though. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7778531 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aussie_Delivered_R32_GTR Posted September 26, 2016 Share Posted September 26, 2016 Ok....... No worries. They both have a very good reputation. Bob. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/465987-recommendation-for-an-r33-gt-r-pre-purchase-inspection-mechanic-in-south-sydney/#findComment-7778654 Share on other sites More sharing options...