reaper Posted September 1, 2019 Share Posted September 1, 2019 Buying a new car isn't the be all and end all you think it is. I still battle daily/weekly with buying another S14 for skids even though I have a perfectly capable albeit expensive skid car (f80 m3). 3 cars is probably already enough I don't need a 4th really.... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7914919 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 1, 2019 Author Share Posted September 1, 2019 That's true, however the creature comforts and all the tech aids in new cars make driving just so much more fun. Want smoke? press a button, want crackles? press a button, want firmer suspension? press a button. Let's see, maybe once I hit up Wakefield again and chop a few GT-Rs I might be happy again. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7914926 Share on other sites More sharing options...
reaper Posted September 1, 2019 Share Posted September 1, 2019 Yeah but you just don't feel as engaged with the car. Something that is a nice daily that you can take to the track is still going to be compromised. Unless you are daily driving the 33 I don't see the point in changing it out. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7914928 Share on other sites More sharing options...
niZmO_Man Posted September 2, 2019 Share Posted September 2, 2019 Depends on your definition of fun. Pressing a paddle and hearing farting noises vs. shifting gears yourself. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7914955 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 2, 2019 Author Share Posted September 2, 2019 1 hour ago, niZmO_Man said: Depends on your definition of fun. Pressing a paddle and hearing farting noises vs. shifting gears yourself. Yaasss! This lol. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7914968 Share on other sites More sharing options...
niZmO_Man Posted September 3, 2019 Share Posted September 3, 2019 I must say, I didn't like the whole paddle shifter thing, but it grows on you. Press paddle and concentrate on next corner, it can be quite fun. Almost feels like you're driving the old Super Tourers with the sequential paddle boxes. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915051 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcAUSER Posted September 3, 2019 Share Posted September 3, 2019 Yer I find I only ever use the paddles on down shifts for braking, very rarely on acceleration. Generally off the lights its just gas it lol But if I was going for a run up Macquarie pass or something like that, Ill use the paddles Oh an only ever when the wife isn't in the car lol 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915054 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 9, 2019 Author Share Posted September 9, 2019 Was windy last week and my GTR boot and spoiler hit the pavement pretty hard and door toppled over onto the car. A week later they're both in the same position lol. 1 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915497 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 12, 2019 Author Share Posted September 12, 2019 A year later, decided to get off my arse and update the engine number, also the 1st time I've driven it in 3 or more weeks. It's not slow aye? Got it a bit sideways then I stopped and thought, I really need to keep my license for work so gave it a few more hits now it's back in the backyard. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915667 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcAUSER Posted September 12, 2019 Share Posted September 12, 2019 so did it re-ignite the love? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915669 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 12, 2019 Author Share Posted September 12, 2019 ummm.. not sure, it's covered in dents/rust - puts me off and I need to throw the Nissan idle control valve in the bin, and also the throttle body and go DBW.. The idle control reacts so slow and stalls sometimes with the AC on, I suspect it's filled with gunk and crap from 20 years of terrible air filters and engine blow by. But that's money I don't want to spend and time I don't have to setup the DBW lol... so it stays how it is. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915672 Share on other sites More sharing options...
WantGTR Posted September 12, 2019 Share Posted September 12, 2019 25 minutes ago, Dose Pipe Sutututu said: ummm.. not sure, it's covered in dents/rust - puts me off and I need to throw the Nissan idle control valve in the bin, and also the throttle body and go DBW.. The idle control reacts so slow and stalls sometimes with the AC on, I suspect it's filled with gunk and crap from 20 years of terrible air filters and engine blow by. But that's money I don't want to spend and time I don't have to setup the DBW lol... so it stays how it is. f**k the a.c. off, open a window. #streetcar 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915674 Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Bogan Posted September 12, 2019 Share Posted September 12, 2019 Magic spray? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915675 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 12, 2019 Author Share Posted September 12, 2019 7 minutes ago, WantGTR said: f**k the a.c. off, open a window. #streetcar Yeah it's Nissan, power window reg died on the LHS.. piece of shit doesn't go down Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915676 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcAUSER Posted September 12, 2019 Share Posted September 12, 2019 LOL Same, so I got the left rigged to the right switch so now one switch does both 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7915677 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 22, 2019 Author Share Posted September 22, 2019 Rotated the wheels on the beast, man 20s aren't light. They're like 25kg per corner! Dealer wanted to charge me $40+ for a wheel rotation during the $420 service, yeah nah. Also, wheel bolts are torqued to 140nm not 100 ~ 110nm like wheel nuts. Yes those are OEM lock bolts Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7916311 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 22, 2019 Author Share Posted September 22, 2019 Time for beer I suppose 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7916321 Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Bogan Posted September 22, 2019 Share Posted September 22, 2019 3 hours ago, Dose Pipe Sutututu said: Time for beer I suppose I had a bong that looked like that when I was about 18 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7916331 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 22, 2019 Author Share Posted September 22, 2019 Now with wanker obnoxious noises, fit for a dickhead in a Skyline 2 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7916346 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted September 22, 2019 Author Share Posted September 22, 2019 Listed up some FPRs www.nhbautomotive.com.au Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/53/#findComment-7916352 Share on other sites More sharing options...