Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 14, 2022 Author Share Posted June 14, 2022 Keeping this thread on topic. A bit of background, our house has the master bedroom on-top of the garage. So any heat/cold from the garage is pretty much transmitted into the bedroom floor. Terrible in summer, terrible in winter. As the garage panel door is all aluminium, it's a acts as a massive heatsink. To slow down the effectiveness of this unwanted heatsink I decided to insulate the panels with 20mm Foilboard. Essentially it's just 20mm polystyrene with foil sheets either side. They are $44 a sheet (2.4x1.2m) from Bunnings, one side is reflective foil the other side some green snot colour. Ended up needing 4.5 sheets, could have done 4 if I joined left overs but yeah nah. I didn't take any pre temperatures but once up I could instantly notice a difference inside the garage at about 11pm. This morning I walked in and also was quite pleasant to be inside. Looks like it worked and not to mention reflects a bit more light off the lights. $240 (plus foil tape which I haven't applied yet, job for another day). Also took out the shit box on my Meat Emporium run. This time with the gate plumbed back and more boost 😎 And my silly mate with a built Evo 3 has twisted my arm into going to All Jap Day on the 3rd of July. Will give this "roll racing" thing a go and the faux power cruise sessions a good go. If anyone is around, come say hi! (Pray to all the gods I don't bin the motor, my track record hasn't been very good lately lololol) 8 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966597 Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Bogan Posted June 14, 2022 Share Posted June 14, 2022 Have fun 😬 awaiting results Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966599 Share on other sites More sharing options...
No Crust Racing Posted June 14, 2022 Share Posted June 14, 2022 I did my old garage the same way, huge difference - well done. Good luck at event, actually act when a warning light comes on and you will be fine. Rather than setup an oil pressure warning light and buzzer then ignore it when you know the car is suffering oil surge because Race Chrono says you're on track for a PB... Who would do that?! 2 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966600 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 14, 2022 Author Share Posted June 14, 2022 On 14/06/2022 at 12:18 PM, ActionDan said: Rather than setup an oil pressure warning light and buzzer then ignore it when you know the car is suffering oil surge because Race Chrono says you're on track for a PB... Who would do that?! I actually logged in and disabled the engine protection (yeah I did that) LOLOL Won't be doing that again! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966601 Share on other sites More sharing options...
No Crust Racing Posted June 14, 2022 Share Posted June 14, 2022 lol, NO, BAD JOHNNY 1 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966602 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 14, 2022 Author Share Posted June 14, 2022 Oh yeah, here's an idle video. Barely can hear the lumps, running a cat, 1x muffler and 1x massive SMB muffler sure shuts up the car. 7 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966609 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 16, 2022 Author Share Posted June 16, 2022 Shit box updates, decided to go through the box of new OEM shit. Quick wins, replace both cabin light lenses and upgrade from halogen bulbs to LED. Before with the OEM halogen bulbs and yellowish lenses. And yeah my Bride Zeta IV seat will go back in for All Jap Day 😎 2 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966717 Share on other sites More sharing options...
No Crust Racing Posted June 16, 2022 Share Posted June 16, 2022 That seat material brings back memories 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966724 Share on other sites More sharing options...
robbo_rb180 Posted June 16, 2022 Share Posted June 16, 2022 Almost too nice now to track it now...... So good you are getting all those little things done as makes it nicer and modern, just need a heap of warning lights and you will have that bmw feeling. 4 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966725 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 16, 2022 Author Share Posted June 16, 2022 On 17/06/2022 at 8:07 AM, robbo_rb180 said: Almost too nice now to track it now...... I know right, I'm going to All Jap Day in Sydney on the 3rd of July. They have a few Eastern Creek sprint sessions, which I believe are untimed but I'll give it a crack with Race Chrono running. Why build a car and not enjoy it right? It's like having a hot missus that you can't have a poke from time to time lol. 4 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966726 Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Bogan Posted June 16, 2022 Share Posted June 16, 2022 On 17/06/2022 at 8:56 AM, Dose Pipe Sutututu said: I know right, I'm going to All Jap Day in Sydney on the 3rd of July. They have a few Eastern Creek sprint sessions, which I believe are untimed but I'll give it a crack with Race Chrono running. Why build a car and not enjoy it right? It's like having a hot missus that you can't have a poke from time to time lol. And along those lines, "turning off safety parameters is like shagging your Mrs sister, only to have your Mrs walk in the door, you may make a PD, or it may just explode" 2 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7966727 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 27, 2022 Author Share Posted June 27, 2022 Guess the turbo tapped out sooner than I expected. I'll post up logs, and more analysis in the coming days. 5 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967021 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Posted June 27, 2022 Share Posted June 27, 2022 Still, it can probably chirp second Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967029 Share on other sites More sharing options...
robbo_rb180 Posted June 27, 2022 Share Posted June 27, 2022 how does it feel on the street? How much torque did it end up making? With that zf 8hp gearbox will be a weapon Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967032 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 27, 2022 Author Share Posted June 27, 2022 On 28/06/2022 at 6:24 AM, Duncan said: Still, it can probably chirp second Hahah with cold tyres 2nd is pretty funny. On 28/06/2022 at 7:41 AM, robbo_rb180 said: how does it feel on the street? How much torque did it end up making? With that zf 8hp gearbox will be a weapon On the street it's very linear, wasn't like any of my previous setups. The power is very very linear, a way to describe it is like a NA. Here's a run on 0.5bar boost, power is ruler flat (minus the part where I turned off VCT a bit earlier) Torque (derived) wise it made 611nm at 6400rpm 3 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967033 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RBW49N Posted June 27, 2022 Share Posted June 27, 2022 On 28/6/2022 at 7:55 AM, Dose Pipe Sutututu said: Hahah with cold tyres 2nd is pretty funny. On the street it's very linear, wasn't like any of my previous setups. The power is very very linear, a way to describe it is like a NA. Here's a run on 0.5bar boost, power is ruler flat (minus the part where I turned off VCT a bit earlier) Torque (derived) wise it made 611nm at 6400rpm House purchases, renovations, samsonas, dct swaps, garage door mods and I’ve forgotten what turbo this has on it. 1 2 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967037 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 27, 2022 Author Share Posted June 27, 2022 @RBW49N lolololol... It has a Garrett GTX3576R Gen 2 with a T3 1.01 divided rear housing. turbine side was pretty much on point, just undersized the compressor LOL. 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967038 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 27, 2022 Author Share Posted June 27, 2022 Here's the final power run, you see me looking at Alex quite a bit incase something didn't sound right so I could abort the run. We did have misfires a few runs previously that sounded oddly like knock, ended up gapping down to 0.4mm on BCP7RES and that solved the issue. 5 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967039 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dose Pipe Sutututu Posted June 29, 2022 Author Share Posted June 29, 2022 And log of the final run Will go decat OR 50 cell cat for next session lol 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967064 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Murray_Calavera Posted June 29, 2022 Share Posted June 29, 2022 On 6/29/2022 at 10:14 AM, Dose Pipe Sutututu said: And log of the final run Will go decat OR 50 cell cat for next session lol Is the car still on a flex setup or is it straight e85 now? Looking at the base timing makes me feel anxious (thinking there is more timing in it from the e85 compensation table) but if that base timing is pretty much the total amount of timing then I can sleep at night again lol. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/468064-doses-sometimes-diy-and-pay-someone-home-boat-improvement-thread/page/122/#findComment-7967066 Share on other sites More sharing options...