You would have thought nissan would have just used the same hub on everything.

Why didn't you down grade to a ling long dual 12inch elec fan setup 😂

1 hour ago, robbo_rb180 said:

Why didn't you down grade to a ling long dual 12inch elec fan setup 😂

Because I'm not an idiot 😂😂😂

Not to mention the car actually gets driven on a track not around the local Bunnings carpark and 10 to 12s at a time and left to cool down for an hour between "races".

• Haha 3

Technically at the the racetrack the fan should be off given how much air is flowing through the front of the car but like yeaaaaaaa.

Yeah I suppose, however here's food for thought.

Most of the Nissan shitboxes I've seen at Wakefield all run factory fan setups. I've actually never seen anyone at Wakefield with two thermos or similar on a RB powered car, I have seen a few Silvias with Falcon twin thermo fans though.

I have run twin fans for years now, drag race track race and street drive and have never had a problem with it ever. Car sees street use and might hit 82 and night drives sits around 76.

Dont know why people bang on them. They’re perfect and easy to control. 
Hottest car gets is doing a staging burn out that can go for 20secs and it will hit 92 and then after the run it’s back to 82. 

I’ll take a video of it tonight to prove my point that’s it’s better than stock 

41 minutes ago, WR33KD said:

Dont know why people bang on them.

Because 90% of the installs are done with crappy fans with rubbish/low CFM, wired incorrectly or not using shrouds. Go onto those R33 Facebook groups and you just see people installing Ling Long special fans straight onto their radiators using those fan zip ties or using those flat sheet shrouds without spacing the fan off the radiator.

Rarely do I see anyone do them correctly, closest I've seen was a S13 using a factory Ford Falcon fans however he had a Davies Craig fan controller which to be was a let down. Should have used his ECU to trigger it with hysteresis so they don't turn off and on like a mad man. 

I know they work, and work well, when the implementation is well thought out. Just with most R33 owners (not you or the other R33 owners on this forum) they seem to do things that are terrible.

1 hour ago, WR33KD said:

I have run twin fans for years now, drag race track race and street drive and have never had a problem with it ever. Car sees street use and might hit 82 and night drives sits around 76.

Dont know why people bang on them. They’re perfect and easy to control. 
Hottest car gets is doing a staging burn out that can go for 20secs and it will hit 92 and then after the run it’s back to 82. 

I’ll take a video of it tonight to prove my point that’s it’s better than stock 

Also depends on climate.
I have lived where its 36-38c and 75+% humidity and car would run at around 84-86 cruising to now 10-30+C 40-55% humidity car runs at 72-76 up the highway and around 82c cruising suburbs.
Not 1 change to the cooling system. 40mm rad, header tank, ducting and a 14 push and 12 inch pull fans, 1 set to 87C and other at 90C. 

2 hours ago, WR33KD said:

So this was town driving with stop starts hitting 50kphFD4BC68C-59ED-4CB2-B356-221ABC0DC416.thumb.jpeg.23a7050deccab8dfbbb549e5d139909a.jpeg

did get to 82 at the lights when stopped 

and this is open road driving doing 100-110

2B941454-0C58-4C0C-90C9-9274CCAAEA47.thumb.jpeg.152fb781c5f9c36ad466cda6d3f4853c.jpeg

That's good, a rare twin thermo setup that works!

What fans are you using?

53 minutes ago, Dose Pipe Sutututu said:

I swear this place consumes as much money as efisolution and kudos does lol.

PXL_20221223_200914890.thumb.jpg.cf5a07e75d601da9ac83faaca1eb1890.jpg

I’ve got a wagu brisket in the smoker at the moment 

21 minutes ago, r32-25t said:

I’ve got a wagu brisket in the smoker at the moment 

Yummy, I haven't used my smoker in years since becoming a dad.

Now it's hot and fast or pressure cooker then sear in the gozney 

I use mine fairly often but I have a pellet on where it basically keep temperature on it’s own and I can work on the car or what ever I need to do 

That's what I might move to one day too, the kamado is great however requires constant manning.

I'll pick your brains when the time comes 

Merry Christmas my retarded Skyline brother lol.

20 minutes ago, r32-25t said:

I use mine fairly often but I have a pellet on where it basically keep temperature on it’s own and I can work on the car or what ever I need to do 

That’s a great way to get car time. “I can’t come inside I’m cooking. “
I’m “cooking” the Turkey at the moment 😆 

• Haha 3
1 hour ago, Dose Pipe Sutututu said:

That's what I might move to one day too, the kamado is great however requires constant manning.

I'll pick your brains when the time comes 

Merry Christmas my retarded Skyline brother lol.

No worries trust me they make life to easy

Merry Christmas to you to mate 

On 18/12/2022 at 9:46 PM, Dose Pipe Sutututu said:

Might take you up on the offer on the fan hub fits.

Will do Google tonight, intensely lol.

If not 2x options, both equally costly.

1. New OEM hub

2. FFG shroud and 16" Spal fan.

I have ordered the FPG fan shroud, so can provide a direct comparison against stock. I will be using it with the 3000cfm fan.

I was originally running a thermo (with a proper shroud) using a hks fan controller, with relatively good luck. Only went back to stock as fan controller shat itself.

Keep in mind I’m the kinda guy that cruises round the Bunnings car park, not the track haha.

Just now, R3N3 said:

I have ordered the FPG fan shroud, so can provide a direct comparison against stock. I will be using it with the 3000cfm fan.

Definitely keen on the results!

A good test is to park the car stationary and leave the A/C on for a good 15 minutes and see what your coolant temps are like.

On a 36 degree (Celsius for those Americans reading) with the A/C on for a good 15 minutes my coolant temp would sit about 99 ~ 103 degrees, oil temp about 105 degrees. As soon as I drove for 15 seconds, that would drop back into the low 90s.

Without A/C on at all, when stationary the water would stay in the low 90s, once moving mid to high 80s. 

Funny enough, when I'm giving it a hard time at the track (i.e. going around a circuit not down a drag strip) water temps generally don't move far from mid to high 80s (I suppose there's heaps of air being forced in from the front of the car).

23 minutes ago, Dose Pipe Sutututu said:

Definitely keen on the results!

A good test is to park the car stationary and leave the A/C on for a good 15 minutes and see what your coolant temps are like.

On a 36 degree (Celsius for those Americans reading) with the A/C on for a good 15 minutes my coolant temp would sit about 99 ~ 103 degrees, oil temp about 105 degrees. As soon as I drove for 15 seconds, that would drop back into the low 90s.

Without A/C on at all, when stationary the water would stay in the low 90s, once moving mid to high 80s. 

Funny enough, when I'm giving it a hard time at the track (i.e. going around a circuit not down a drag strip) water temps generally don't move far from mid to high 80s (I suppose there's heaps of air being forced in from the front of the car).

Maybe you should “invest” in the new PRP RB electric water pump… might also help the belt spitting issue.. 

58 minutes ago, R3N3 said:

Maybe you should “invest” in the new PRP RB electric water pump… might also help the belt spitting issue.. 

I've donated enough to the Nissan car gods lol...

The more I spend on this shit box, the less money I have to put towards a fast, stock, modern car.