Gday guys,

I have done a search but nothing is said about the rear strutbrace being in the way of the tiny battery,which needs to be replaced as it is rooted.I asume that I have to take the strutbrace off.(Bit of an effort to change a battery)I have an R33 Gts-t 1996 series II.Any feedback would be greatly appeciated.

Thanks.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/47302-rear-strutbar-in-way-of-battery/

Hey mate, i figured the same thing when my battery died and was replaced. Series II with rear strut bar. Says 'Skyline' on it right? The NRMA guy was able to slide the old battery out under the bar and put the new one in without removing the bar at all.

its not that hard to remove one bolt - and that extra 5 min u spend doin that might save u the endless hours you spend if u accidently spill acid onto the carpet of the boot lining! anyways just a thought!

u shouldnt have one of those wet cell ones or whateva they called - the old style one with caps

they a little illegal because they arent in a sealed box

in the engine bay is fine, however

gel ones r tops :)

its not that hard to remove one bolt - and that extra 5 min u spend doin that might save u the endless hours you spend if u accidently spill acid onto the carpet of the boot lining! anyways just a thought!

I can't seem to see One bolt,there is two on each side of the strut brackets.

Please explain???As I am a Clueless.

depending on the size of the battery you can slide it under the bar, however if you buy a big one(550 cold cranking amps i think) like i did you need to undo one of the bolts on the end of the bar and loosen the other, the bar will be able to swing down letting the big fat battery in...then simply replace one bolt and do up the other. If you have trouble putting the bolt back in get someone to push/pull on the bar towards the bolt you are trying to replace.

It all took a few minutes to do, and the big battery kicks ass over the old skinny one.

i havnt got a wet cell

but i put a bigger battery in and the electrician was jsut sayin just in case something leaks - he has seen it b4 etc.

also - bigger battery dont just slide in lol... remove the one bolt like someone said earlier . piece of cake... u guys are making such an easy task seem so difficult...

Here is advice for you. Any batt that you can slide under the strut brace will be very small, and in my opinion, no good. Removing the strutbrace is a 3 minute job, and does not change the adjustment of the brace. Look on both sides and you should see a single large bolt. Just undo one side, and the brace should swing down. Pop your new bat in. Screw it back iun. Will not wreck alignment. Make sure you do the brace back up tiught.

i never said that was a definite, it was just something i thought of. what if the strut bar was adjusted using a torque kit or some bullshit tool to keep the chassis striaght, possibly undoing it and removing it could remove the "setting"

im no mechanic im just thinking of possiblities and what may occur, sorry for offering advice

just hijacking thread, i did a search on batteries the other night. but since you guys seem to have been there and done that; what issues are involved with replacing the battery? mine is about to die i feel.

i read that you need to rig up a new cage to support a larger battery, and that australian batteries have larger terminals, so might have to replace the clamps that come in the car.

are there any brands or places that have suitable batteries? im not looking forward to mucking about in the boot. only discussion i have seen is for big ass batteries for big stereos etc. (sounds like trouble).

hb

i havnt got a wet cell

but i put a bigger battery in and the electrician was jsut sayin just in case something leaks - he has seen it b4 etc.

also - bigger battery dont just slide in lol... remove the one bolt like someone said earlier . piece of cake... u guys are making such an easy task seem so difficult...

A local auto electrician said you're not allowed to have dry cell.

All batteries are wet cell but they're now sealed so you can't really open it.

Normally wet cell batteries can have a hose extension to the side to vent out gas, and in your R33 boot just beside the battery placeholder there is a little vent hole where you can plug the hose so the gas will vent outside the enclosed boot area.