the car is getting on the boat 2morrow and was just wondering how long it should all take. ive been told the boat will arrive on the 20th of this month but id expect a few days later. how long does it take to go through customs? also how long will it take to get it ready for rego (its a 89 model so it will only need side intrusion bars and a few other little things)...

THX

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/48204-how-long-to-import-a-car/

Well it depends on the condition of the car (ie how dirty it is). At the moment it seems that virtually all cars coming into Sydney need steam cleaning. Once the car arrives in port:

- usually Customs & AQIS inspect the next business day

- if it needs cleaning, allow one or two days for cleaning and an AQIS re-inspection

- pick it up from the wharves / steam cleaners and deliver to compliancers..

- ..which took me a week before it was ready. The compliance work itself was done in two days, but had to wait for the rest of the week for the engineer to finish his report.

- once that was done, I took it straight to the RTA and got it registered on the spot.

All up for my 89 import, 10 days from when it arrived in port until I had a rego sticker on my car.

Ordinarily it will take approximately 5 working days to go through customs/quarantine...however my last vehicle took 2 1/2 weeks!!

To avoid disapointment i would allow 2 weeks for customs and a week for compliance........that way if it is any earlier it will be a bonus.

Ordinarily it will take approximately 5 working days to go through customs/quarantine...however my last vehicle took 2 1/2 weeks!!

To avoid disapointment i would allow 2 weeks for customs and a week for compliance........that way if it is any earlier it will be a bonus.

I can beat that. I bought my car from auction in Japan early February 2002 and it was ready to get registered on July 15 2002. It stayed at the wharf for over a month and compliance took about a month too.

12 weeks for me.

Hi Mark - what's up ? What are you driving now ?? Got the Stagea ?? (Me and my family are having dinner at P's on Sunday .... Cheers)

Soz for OT

I'm getting around now in a Seat (spanish 2L small 4 door car).

P doesnt know yet but its possible I have another car on its way from Japan... waiting for photos and report from the importer.

PS don't let the cat out of the bag when you see her tommorow night - what time, i'll walk down and say g'day.

Hey who ya importing with?

my skyline im getting through j-spec is supposed to come through on the 20th. do you know the name of the ship its going on?

I spent 3 months looking for a 89 gtst through Prestige but none of their cars caught my eye. I've now swapped over to J-Spec and have found a car. They say it was inspected last Friday and the pics + report should be sent to me Friday night/Saturday morning. I havent recieved anything yet.

don't use J-Spec

i bought my R34 off them in January this year, and it arrived 2 weeks ago. they don't communicate so you've got no idea where the car is! the person at j-spec who organises compliance and shipping, etc, is lazy and very hard to get in contact with!

they put the wrong tyres on, and i got charged for them to get changed. they quoted $310 to ship the car from the compliance place in sydney to here (melbourne) and i got the bill today and it was $385! very unpredictable.

their site says 8-12 weeks from date of purchase, and mine took 24 weeks!

very disappointed overall!

don't use J-Spec

i bought my R34 off them in January this year, and it arrived 2 weeks ago. they don't communicate so you've got no idea where the car is! the person at j-spec who organises compliance and shipping, etc, is lazy and very hard to get in contact with!

they put the wrong tyres on, and i got charged for them to get changed. they quoted $310 to ship the car from the compliance place in sydney to here (melbourne) and i got the bill today and it was $385! very unpredictable.

their site says 8-12 weeks from date of purchase, and mine took 24 weeks!

very disappointed overall!

I am expecting mine on the 15th to land in oz. Bought on 15/06/04 on track for the 8 - 12 weeks...but agree with the lack of communication. Been trying for 6 days to get through, no response to email also.

good luck - be prepared for a lengthy compliance process. mine took ages, then the paperwork took 5-6 business days to complete, and then the compliance plate had to be shipped from vic once the paperwork had been put through. all in all - compliance took 3 weeks.

but... u might have better luck if it's an older model.

heard similar.. i heard they were very good.. but like many places they've let the standard slip.

good luck - be prepared for a lengthy compliance process. mine took ages, then the paperwork took 5-6 business days to complete, and then the compliance plate had to be shipped from vic once the paperwork had been put through. all in all - compliance took 3 weeks.  

but... u might have better luck if it's an older model.

I have been told compliance will only be 5-7 days as it falls under the 15 year rule.

And untill this week (I have also heard of the holiday in Japan this week) getting in contact was good (not easy..but good) and I would have to say that information was informative and accurate. For a first import, I'm glad that J-Spec were helping me with the process.

Ship should have landed today?

5 weeks from Payment till I had my Cefiro at home in my Driveway uncomplied. My car arrived at Freo on a Thursday night. I had it paid for at the shipping company by Friday morning, Customs Entry sent in for processing by 9am Friday, sent Fax to EPA in Sydney for Auth of Air Con removal Friday arvo, Car cleared Customs on Monday, Quarantine Inspeciton on Tuesday and the car on the road with permit by midday Tuesday. I dont buggerize around :P

JK