SS8_Gohan,

I have to agree with you - the Skylines are very nice cars. Sleek looks, good build quality, plenty of power and lots of scope for mods etc. There are, however, other cars which can also offer those things (and more!) at lower prices - have you had a look at any other models at all ?

Reason I ask is because I've been looking at getting a GTS-T for the last 2 months, but in my travels ended up test driving a Soarer twin turbo the other week. I'd never even looked at Soarers before, but after sitting in one of those luxury cars, the Skyline interior now seems really plastic and cheap! Plus that car was damn fast too! The only disadvantage they have in my mind is that they are (mostly) automatics and weigh 1600kg! Kinda like an elephant on roller skates - not really good for quick fangs around a track, but excellent for supremely comfortable cruising and loads of straightline acceleration (i.e. good when you're at traffic lights! :mad:

So now I'm pondering what car I'd really like to get. To make things worse, I wandered into a car yard on Saturday and saw a Holden Commodore (yeah, yeah, I know... :mad: ) with 45,000 k's on the clock for only $17k. It was in "as new" condition and still had half-a-year of new car warranty left on it. That made me wonder why I'd even considered spending 25k on a 10 year old Jap import, with huge insurance costs and high chance of theft. Mind you, that brief moment of rational/sane thinking was quickly squashed again by my desire to have a hot looking car that went insanely fast! Agh... we men are truly pathetic. We're ruled by our dicks and need for speed! :D

Anyway, enough of my rantings. Good luck in your car hunting dude. Hope you find the dream ride you're after! Just be careful out there - I don't wanna see a post from one fo your friends on here with pics of your ride wrapped around any solid, immovable objects!

EXIT

• Replies 41

Soarer's, yep had a real long think about them as well. For like 16K i could get TV/GPS, leather, cd, rear moutned camera for parking, park sensors, everything u could think of. But the engines are either, Twin Turbo or V8's. I thought i'd be ok in a GTS-t, but Twin or V8??? not sure...altho the skyline would prob be quicker, i also didn't want such a heavy car....but they were a VERY close second....trust me. Holden's?? besides the usual long standing hatred that everyone has....once again heavy car, lots of petrol (yeah, turbo a bit of guzzler as well) but mainly the fact that i don't like them and that really, no potential that i'd keep it and make something of it....where as a jap import, i would. I thought if i could afford to get a pretty unique car which offered alot, why not? yeah i could afford a commodore, but really....why?

yep, japanese cars have a lot to offer in the unique/luxury/fast department, lucky for us, not TOO many ppl know about it. it is a dilema :uh-huh:

don't worry, i'll drive careful. my car does 0 - 100 in....well she might be there, next time i talk to ya! :mad:

and same to u, hope u find the car of ur dreams....and send me pics when do :mad: , might just have to take dad's 530i more often for consolation :D

u've been a great help exit, putting this all into perspective, i'm still fcking pissed off...but about 1% less so :)

talk to ya soon

Back again, my ISP cut me off.

It seems to me that your parents are in a position to get their way, right or wrong. So the n/a Skyline is probably the best option at this stage, just to keep the peace.

Start looking around, Saturdays Age, Trading Post, Internet, and so on. If you have the money all lined up, you may just strike it lucky.

Driving skills are not just being able to handle the car, but being able to cope with sudden situations created by other drivers (idiots). Driving at night, and in the wet are also things that take some getting used to.

I live just around the corner to you in Black Rock, so know Beach Road very well. A great place to live.

C'mon, talk em around for the turbo.

1) take em for a test drive on a stinking hot day when the engine's reducing power. they won't be so worried then

2) Bargain to do a proper advanced driving course first - everyone should do one of these anyway. Good driving is just a skill you can learn and practice.

Resale's ugly enough on a GTS-T, think of how many fewer people would like to buy an NA.

get a turbo mate, if u really can't then buy my NA baby :mad:

with an na, its not worth importing one down, what u see in the pics is not always what u get. u can come check out my car anytime. its not for sale in the papers or anything yet, but eventually when i start working full time after uni i will consider putting it in.

Black Rock hey warpspeed?? Cool, ur definitely right.....bayside way is a real nice place to live, i couldn't think of any other place in melb, can't beat the beach. Where bouts in Black Rock are u? i've got a couple mates in Black Rock, and a few in Beaumaris as well, but most of friends live near me, Sandy, Hampton, Brighton.

I've definitely keeping my eye open for N/A skylines, decided i didn't want go to the hassle to import a N/A....but i mean the N/A are only going for about 1K less than a Turbo, so there is little difference...and i really don't think i'll be making money on it when i re-sell it. I'm at the stage now that i've got the money sitting in the bank, i won't spend it now, sell and save up again, i'll just keep saving from now....so in about 1-2yrs, when i'm apparently "ready" to drive a turbo, i'll have........22-25K, but my parents said what they did for one (my bro, just bought a 28K VW Golf 2.0ltr for him.............*sigh*, he does have to pay some back, but i've yet to find out how much, and i don't think he even has the ability to pay back any money....) they'll do for me......oh no.....they're not getting off that easily, i'm making them put a hell of alot more into the car i get in a couple of years, which will leave me a HEAP left over to do whatever i want. I'm goin to start a post next year with "10K to spend on R33 GTS-T, what should i do??" then it will be like a SAU skyline, with input from everyone.....don't worry, parents will wish they chipped in for the car i want now :uh-huh:

So it's saving time for me, but when i do get it, i will have enough money to spend on the car to make it a pretty decent track/drag weapon.

p.s. i'm still going to push the test-drive thing....maybe a miracle might be round the corner??

Around Christmas time is a good time to be a buyer in the private car market. It is not very nice, but a lot of people get retrenched, and others are real short of money around this time. Something will come up when you least expect it. So just be patient for a while.

I have been looking for an R33 GTS-4 n/a myself for a couple of months now. So far only three have surfaced, two are autos, and the third has a GTR body kit that I particularly do not want. It is almost out of rego and the guy wants 19K which is a bit much, plus the car is over in Adelaide.

Being three times your age, my situation is a little different. I want a stock plain wimpy looking basic skyline with all the GTR bits hidden underneath.

Guest tgriffin

My insurance for my N15 Pulsar (1.6L) was $2500 or so first year. Then the second year it dropped to $1600. It goes down considerably if you don't make any claims.

I am in a very similar boat, except I'm a bit older. I've owned my N15 for just under 2yrs and I'm sick of it. I was on the verge of getting a N/A GTS, but I sat down and had a think...

My main problem with the GTS was that although it's a nice car, the GTS-T and GT-R really overshadow it. Everytime you see a Skyline (turbo) you will think - damn, I could have saved up for that..

So that's my rationale, what you REALLY want is the turbo, I am just warning you that you will not be as happy if you settle for less.

Now it's easy for me to say that from here, I appreciate everyone has a budget and you also have pressures from parents, but I have been in a similar situation and decided to hold off till December and get a Turbo.

As for insurance, you should check with Famous Class Car Insurance. I don't know how reputable they are, but they gave me the best quote of anyone and I am going to go with them probably.

i must not being writing something right, but i've got enough for either a turbo or N/A...:mad:

i've come to the exact same conclusion as u Tgriffin, sick of the Poosar, want a skyline...and yes, i know i won't be happy unless i get a turbo, u'll think for the first couple of months, ah yeah..this ain't too bad, then....u'll be.....i really wish i got a turbo. So i'm doing the same, continuing to save and hopefully get one in full years time, and by then the parents are going to be putting in about 10K, so it's their fcking fault that they're missing out on their chance to put in the least amount of money now....oh well, by next year i'll have around 22-25K on my own, plus 10K from them, i'll be laughing and they'll be wishing they helped me get one sooner.......but the car will only cost 20K i reckon, so i'll just a have a crapload to spend on mods...:mad::D

warpspeed, i will keep looking, but i think for now, i'll just continue to save, i also looked at a the GTS-4, and thought that would be much better than a GTS, but, same as u, definitely want a manual, and yep, they're pretty hard to find. And damn it, i WILL get a full Silver skyline! :):mad:

first off i also want a stock 'line, altho, by the time i get one, i won't mind as much. Heheeheh, i think age is playing a difference here, cos i'd love a GTR kit, not too keen on the rear wing, i like the Series 2 one's better, but definitely the front bar with the grille as well....mmmmm:uh-huh: But no badges, couldn't bring myself to put GTR badges on a nomral tubro......GTR..hmmm.....in a couple of years, i'll have about 35K, plus some input from parents.......woh, nup, not jumping straight into a GTR, even "I" don't want to do that, i'll go turbo, then twin turbo thanks! :mad:

well it looks like in about a year, i'll start looking turbo again...see whats going down in the importing scene as well. One of my friends is looking at a 4WD Laser Turbo, how do they go warpspeed?

Guest tgriffin

Hey,

I am in a much more similar boat than you it would seem!

I am after the a 1996 Pewter (darker silver) R33 GTS-T Series 2 as well!

If you're going to get a GTS-T and mod it - I would get one stock and drive it arund and even get it on a dyno. Then when you mod it, you'll really feel the difference. That way you'll think "damn this is fast" twice :mad:

only 1 difference, i prefer the Series 1 silver to the Series 2. or does the Series 2 have a normal silver???? dunno.........

hehehe, "damn that's fast" twice!! yeah, looking to buy pretty stock altho.....i'll have enuf money to buy a series 2......but i'd be putting a GTR grille on whateva 'line i get, and with the Series 2 i'd have to change bonnet or something.....fck it, i'll have enuf money to mod, i'l just get a carbon bonnet and get a custom paint job!! :mad:

oh well....we'll see what happens next november.

Well, the Laser aint no GTR thats for sure, BUT it is a lot of fun on few dollars. My car has a bit of a history, bought it brand new in 1985 for $3,100. I got sick of working on cars, having things blow up and fall off, swore I would never modify it. Drove it stock for ten years.

Finally the engine needed a rebuild, so I put in a Jap import turbo motor. WOW from about 55Kw to 110Kw instantly. The thing smoked the tyres, torque steered, and was an absolute deathtrap in the wet.

Realising I probably had only months to live, I bought a Laser TX3 4WD turbo. The thing had the same engine but was a complete slug. It was a lot heavier and nowhere near as much fun. Five weeks after I bought it someone did me a favour and stole it, wrapping it around a tree and writing it off. It was uninsured.

I brought the wreck home, still have it in fact. Pulled out all the 4WD bits and put them into the original Laser.

Now the really interesting thing is that both cars were parked side by side, but the red one with the mags, and the TURBO 16V 4WD stickers got stolen. Not the plain white one with plastic wheel trims. I learned something from that.

Also the original 4 door Laser fitted with all the 4WD bits turned out 110Kg lighter than the 2 door TX3. It certainly went a lot better with less weight. I learned something from that as well.

Over the years it has had several different turbos, was fitted with a supercharger at one stage. It has even had both a supercharger and turbo fitted together. I learned something from that as well.

Turbos give plenty of top end power, but superchargers give enormous torque throughout the range. Combined with the traction of 4WD in a light car, it is an absolute rocket from a standing start. No big clutch slipping revs or wheelspin, just let out the clutch normally and nail it at perhaps 1500 RPM.

So my next project is going to ba an R33 GTS-4 fitted with a SUPERCHARGED RB26. As far as I can find out it has never been done before. And it is going to remain completely stock on the outside, skinny wheels, no wing and all.

hey man, i've had to go thru the same process to get my R32 GTS, i used to have a 180 which was worked, but due to a few speeding offences :D and me moving to melb i had to sell it, and was sorta restricted to a GTS, i was gonna get an r33 GTS, but everyone's got one, so I went the r32, leaving a few $$ left over to get full comprehensive insurance (which is $2300 for me, why is your's so high? I went thru Just Cars).

Anyways man, atm the resale value of my car is HIGHER than the price I bought my car for, coz of the import laws changing and basically my car being removed from the import lists. Next 2 years it will rise again, but after that it will drop because 1989 R32's will be 15 yrs old and they can come in. So I plan to keep this one for a couple of yrs in N/A form, maybe put an RB25/RB30 hybrid N/A engine in (yeah I still got some of that money left over). Insurance still stays the same, coz its counted as a mod, and its still N/A. Which is sweet by me.

The reason I'm tellin u this is, get a GTS, when you get a feel for the car, get a GTSt in a couple of yrs time. If I know parents they become VERY generous when you turn 21! :P wait till you turn 21 for your turbo car. I know you wanna beat the crap out of your friends, but put it this way, when I had my 180, I had 3 badgings, 1 breakin and 1 attempted theft of the car itself. I was paying $5500 in insurance. 3rd party on a sports car is a joke. You are only covered for $5000 max if you write it off. In melb at 18 you wouldn't have done much driving, so I doubt you'd know how to handle a turbo, so go the N/A, take your time, take it slow.

Besides, if one of your mates gives you shit about your car, give us a yell and the SAU Vic guy will come down n beat em up for u. :O

hmmmmmm....akeenan, got my thinking buddy, how much would a R34 GT-T go for, like the first model, is it 97 or 98?? in a years time???? Could well be a possibility, with like a 35K budget. what do u think??? i have absolutely NO IDEA wat a R34 GT- T goes for, like a 97 or 98......

warpspeed, that ford of urs sounds like a little ripper!! wish i was "gaining experience" on a little hot car, i reckon be heaps of fun.

funkymoneky: insurance high bcos i'm 18 and have 7 months of insurance history. do u think a R33 GTS would keep it's value or even go up?? i think they are a bit common to sell for the same price i bought it for in 2 years or so. I'm just happy (sort of) to wait a year or so, bcos then parents will put in more money, and i'll get a better car and have a better rating....but i'm really interested in this R34 idea :uh-huh: :uh-huh:

Yes that is now. I can remember when a new R32 GTR cost over 100 grand, and an import 80 grand. They have come down a little bit since then.

The R34s are still current, wait a year or two. It will make a huge difference. Your savings go up, the price comes down. You will have one a lot sooner than you think.

Well my parents knew how much i loved skylines and knew i had the dream for many years to get one. they didnt want to deprive me of this dream. you have to talk to them and make them understand by giving positive reasons for the car. show them how much u want it. in my house it got to the point where my parents got the shit from me buying HPI mags, SPEED, and all the other stuff and downloading clips of skylines off the net. Dont plain bullshit to ur parents by saying things like "i will drive slow and never break the rules" etc.... i told my parents that i will still do burnouts, race other cars etc... i dont know your parents and what they are like but "if there is a will, there is a way"