I believe that we all have the right to speak up and even protest I think we forget that this is a FREE country and we should not be Bullied by anyone. We are not all angles and we all like to have fun that is why we own and modify cars. But it is how and where we use them. We all know Commodores and alike get the blame for most of the problems and that is because they are the majority of car owners on the road. The government has to relise including the public that more cars bigger population means more crime more accidents etc etc etc. So no one can say that we as import owners are getting worse , the majority of us take allot of pride in our cars even if we drift or drag but does not mean we do it on the streets, and it is not the first time in history it has happened on the streets where do you think drag racing come from. But what really gets up my nose is, A commodore owner on P's tries to play with imports has accident because his Family sedan does not perform like they do in the V8 super cars and crashes into eg tree Channel 9 eg does a story shows a commodore damaged then shows Imports cruzing and says that this type of behavour has to be fixed and high performance cars should be targeted. I'm sorry when was the last time we saw a Nissan aid displaying a car doing bunouts etc and sayng it has a 255kw motor bla bla bla.

I enjoy cars I enjoy going for a cruise I think that safty should be a priority when on public roads. So I am going along with Skyline that we have just had an election now since we pay for those (people) to be in there position we have the right to stand up for what we want and let them earn there money. So it's time to make a stand in some way. Because I know regency is sick of Imports.

• Replies 50

I'll be up for a cruise on the 29th or 30th... Will help put some kays on the fresh motor. :D

As long as people don't go doing stupid sh*t where there is traffic and people we *shouldn't* be harrased. Make the cruise out the back of Pt. Adelaide and throught he hills or something... A cruise down Anzac or anywhere near there is not a very wise Idea.

Or maybe have a bit of a mid day cruise up to Victor Harbour on the 30th (Sunday), a bite to eat then back through the hills/ Pt. Adelaide as it starts to get darkish.

There will always be cop hassles with such a large group when you want to hang around in shopping centre car parks on a fri or sat night - thats why I dont bring out my GTR on those big cruises.I was in the XR ute on that night & got past the cops without a hassle.

The best cruises are always the ones held during the afternoon, away from the city, with a small group of cars. That why I like the skyline cruises (& we have had plenty of good ones)

let all the scooters have their social/copbait outings - I will stick to the actual cruises that focus on cruising, not hanging around in car parks.nuff said.

Speaking of which - who is coming out to the first Sat night drags on the 6th - should be a good night - hoping to race the street GTR. I was practising launches down at Keir's this afternoon. Been a while since I raced - looking forward to it.

:boohoo: build a bridge and get over it

apathy like this is whats given them so much power to begin with, if thats your attitude i say keep it to yourself and let others speak out loud against issues like this, and kudos to those who want to make a difference by organising something

i suggest you post all locations on a pm basis

apathy like this is whats given them so much power to begin with, if thats your attitude i say keep it to yourself and let others speak out loud against issues like this, and kudos to those who want to make a difference by organising something

i suggest you post all locations on a pm basis

Believe me when I tell you that my cars are ALWAYS on defect. In the last 4 yrs, I have been defected 11 times with nothing else but a parking fine to my name. Most of the time, my cars stall on defect for a period of 3 months or longer. I for one have a long hatred towards the Police. However, at the end of the day, the car is too low, exhaust too loud and my tint too dark.. etc etc...

So, I choose to still have the cars with that in mind, ill have to suffer the consequences if and when they see me and decide to defect me.

There used to be a time where we could get away with all the modifications until we were caught driving stupidly or bein an idiot. But those times are gone. The police are no longer tolerating "honing" behaviours and one way to hit us hard is by taking away our toys. Like in every other group, if a small bunch creates trouble, the rest will be branded trouble makers too. I mean really, even if the transport minister sits down with all of us and ask us, is your car illegally modified, whats the answer? You cant honestly say "NO, its all legal."

Unfortunately thats how life is. So, try your best to find the fine line between whats legal and what seems legal.

so do you know what the australian standards are for, say, ride height?

why is it that every other state follows federal law, SA its own law - cos they are all C#NTS

I have a friend in WA with a 440rwhp R33 - its been through inspection no probs, same goes in QLD, NSW - cheap easy engineers reports (that dont get knocked back by the RTA) same in VIC.

SA is farked. Regency, Tpt Minister, and Traffic cops all take it where the sun dont shine.

so do you know what the australian standards are for, say, ride height?

why is it that every other state follows federal law, SA its own law - cos they are all C#NTS

I have a friend in WA with a 440rwhp R33 - its been through inspection no probs, same goes in QLD, NSW - cheap easy engineers reports (that dont get knocked back by the RTA) same in VIC.

SA is farked.  Regency, Tpt Minister, and Traffic cops all take it where the sun dont shine.

I dont care or need to worry what the australian standards are for ride height nor do i care what the law is in VIC, NSW, NT, WA or Tasmania. Im in SA and the regulators that regulate this beautiful state says X Rear and x Front. Thats all that matters.

FYI to all, I hear there will be new regulations soon with clearance of defects by an Authorised Workshop. Perhaps in a few months.

I've had my car for just under 3 years and 100,000km's.

My little ball tearer is std. height but the tint is rather dark. Tyres are always good.

I've only ever been pulled over once and warned when I first got the car (front fog (but not yellow) lights were on)

I've been lucky but it does help having a stock height car.

When I had my VS 5ltr commodore with a loud 3.5" exhaust that had a single muffler the size of a fist I wasn't even looked at until I lowered it.. Once it was lowered I was constantly looked at and hassled.. Its not like it was excessively low as it only had low (not superlow) bilstein shocks/springs fitted.

Its really not the point.. One should be able to express their self through their car.

If they like lots of stickers and big body kits then thats their own choice. They should not hassle a person because they are an enthusiast..

It appears that if you show you are a car enthuiast you will be pulled over and hassled.

But who cares.. :D I'm happy tearing around in my stocker. :cheers:

Yep. Launch city out the front of Keirs every Sat afternoon. Nice smooth bitsi - sweeeeeeet.

went for ride in a few sick holden utes etc - can now get turbo kits for Gen III's - alright,

A V8 with turbo boost - pity they cant hook it up - ha ha

still, a latest model holden that can drift without using corners is ALWAYS a good thing!!!

will always be a V8 head at the core - & will one day combine my 2 loves & have both V8 & turbocharging on one vehicle.Yeeeeeah.

Till then will have to keep em behind me with 4 paw traction - GO GTR POWER!.

As far as all the winging about cops goes - if everyone wants to hang around with their cars & meet people & have fun doing burnouts etc - thats what the drags is for.

Come out to the drags, even if you dont want to race it only cost $10 extra to bring your car in & park it inside & you can gasbag to your hearts content, while watching good racin action, gettin pissed(if u not racin), & never see a cop.

I'd much rather hang out there on a saturday night then some dimly lit carpark with a bunch of scooters that never put their driving skills where there mouth is.

well no worries mate thats ur opion,were did all the drift,drags and stuff like that start on the street its only coz of the coppers its died down alot,and by the sounds of alot of people thats whats gonna keep happin people selln there cars and stuff so they dont have to put up with shit,well not me theres no way i could sell me car coz of defects and police hassles,but thats my opion, so any 1 that wants to go out for a bit of thrash and not let the police department try and stop something that has been happening for yrs,let me know ill chuck u a pm of the details.

Yep. Launch city out the front of Keirs every Sat afternoon. Nice smooth bitsi - sweeeeeeet.

went for ride in a few sick holden utes etc - can now get turbo kits for Gen III's - alright,

A V8 with turbo boost - pity they cant hook it up - ha ha  

still, a latest model holden that can drift without using corners is ALWAYS a good thing!!!

will always be a V8 head at the core - & will one day combine my 2 loves & have both V8 & turbocharging on one vehicle.Yeeeeeah.  

Till then will have to keep em behind me with 4 paw traction - GO GTR POWER!.

As far as all the winging about cops goes - if everyone wants to hang around with their cars & meet people & have fun doing burnouts etc - thats what the drags is for.

Come out to the drags, even if you dont want to race it only cost $10 extra to bring your car in & park it inside & you can gasbag to your hearts content, while watching good racin action, gettin pissed(if u not racin), & never see a cop.

I'd much rather hang out there on a saturday night then some dimly lit carpark with a bunch of scooters that never put their driving skills where there mouth is.

Quit bragging...

Simple fact is you put a bunch of ppl together, many who like fast cars and like to go fast , laws will be broken...even if it all starts out innocently:) ...and occassionally bones get broken.:P

Personally i dont always trust myself to not get carried away, thats why i drink and let others drive my car:thumbsup:

Go back in the day and nothing has changed, most of the community still frowns on modded cars, so the govt legislate accordingly and earn a tidy buck on the way.

I dont have any probs with police, mainly because i havent had any probs with police (touchwood). Antagonising them will only makes it worse. Start an SAU-SA club, gets CAMS coverage for cruises and show that the scene is more then a bunch of nutters driving at break neck speeds as generally perceived.

That said, sadly next time in town ill be driving the hire car so no more spirited drives up the hills in the R32...it was fun while it lasted:)

I dont care or need to worry what the australian standards are for ride height nor do i care what the law is in VIC, NSW, NT, WA or Tasmania.  Im  in SA and the regulators that regulate this beautiful state says X Rear and x Front. Thats all that matters.  

FYI to all, I hear there will be new regulations soon with clearance of defects by an Authorised Workshop. Perhaps in a few months.

Your so right, who gives a rats arse if its fair or not, just do as you are told, good boy - appathetic attitudes really piss me off - maybe you should become a cop, you seem to think that they are right regardless.

Fact - the SA POL DO NOT ENFORCE THE LAW, WITH REGARDS TO THE ROAD TRAFFIC ACT CORRECTLY,

Fact - TPT SA DO NOT ENFORCE VEHICLE STANDARDS CORRECTLY.

I have had enough of these forums

Take care all.

I came across this very well and oh so how true article..

At many locations around the state, young car enthusiasts meet to talk about their cars and show their many modifications with pride. these cars can be nissan skylines, pulsars, hondas, mitsubishi FTOs, subarus, toyota supras, soarers and dozens of others which appeal to our younger generation for both their looks and performance.

Two of the locations, well known to me, are the broadwater car park on the gold coast and the reserve at wellington point on brisbane's bayside. Many of the enthusiasts also occasionally gather at various Mcdonalds carparks to buy a burger and indulge in car adoration and discussion. The majority of these drivers are in the 17-29 year old age group and love their cars. There are of course a few "idiots" who crank up their stereos too loud and like to perform doughnuts in the area. These few give the majority a bad name but are in the minority.

As parents of teenagers, we support their right to gather in a public place and to discuss and enjoy their hobby: ie. their car. While our younger generation are meeting as motoring enthusiasts, they are not drinking, they are not putting graffiti on buildings, they are not brawling or taking drugs or breaking into homes and businesses. So, it has our support as "oldies".

There are some elements who view the activities scornfully and complain to law enforcement authorities about the gathering of "young hoons". This has resulted in some bizarre behaviour from local police, who demonstrate their complete ineptness in dealing with a few disruptive young drivers. Rather than resolve problems with some intuitive and intelligent thinking, they choose to react in their normal seemly heavy-handed fashion: "let's barricade the area and defect every vehicle leaving - even for the most minor infringement!"

Things like, no water in windshield washer bottle, exaust pipe too low, fluorescent lights decorating the car, chipped windscreens and other similar offences. Now the police are not just warning these guys, they are issuing tickets for $75 an offence! The police are singling out this group as trouble-makers and seem intent on targeting them with bullying and stand-over tactics.

Now in defence of our law enforcement officers, who often have an uneviable job to do, they will be quick to tell me that if every kid's car was 100% compliant they couldn't be fined for anything. TRUE! well, why don't they target other groups, like senior citizens, mothers dropping children at schools or their own private cars and see if they are 100% compliant! Some of these young people spend a fortune on their tyres, wheels, exausts and suspention and represent no threat to anyone's safety.

So, while highly trained, loyal and brave law enforcement officers are fining these kids (some earn their money part-time at Mcdonalds and Dominos Pizza on low hourly rates), they are incurring public penalty rates and overtime fulfilling this wonderfull service; meanwhile, shopkeepers complain that they cannot get any police response to thieves when they report crimes because police are too overworked. This was just the scenario at wellington point two thursday nights ago when numerous police barracaded the entrance to the point public carpark and subjected every car to police scrutiny. Many cars were defected and many fines were issued.

Now i do not support "hoons" who risk their lives and the lives of others with unsafe driving and unsafe cars. I am appalled by the over-representation of young people in death and injury accident statistics, but i strongly defend the right of our younger generation to meet, interact and love their cars. It is every free person's right to meet in a public place, provided they are not harming other people or themselves. If a few younger drivers are obviously flouting the law and risking lives, then every supports punitive action against them.

How much harm to police public relations is being done by these needless act of bullying by police? Are not these kids the police officers of the future and do we want our kids to think our law enforcement officers are scum bags? Maybe a little bit of inteligent thought could develop solutions which allows kids to meet and enjoy their cars without harassment and police officers regain their place, in their eyes, as respected people in the community.

~Ron McCann

brilliant article .... I think we should all print up this article, keep a copy in the car and show police when we are next targeted for gathering in a group.

Oh, and just like the comment "meanwhile, shopkeepers complain that they cannot get any police response to thieves when they report crimes because police are too overworked" - when we were barricaded in being defected the other week, a pub in Walkerville was being ram-raided - AT THAT EXACT TIME. If only the cops had been moe vigilant actually trying to protect and serve, rather than victimise and bully, then the ram-raiders might have been caught. Similar scenario when we have our cars or house burgled we cannot get instant police response because they are always too busy.