thanks guys, feeling better today, thanks for all the support. It's good to know that i'm not the only one getting pissed off about it. Browny - i know that i had right of way, it was a rhetorical question used to destroy his 'right of way' theory. Second part - moanie answered it for me (thanks mate). R-32 Godzilla, yeah if im being tailgated i sure as hell won't speed up that's for sure. My old man also believes that i should drive slow for the extra inconvieniece. Mum dosn't like it when i slow down.. she tells me to 'stop being silly'. I don't think it's that silly, i believe that if a tailgater has the right to drive that dangerously close, i have the right to become a pain in the ass.

Superspit- ill look out for ya mate :P - for the last couple years there used to always be this white r33 parked in a driveway on Fonteyn Dr, i look out for it every time i go there (highlight of my trip lol) but i haven't seen it for a while... keep postin your stories, they are good to read (loved yours Jae_s15).

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052362

• Replies 50

lol... ive taken a gutfull with my yellow sticker but revenage is sweet. Some guy decided to tailgate me the other day so i just simply slowed down. He then got really annoyed and went against traffic in over to overtake, at which point i sped up and forced him to come back behind due to on coming traffic in the other lane... i dont care how inexperienced people think i am, nobody treats me like a second rate driver and gets away with it... :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052376

Don't worry about it. Im on my black and still get tail gated and experience dick heads on the road. On thing I like to do is if they tail gate me down my street (main road, one lane each way though) an pretty much stop to turn in to my drive way which is on the crest of a hill. It pisses them off so much (I indicate from about 30m away just so they know im preparing to turn in).

Apart from that, there's not much you can do except ignore them and just stick to the speed limit if that's what your comfortable with.

PS If your travelling fast enough (ie freeway) and someones sitting up your arse, now is the perfect time to clean your windscreen. I've found that they don't enjoy the dirty water flying over my roof and on to their windscreen, but what can ya do :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052421

lol... ive taken a gutfull with my yellow sticker but revenage is sweet. Some guy decided to tailgate me the other day so i just simply slowed down. He then got really annoyed and went against traffic in over to overtake, at which point i sped up and forced him to come back behind due to on coming traffic in the other lane... i dont care how inexperienced people think i am, nobody treats me like a second rate driver and gets away with it... :(

it's illegal to speed up while being overtaken dude :D

i've found that people never tailgate me when i'm driving the mustang... all the time in the pintara though. maybe mustangs intimidate people :D

i like the windscreen idea as above :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052441

Hah when i had the commonwhore for the first year of my L's i didnt have a problem since it was an Auto. When i got the skyline i had to learn manual. I still remember one wanker when i stalled the car at the lights started beeping at me. I felt like getting out, getting the crow bar from the back and smacking him in the head (but im too controlled for that). He was in SUCH of a hurry he couldnt keep up after i pressed the accelerator. Bloody Wanker.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052453

hahaha thats a good idea actually.. talk about road rage, im gonna buy a crowbar and it's going to sit in the back.. next time someone gets out of the car to abuse me... BAM... and they wake up to a very trashed car... jk obviously.. but is that a referance to the fast and furious krzysiu? Paul walker didn't think vinnie was the bad guy cos he was 'too controlled for that?' and to prove that he wasn't too controlled for that the cop showed him the photos of the guy that he beat the crap out of with a wrench... its the similarity wrench/crowbar...

rrrage- that thing you pointed out with the mustang is interesting, by whats been said up there^^^^ it looks like people are getting judged by what they are driving ... people think skyline = hoon. Does anybody else get treated differently when driving different cars?

oh yea i forgot to say before as well... i once had a guy tell me to wind the windows down at the lights.. he was wearing a dark blue singlet and had tats all up his arms... im like are crap, here comes the abuse... but he told me that i was a good driver and that he was a truck driver and that he sees people do stupid things all the time, and that i should keep my wits about me. It was when i first started driving the commodore S. So he turned out to be a nice bloke, I'm a confident driver now, but i thought that what he said was really encouraging. I think that when I have my P's and a line :P I will do the same to others who I see that are driving well, not only to make them feel good about driving in general but to help break the sterotypical P plater + improted vechile = hoon image.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052547

PS If your travelling fast enough (ie freeway) and someones sitting up your arse, now is the perfect time to clean your windscreen. I've found that they don't enjoy the dirty water flying over my roof and on to their windscreen, but what can ya do :P

Yeah, it works even better if you have a rear washer nozzle that happens to point the wrong way i.e. straight back at them.

anyway I've had my licence since 1979 and I still get d|ckheads doing all that sh|t, tailgating is my fav' but. If I can see theur headlights under my boot spoiler than they are too close and get the washer treatment.

Hmmmm evil brain working, must rig up am extra washer bottle with a low mounted squirter and fill it with some appropriate fluid... something like "used" beer. mmmmmmmmm stinky

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052563

Talking about tools that dont know how to use roundabouts.

I drive home from uni 4 days a week and i have to pass this same roundabout every time. I drive in from the south wanting to turn east so i need to go half way through it and turn right to get out. At least once a week without fail ill be half way through the roundabout, right indicator on saying i am still traveling through it and ill get some fool just drive out in front of me from the north. Its got so bad i ususally just get half way and slow right down expeting the person not to stop.

The roundabout im talking about is in frankston on beach street.

And im expecting and day now to lose the left hand side of my car to some imbicile that cannot see or cannot think or both.

So in conclusion ive ben driving for 7 years and in my opinion am a very good driver but you still get people who should be on there p's/l's cos they drive so bad on the road every day. Or maybe its just the drivers in frankston.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1052620

it's illegal to speed up while being overtaken dude :D

that i know, but its also illegal for him to overtake me over double lines and into oncoming traffic.

Road rage even gets to me when im sitting behind a granny at safeway who is looking for a parking spot but probably cant see past the bonnet, do you know how frusttrating that is? and then she tries to go in rear first... WHO PARKS A CAR REAR FIRST?? sometimes i wonder how those people still have their licences :cuss:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1053124

Foznice, don't worry about it - you sound like you're doing the right thing.

I think unfortunately there are a large number of idiots on the road who think an L or P plate is their excuse to go on a power trip (and convieniently forget they were once in the same situation).

A couple of years ago, after years of driving an auto, I saw the light and went manual.

I decided to take some lessons with a driving instructor, and used his little car (complete with the signage for his driving school) for the session.

Even though there was no L plate on the car, the signage was a bit obvious, and the way other drivers treated me was astounding.

I'd been driving for at least 8 years when I took the lessons, and didn't actually have any probs with the manual, but most other drivers assumed I had no idea because of the car I was in.

I had one idiot in a Pajero overtake me on double white lines, round a blind corner, even though I was sitting on the speed limit (and driving along quite nicely if I do say so myself!) I waved to the kids she was keeping safe in the back as she drove past.

The instructor just shook his head and said it happened all the time, regardless of how his students were actually driving.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1053246

Hahah, this reminds me of one of the first times i was driving manual. I had a blue BMW start tailgating me. Being very new to driving i got all nervous, and had to stop at the traffic lights. They turned green and i stalled it taking off. Finally got the car going and went through an orange light leaving the BMW stuck at the lights again. Had he not tailgated me... :cheers:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1053332

I had one idiot in a Pajero overtake me on double white lines

One day my dad shitted me like that lol. We were driving in the skyline on Clayton Rd (marty knows) and there were these two cars driving side by side, slow as. I just blink and then i see my dad going over the double lines, wacks it in second and floors it past em. Damn it was scary since i was not expecting that from my dad lol. Then he told me never to do that. LOL

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1053363

never do that

ha ha ha. i think we've all heard that line a few times...

my dads scared me a few times...

what he does sometimes is: driving along up to lights, turns yellow, too far away to make it, he puts his foot down and the v8 makes its sound, i think "oh my ****ing god!!!", then he brakes hard and turns to me and asks "hahaha... did you think i was going to do that?"

also once, going up to a stop sign he says "close your eyes, i'm going to go through" "WHAT THE ****?!?!?!?!" stops "...ha ha ha" grrrrr ... it's always that split second of time where i believe him.

it doesn't work anymore though :cheers:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/53574-l-platers/page/2/#findComment-1053369