Help : Insurance in Melb PLEASE read (genuine enquiry)

I know theres probably been a billion threads on this but PLEASE help me for a second.

I have been with Famous insurance paying 2200 a year for Insurance on my skyline in Perth.

Today they told me it would be over 3000 dollars to insure it here- this is just not justifyable.

I am 20, had no accidents or been involved in any from the time i got My license 3 years ago. Im unfortunately on my Ps in victoria here - i was off them In WA.

Can someone refer me to a insurance company here. What about Shannons insurnace - i will only be driving the car on weekends. Less than certain kms.

How much should I be paying, please help me.

Kind regards

Kim fernando

give you an idea, i'm 20, absolutely clean history (touch wood) - insurance since May '02 - Just cars wanted $2473 on rating 4. I'm actually Rating 3 now with AAMI but Just Cars wouldn't recognise that i started on rating 5 even tho AAMI is their parent company :)

But my car is being regoed a lot later than i first thought, so i may be able to knock another $400 off that. So hopefully around $2000 full comp.

Car is 1998, R34 GT-T, 2 door, Manual, with after market wheels.

Famous wouldn't insure me until i'm 21, so might give them a try when i rego the car, as i'll be 21 by then. But i want to try and get Just Cars to recognise my rating 3. $2k for a Turbo R34 on my P's, i'd be very happy with that.

cheers and good luck. Just Cars has gotten a lot better compared to when they first started.

chinny they will only insure u on the rating u have had for a year... so if ur rating 3 now but have only been given that say 2 months ago.. they will only insure u as a rating 4 which would have been ur previous.

Shannons are good to me but I am 30 and the mrs is 28.

They will give you good discounts for low mileage :( - thats what we are getting, Extreme Low Use policy.

But I am not sure they will insure either a 20yo OR a P-plater?

FYI we pay about $1,200 per car, rating 1 medium-low risk suburb etc

GOOD LUCK mate!

Just cars definately, dont do the internet quote thing, just give them a call, its heaps cheaper.

Last year i was 21, rating 3, r32 GTST insured for $16.5k with exhaust and wheels, and full comp cost me $1700.

This year 22, rating 2, $16.2k, costing me $1200.

Just cars will be the cheapest, believe me.

Shannons will be cheaper if you dont do a lot of driving AND have it garaged etc...

Also shannons have a much better policy than just cars, are cheaper everytime we get a quote [annually] and have hassle-free claims :)

Just Car are not bad esp. for young people but they are not the best.

xRHETTx, mine is insured for more than double $16.5K and I still pay $1,200 - it really comes down to WHAT car he is insuring???, suburb, rating etc. In theory a 32gtst will be cheaper than a 33 gtst which will be cheaper than a 34 gtt due to the cars value.

StarionTurbo: so what is it? A 33 GTS-t?