Hi Guys,

I just want to let you guys know to be wary when dealing with The Shock Absorber Reconditioners at Slacks Creek.

I had my front shocks reconditioned. They seem to be quite good now. The problem was that when I got home I noticed my front bar was hanging low on the right hand side. The mount wher the screw goes through on the bar is broken. So now I have to get my front bar fixed. :pissed:

I didn't notice it at first as they backed the car out of their workshop for me. I walked around behind the car and got in as the mechanic had left the door open for me. So just make sure you walk all the way around your car before you leave.

I spoke with one of the guys there, and they said nothing happened of course. They have a bad driveway which the guy said they can't do anything about.

Anyway, the work that they do with shocks seems to be ok. Perhaps they need to take extra care with our 'lines.

Just check your car before you leave!

Eek

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/55322-careful-when-dealing-with-tsr/

i got my teins fully reconditioned there by Scott (previous TSR owner) and he had no problems driving my car up/down that sinful driveway. He also told me that he's the only person whose been able to do it. It was a work of art watching him do it. From what i heard, their work has been the same since Scott left.

hope all's well with your bar :)

glenn

yeh x2

have also been victim of front bar damage :(

Ofcourse they say it wasnt them, but its a little obvious when there is actually specs of paint where it happened at their workshop :)

dont really trust any workshops to drive my car anymore, ide rather take my front bar off then drive there :nowigetit

i think its 129 per shock. they dismantle each shock, get it regas, replace bearings, seals etc. they charged an extra 40 per side to take out the shocks. kindly expensive though because with their tools and guns, each shock takes about 10 mins to remove from the car.

Why don't you guys just take the shocks in by themselves.

Glenn....How is life with Godzilla??

Because driving the car there without them in there is really tricky???

I went there too, they do good work, set the car up nicely too (had stupidly stiff spring rates before) No damage done to my car and before they got it was some what low.

i hate it how workshops don't take care like that.. even though working with their own driveway and low cars every day you'd think they'd be experts at it.

*unknown* workshop cracked my front bar not once, but twice.. on their heavy driveway. It wasn't hard to get out at all, and i managed it fine, and yet they just careered down there and bang.. grunt

Because driving the car there without them in there is really tricky???.

Very funny In more than 40 years of owning and running various performance cars I've learned the hard way that if you want something done properly....learn how....then do it yourself. Running something like a Skyline especially a GTR on the kind of budget most of us have, we just cannot afford to Pay people to do simple things like remove and replace bits of our cars. With just a jack, a car stand and 2 suitable spanners it should take about 20minutes to remove a suspension strut, there are only 3 nuts holding it on. Your car can't get damaged if it's sitting safely

at home while you take the struts in for rebuild. :spamcan:

I guess mine was different, we were aiming for a different set up, they pretty much needed the car. But in my case, I take something off the car so it cant be driven, I'd need to get a mate to give me a lift, or get a taxi...

My point is, you are paying for the convenience. And it would have cost my self (and I guess others more than $120 to get decent tools jack etc to be able to do that job) Sorry I just get sick people who have more mechanical knowledge, and tools telling people who really dont have that much of a clue, or no tools to do something themselfs.

) Sorry I just get sick people who have more mechanical knowledge, and tools telling people who really dont have that much of a clue, or no tools to do something themselfs.

1 thing I get sick of, is bods who don't fully read and understand posts before they jump in with a reply. :)

I did say 'learn how to'. The tech forums here and on SDU are full of info on just about all aspects of Skylines, but it needs a bit of effort to search and find what you need rather than just being the 100,000th guy to post asking the same question. There are plenty of people here more than willing to help out.

Paying for the convenience all too often becomes paying for the INconvenience of being f*ucked over by a 'professional'

Pay for a job....you have to pay again next time it needs doing. A reasonable quality tool lasts forever

ok hijack here I have the tools & the know how,

I replaced a power steer rack on a good friends car the other weekend & rather than costing over $600 it cost around $370 & that was with new rack bushings & better oil then u would normaly use in a power steering system now theres a $230 dollars better off that you can buy some tools with not saying that every one will want to take on as bigger job as doing a power steering rack but yeah just to show how much you can save.

You got to jump in some times & give it a good red hot go start with easy things like oil changes & air filter replacment onto little harder things like spark plugs replacement & slowly work your way up hey I am more than happy to show ppl how to do it if ya need help PM me for some info or a hand on a job :)

Glenn....How is life with Godzilla??

its good Jay :) slowly getting it prepared for track next winter.

Sorry I just get sick people who have more mechanical knowledge, and tools telling people who really dont have that much of a clue, or no tools to do something themselfs.

i think what old man jay is saying is that you can save 160 by taking out the shocks yourself and bringing them to TSR for the recond. Buying the stands and jacks are a 1 time investment. Think of the heaps of money you will be saving when doing oil change, etc yourself. In my situation, i wanted TSR to scale my car for me and hence, leaving my car with them :)

There is a line between "having a go" and "making your car dangerous"...

I do oil changes, brake pads, (ie: basic maintainence) and minor repairs (ie: CV shafts and seals, diff) etc no worries, but I get a mechanic I trust to do a major service once a year to verify everything is in shape - mainly stuff that is only obvious once its up on a hoist.

Changing shockies is all very well, but what if you stuff up something? To some people it may be blindingly obvious what needs to be done, but having seen the technical dramas some store owners get themselves into over something as simple as cleaning out a condensor, I can see why some people much prefer getting a professional to do it, especially if it is something fairly important (see: suspension / brakes).

I have to agree, I got TSR to re-con my coilovers on the GTR and they were fantastic, but since it has changed hands I have dealt with them a couple of times and got nothing but trouble and attitude.

My advise is, give it a go, the money you spend on labour is much better spent on tools. I have had 3 different workshops work on the GTR and ALL of them have managed to leave their mark on the car. BUTCHERS! Not worth the hassel unless it really is a job that is too difficult. Shocks on skylines are a sinch. 3 bolts and the whole lot falls out. If I remember correctly you need, jack, stands, 14mm &17mm spanners/sockets, spring compressors. Too easy.