Ok some of my favourites, dont know what style they are...but they are my favs that is till get out and play regularly:)

- Cream , Piet Blank & Jasper Jones

- Fiesta , The Sunclub

- Cafe Del Mar , Energy 52

- New Life , Third Eye

- Do You Feel So Right , Love For Sale

- Footprint , Disco Citizens

- Xpander , Sasha

- Forgiven , Space Brothers

- Schoneberg , Marmion

- Dreams , Quench

- The Orange Theme , Cygnus X

- Symphony , Hybrid

- 1998 , Binary Finary

- Distant Voices , Lost Tribe

Some of the better tunes of late:

- Leave Plant Earth , Talisman + Hudson

- Virus , Hypnotise

- Fear , Ian Brown

Or generally anything by Sasha, Oakenfold, Fontaine and Digweed.

• Replies 89

Andrew

PS RTF GTR  Phil K, Jason and his brother Simon Digby are all good friends of mine. In the early 90's I use to frequent DMC record store mostly every Tue (or whenever vinyl shipment come in) where Phil K would work and then I'd also go to Rhythm and Soul down the road like it was going out of fashion!!  The money i could of spent on my car instead of on vinyl!!! But i wouldn't change it for anything. I remember Gab Oliver, Andy Van and many other talented lcoal dj's all use to do the same rounds on those days and we'd all know and acknowledge each other with a "hi how ya doing" I felt really important back then ;)  

Another local 90's rave scene DJ that i thought was great was Voitech. Not sure where he's gotten to these days but he'd go off at Every picture tells a story parties.

Anyway that's enough from me.....for now :)

I'm stuck in a time warp... don't go out clubb'en much so listen to mostly stuff I got my hands on back then. I wish I had a way to record some of the "FRIDAY TAPES" Phil K used to broadcast that I have on tape onto CD... Some wicked sets were played over the air back then. Also got the 4 Tape set of the SUNNY SIDE UP crew that was only given out at the Pyjama Party they had in 99/2000 can't recall what year exactly ;) 1 x 1 hr Tape each for Phil K - Ozzy LA - Gab Oliver and someone else (I lost that one)

Never got into collecting Vinyl, but I'm sure I would be green with envy over your collection.

Another local that has dropped off the plant is Dallas - I worked with him at my first job and he kind'a got me into Trance and what not. He rocked it hard and funky every time, used to do double sets with Dave Pham allot.

DMC back toilet near ally way "Drugs aren’t for people who can't handle reality... Reality is for people who can't handle Drugs" - Amen to the good old days BAHHH!

Ok some of my favourites, dont know what style they are...but they are my favs that is till get out and play regularly:)

Where the hell is Roy Orbison in that list mate...?;)

We'll have to invite ourselves on to one of Archie's gigs, I reckon he should DJ @ Snowy's birthday party.

Coolest thing I saw was some acoustic D&B at Bennett's Lane...

The musicians were all very tired afterwards as you can imagine.

a mate is in an acoustic dnb band that used to play at the Vineyard, he was vocals, there was also a drummer, guitarist and dj... pretty cool stuff:cooldance

Andrew

Putting a topic like this that's so close to my heart I just had to respond ;)

not a bad list there, thats pretty much all the house stuff I love [used to play too] :)

Also liked:

Marmion - Schoenberg

Age of love - Age of love

Loops n tings - Jens [basically a lot of the Superstition label tracks]

Crescendo -

too many too list ;) [going to :zzz:]

ive got xpander here on vinyl, friggen rocks 11 minute mix

peppermint lounge is tops, ive got reactive 17 and 18 on vinyl here for my decks

what other old dance/trace um...

gatecrasher black with a few good good tracks

We'll have to invite ourselves on to one of Archie's gigs, I reckon he should DJ @ Snowy's birthday party.

:werd: Archie in da-house!

the scenehasnt gone bad, its just progressed and changed.

I didnt like it too much (newer stuff) but since going out with a few of the usual suspects around this place... i've got into it all and really enjoy it all for what it is now.

I think its just a phase, plus, your nearly 30. Your are the crisis point... if only your GTR was red...

:sly:

ANYTHING by Scot Project

Hard Kandy in the early 2000's was where it was at. I was that guy up on stage all night rocking on and the last one on the floor at 10am!!

Now, I'm into rap and hiphop heaps too.

I love all music.

Hey archie - a couple of my good mates are planning on playing a while at my party. Hope your coming dude and if you want they'll let you spin some tunes for a while. Between the 2 of them they'll have PLENTY to lend ya. I was also planning a trip to greville to buy a couple for myself for the night. I don't have my own decks - never spun a vinyl in my life - but god damn it Im going to spin 1 or 2 on my 30th B'Day - and my 2 track set will ROCK! lol

I'm sure Snowy would have organised all that stuff anyway, besides i'm looking forward to going and having a few drinks instead of having to work on the decks all night!! :)

If ever i organise a 'classics' night anywhere i'll be sure to let u fellas know. There's a whole heap of friends i hang out with who absolutely love this sort of stuff. One of these guys had his 30th and it was awesome. Listening to a tune of that era on a high quality sound system (loud of course) was like takind you back to that time of when and where u first heard it...it's crazy.

nizmoR34

Yeah got all those tracks too, they rocked! Of those, crescendo rocked when it kicked in after the long break :)

I'm into more of the melodic trance scene and have been part of a promotional group for quite some time now.

To me the industry is just evolving..

If anyone is interested we have a web site, www.5am.com.au

Next big night is on the 26th of November - solarstone (UK).. should be a ripper :)

-Patrick

P.S. Energy 52, Cafe Del Mar is one of the best tracks i have ever heard - especially when Marco V plays with it, anything by Paul Van Dyk, Sasha and Armin van Buuren i love.

When things are new they are freash, original and are yet to be explored and discovered. Once something has been discovered then it becomes popular. Once something is popular it becomes mainstream and IMO thats where the problem is. Years ago in the early to late 90's the rave scene was a lot cooler, less populated and more of an escape from reality. Now your lucky to go 2 mins without bumping into some underage, chupa-chup sucking, first time pill popping tosser. When you bump into your mums cousin or you best mates mum at a party then you know it over! It was never the music that ruined it....it was the people!