RTFGTR

Ah yes Phils's Friday tapes. He's always luv to throw in new tracks that he just got hold of b/c he knew many other dj's were listening :D I remember asking him about a track he played and he's like "it's on acetate" ie hasn't been pressed on vinyl yet and he's got a test pressing however it's like metal (aluminium??) even tho it looks exactly like a a vinyl.

Snowy i wouldn't mind having a spin if that's ok with ur mates. I know how it can be when people come upto ya when ur playing and they're like i'm a dj too can i have a go? So yeah if an opportunity arises then sweet otherwise happy to kick back with a choice beverage and enjoy the choons :D

Roy that rollo goes mystic track is actually called 'love love love - here i come' :D

I can't believe i forgot to include it in my earlier post as i absolutely luv that track.

Others I enjoyed playing now that i'm flicking thru the vinyls again are:

Funkatarium 96 - NBG vs Sharp

All i do - Roy Davis Jnr

Sweetest day of May - Joe T vanelli project

The lover that u are - Pulse

I believe - Celvin Rotane

Keep on Jumping - Todd Terry (rhythm masters mix)

Make the world go round - Sandy B

Give me luv - alcatraz

U Girls - Nush

U sexy dancer - the rockford files

So in luv with u - Duke

The sound of E - Ultrashock

• Replies 89

RTFGTR  

Ah yes Phils's Friday tapes. He's always luv to throw in new tracks that he just got hold of b/c he knew many other dj's were listening :D I remember asking him about a track he played and he's like "it's on acetate" ie hasn't been pressed on vinyl yet and he's got a test pressing however it's like metal (aluminium??) even tho it looks exactly like a a vinyl.

I reckon you could put together a pretty funky mix together for me... yeah?

I have to stick up a bit for the hipady-hop like BASS JUNKY said. My roots are there and even the best of trance/acid is nothing without a funky hip-hop bass grove.

So how about a mix tape to amp up all us liners????

my theory -

house hasn't 'won' - it's always been there (i didn't know it was fighting).

good trance stopped being made as it peaked it's genre. even the good stuff outta germany and the such "we've heard before". ... well not really but theres only so many things you can do and still be in the trance genre.

progressive trance isn't.

hard house = someones idea that nick skitz is sick dj

Is it possible that we've moved on and simply our favourite genre can't invent itself over. I mean it's happened so .. right now it's happening for the next generation and before us it had already happened. They're left scratching their heads same as us who experienced something because if its re-invented it's inevitably different, if it's the same it's inevitably not as good (first time best time and all that).

I dono if that makes sense.. but yeah... shrug try it on for size :D

Roy that rollo goes mystic track is actually called 'love love love - here i come' :D

I can't believe i forgot to include it in my earlier post as i absolutely luv that track.

One of the best tracks ever, irrespective of genre:)

So what tunes got you guys into electronic music? For me a fan of Rollins Band, Metallica, Fear Factory, Pantera, Machinehead, Ministry etc...it was certainly a change of pace for me, but back in 94 tunes like:

Utah Saints, Something Good

N-Trance , Set me Free

A couple of Hi-Lux tunes

Strike, U Sure Do etc

But the main song that encouraged me to start trying electronic music was JX "You Belong To Me". Corny, probably, but mainstream or not it was these songs that actually made me by my first non-metal album:)

FSOM - Flight over Jerusalem

Will E Tell - Sound of E (can't remember what name he used for it)

Anyone else listen to Tranzmission on RRR with Kate Bathgate?

I used to tape it every week :D

I think it was Ultrashock...or is that a different Sound Of E? Mad track :D

If you can enjoy trance, techno or whatever else you call those 100 beats per second noiseworks, without the aid of drugs, you have too much sugar in your diet.

You must also love chaos.

You just reminded me of Moby's "1000" track :D 1000 Beats Per Minute!!! That was crazy.
It all started with 'Breakdance' in the 80s !

Who knows/remembers 'Ozone' and 'Turbo'...?

Beat Street was much better than Breakdance [in my opinion] - Breakdance was like showing Rap to the masses, Beat Street was more Real, Underground and True to the Rap culture :D

I love lots of music styles, I grew up on Rap from about 1979/80 and still find some half decent Rap nowadays, although I did prefer it before it was popularised. I nearly cried the day I saw Public Enemy's track "Give it Up" in the Australian Top 40 Aria chart back in about 95 I think...it just wasnt right [for me anyway].

I have every Public Enemy album [vinyl], also loved Ice T, Eric B & Rakim, Beastie Boys [not much of their recent stuff though], LL cool j, Derek B, GrandMaster Flash, GM Melle Mel! man I am getting carried away now...lol. Still listen to this stuff now, of course RUN DMC were "the shit" in the 80's too!!! NWA, man I thought Easy-E was white when I first heard "F*ck tha Police" LOL - I actually heard it on RRR & JJJ when it was released!

As I said earlier too much music that I like to mention - actually its easier to mention what I dont like: Thrash/Metal/Punk kind of stuff, anything else is cool - well except maybe Spice girls, Macarena etc dont care too much for novelty music, its a DJ thing I think:rofl:

Lastly, the very first 12 inch I ever bought was Eric B & Rakims' "Paid in Full" - the full "Seven Minutes of madness mix" by Cold Cut, slammin :Dj:

Weren't they "Rollo Goes Camping" at that stage? Getting technical I know but I am a technician afterall :D

"Get Off Your High Horse" was also pretty good but not as great as "Love, Love, Love" - im pretty sure I still have an un-touched copy of this [vinyl] :D

One more track to add Moving Melodies, La Luna - Bang Bang!!! I was working @ Bar20 when that came out, dunno what i liked more the music or naked chicks :confused:

You guys have now made me go out and grab a few crates of tunes [LOL] - back later!

:rave:

yeah but hip hop nights are always full of wanna be gangsters...  

thats why I like dnb... cos of its rave atmosphere and the added bonus of an MC spitting lyrics... best of both worlds in my opinion... and no FUBU wearing imitation Tupacs...

I like NRG, trance etc but can't do a whole night of it... just lacks personality after a while... whateva floats ya boat I guess

Very true, and i do like some dnb as well, i just don't have/know much of it.. i really like K&D's stuff... but most of the dnb stuff i have heard doesn't really have lyrics comparable to hip hop... care to share any thing i should listen to? (DNB)?

So how about a mix tape to amp up all us liners????

I know, i need to get off my as5 and make a mixed CD with all the classics.

I've been meaning to do this for a while but ever since getting my car (oh yeah, i forgot, i was on this forum for a reason....i got a 32 GTR. There, now that's outta the way back to music :rolleyes: ) i lost interest in visiting my decks ;)

I did however make a mixed CD of my choice vocal house tunes i've purchased over the last 6 months so happy to provide a copy to anyone who is keen for that style of music.

Tracks include, Back Together - Ron Carrol, Amazing - George Michael, Eternal Lover - Bibi, Young and Lonely - P Phunk, Boogie tonight - Tweet, You will - Pique and Nique etc

Weren't they "Rollo Goes Camping" at that stage?

Not sure. Got the 12" in front of me and it definitely says Rollo Goes Mystic... on the Cheeky Label

Ah yes, Laluna, a track i got good milege out of ;)

Bar 20? I use to know a guy who worked there as a dj during the early to mid 90's

but his name eludes me. He had a Macedonian background and drove a holden ute i think...hate it when this happens. I played down the road at a place called cyberdrome back then (which became Heaven and now something else) and he come in once or twice but i had known him from the record stores we use to shop at prior to this.... m'eh my memory is getting worse and worse with age :)

yeah I like K&D too..

If you want lyrics your best to download some live sets, they usually have MC's doing vocals live etc. There is only a few tracks here and there that will come out with vocals already on them...

that said I like...

DJ's>

Andy C

Dillinger

Adam F

DJ Hype

Total Science

Kenny Ken

DJ Craze (the best DJ in the world IMHO)

Dom & Roland

Roni Size

...and if you like lyrics check out MC Shabba & Skibba dee

DJ Tiesto - Live at ENERGY 2000

that was great! get it if you can. its pretty much the eve of 2000 so its got a lot of 97,98,99 tracks, also zombie nation as well, which is a long time before they started flogging it constantly on kicks or kiss fm whatever the **** it was

Thanks you guys for making me feel younger than i am. Ive been through a few favourite styles of music in the last 5 or so years:

1999 - Hardcore punk and metal stuff - Mindsnare, Embodiment 12:14

2000 - Commercial dance shit

2001 - Tech - Wetmusik etc

2002 - Psytrance - Infected Mushroom etc

2003 - Drum and Bass Shapeshifter, anthing with a MC

Now - Hip Hop - Bias B, obese crew etc None of that shit eminem/fity cent/five cent/USA crap that you hear on radio

I cant make up what music i like, as long as it has a bit of an edge on it, i usually think its ok.

If you can enjoy trance, techno or whatever else you call those 100 beats per second noiseworks, without the aid of drugs, you have too much sugar in your diet.  

You must also love chaos.

:spank:

haha

its funny that you say that, because if Im on the pills, I cant dance and just walk around rushing, whereas when Im sober as a judge or just drinking, I dance waaaay more

Very true, and i do like some dnb as well, i just don't have/know much of it.. i really like K&D's stuff... but most of the dnb stuff i have heard doesn't really have lyrics comparable to hip hop... care to share any thing i should listen to? (DNB)?

mate the best dnb i have is a free cd i got with mixmag called trance n bass. if you want a copy pm me and ill get one out to you

Not sure. Got the 12" in front of me and it definitely says Rollo Goes Mystic... on the Cheeky Label

Ah yes, Laluna, a track i got good milege out of :D

Bar 20? I use to know a guy who worked there as a dj during the early to mid 90's

but his name eludes me. He had a Macedonian background and drove a holden ute i think...hate it when this happens. I played down the road at a place called cyberdrome back then (which became Heaven and now something else) and he come in once or twice but i had known him from the record stores we use to shop at prior to this.... m'eh my memory is getting worse and worse with age :D

That would be Megalo [Michael] - a good mate of mine :D Small world!

He also dj'd @ heaven, probably later on...spoke to him just the other day.