• Replies 50

how many of em race their car on a track, or even modify them without fear of voiding their warranties though?

Here's one :) Brrrrrrmmmmm

Stupid Nissan, not turboing and RBing it!

But I would empty my wallet in APS's direction... turbo bro! Sik!

DSC03428.jpg

supercharger kit / twin turbocharger kit

but as u choose a convertable than hard top, i assume u like curising a lot than after REAL performance.

might just do the air intake, full exhaust, cam and computer, should get around 320ps. Still factory manner but should able to give 911 a run for money.

try search nismo S-tune Z33 in some serach engine

What sort of improvements do you want? Outright power, or handling, or both? If its for track work I think the best investment would be in suspension, brakes, etc unless these things have already been done.

I seem to remember the major complaint when watching Best Motoring was that the engine rev limiter was too low: maybe look at doing some balancing/strengthening and raising the limiter.

Of course if you don't want to keep it NA...... :)

LW.

Don't get TOO hung up on the warranty bit - it only applies to the drivetrain. To be realistic, you can't expect Nissan to warrant something that YOU modify.

They do cover all the other areas, however. I remember that when I had my S15 and the speedo stopped working, the Nissan service manager happily fixed it under warranty, even though it had a big mongrel terb, front mount, PFC and zaust.

I actually think that I made a sale for Nissan as they had a customer there at the time who came back from a test drive of the demo 200SX and said that it wasn't as fast as he wanted/expected. I took him for a spin in mine and he signed up that day with a list of my mods scrawled onto the bottom of the "offer to purchase"! I reckon I should have got a kick-back from that one!

Thanks for the suggestions- I'm keen on the turbo conversion but it's a bit out of the price range atm.

To answer a few of the questions.....

Just cos it's a convertible doesn't mean it's a cruiser! In fact no top gives the perfect platform to create the ultimate sleeper Zed!

I want to achieve power and handling in equal measures- based on Duncan and Fatz experience at the Dutton Rally this year- it's no good have something quick that you can't drive consistently in all conditions cos it's too quick.

I already have a great Uni Filter Pod fitted which has already given it a nice little kick, not to mention a great sound which earned it the title of "Teh Angry Zed" at the last SAU Dyno day.

The car has already seen a track (or 10) so I think brakes and suspension might be the first to get looked at. I've got a nice set of gtr brakes down in the garage which I think should do the job - the standard ones on the convertible aren't much chop (and the dealer wouldn't fit the Brembos which come on the Track model when I ordered it).

Engine rev limiter is way too low, so another quick fix.

Then it's just a case of counting up the pennies and seeing what the budget can stretch to!

Thanks again for the suggestions- all good!

I'll simply refer you to the HKS article on my high tech website in my sig........

:D very high tech!

Another good article- thanks :P

I reckon I should get sick more often- gives me time to ponder and research all the important things in life!

Scheme and plan evil more like. Just sort the understeering barge suspension first. I did think the brakes were OK though albeit no stops from the higher speeds. Cheater ABS so it really doesn't count......

Kel, there are a stack of Zed's on the forum I mentioned earlier and many of them are modified ... everything from exhausts, suspension and n/a engine mods to supercharger kits and twin turbo kits. Also, quite a few of them regularly do track days so heaps of info for you there.

I already have a great Uni Filter Pod fitted which has already given it a nice little kick, not to mention a great sound which earned it the title of "Teh Angry Zed" at the last SAU Dyno day.

beware that the pod filter on Z33 might actually have negative result.

heard HKS had a hard time when they develop a pod filter kit for Z33.

The factory design was too good any pod filter mod is decreasing the hp.

even the full kit they design (with all the change position, duct, etc...) only result a touch more in mid range and not even top end from my memory.

Hey Kel, I agree with maxx, unless you have $15-60,000 for turbo conversions then you could start with cold air induction to pod filter, better spark plugs, cam, under pullies, lightened flywheel, computer chip, full titanium exhaust(leave the standard cat as i read it's a top unit) titanium exhaust manifold, light weight wheels(i've ordered some Volk TE37's for my black/sunset orange track)the weight savings useing titanium and magnesium wheels will help in pick up and ride quality(rebound), you could go further with dry carbon fiber panels-bonnet, front gaurds, doors, mirrors, wing but that gets excy(bonnet is already aluminium so that would be just for street cred/looks)then maybe lexen glass for doors, but i think it's illeagal anyway, and then ya just gotta have those scissor doors(a la Lamborghini)............ and one last thing Kel, "Will you marry me!" hahaha nice pic!

Cheers , Jason.

Top Secret have a very cheap Twin turbo kit for it... I'll see if I can find the photo I took of it sitting in their showroom.

edit:

Looks like a single turbo kit actually?

Sign says: "Bolt-on turbo setup kit. 380,000 Yen." - That's only $4600 :headspin: :spcow:

z33turbo.jpg

that truly is a bargain if it includes the two manifolds, turbo, dump and other little bits. I assume it doesn't inlcude ecu, injectors intercooler etc, but for $5K that is pretty good still.

If only you had posted earlier. We just recently had a APS demo day for the twin-turbo kit at Autotech in Granville.

There was plenty of information. I believe a 350z with a pod filter made the same power as it did with the stock airbox. Only difference was that the pod filter stuffed up the cars air/fuel ratio. So you're probably better off keeping the stock box and throwing a K&N panel in there like my brother has.

So far, the easier and more common exhausts 350z owners have been getting are the APS exhaust and the Hi-Tech exhaust. They perform about the same as each other, give or take a few kws. Though if you get the APS exhaust system, if you decide to go and get an APS twin turbo kit down the track it bolts straight up.

Here is a sample of my brothers car with the Hi-Tech exhaust fitted.

Performance wise, save up whatever money you plan to spend on the minor modifications for the twin turbo kit :wassup:

Hey Kel,  I agree with maxx, unless you have $15-60,000 for turbo conversions then you could start with  cold air induction to pod filter, better spark plugs, cam, under pullies, lightened flywheel, computer chip, full titanium exhaust(leave the standard cat as i read it's a top unit) titanium exhaust manifold, light weight wheels(i've ordered some Volk TE37's for my black/sunset orange track)the weight savings useing titanium and magnesium wheels will help in pick up and ride quality(rebound), you could go further with dry carbon fiber panels-bonnet, front gaurds, doors, mirrors, wing but that gets excy(bonnet is already aluminium so that would be just for street cred/looks)then maybe lexen glass for doors, but i think it's illeagal anyway, and then ya just gotta have those scissor doors(a la Lamborghini)............ and one last thing Kel, "Will you marry me!" hahaha nice pic!

Cheers , Jason.

Thanks for the advice- all sounds good :D

An exhaust is definitely on the cards down the track but I've discovered a new money pit (also known as that !@*%ing GTR).

What do you classify as better spark plugs (an easy fix!).

Kel

......and one last thing Kel, "Will you marry me!" hahaha nice pic!

Cheers , Jason.

.... well, it's only fair to warn you that I'm a woman of expensive tastes, just ask my (current) husband :D

If only you had posted earlier. We just recently had a APS demo day for the twin-turbo kit at Autotech in Granville.  

There was plenty of information. I believe a 350z with a pod filter made the same power as it did with the stock airbox. Only difference was that the pod filter stuffed up the cars air/fuel ratio. So you're probably better off keeping the stock box and throwing a K&N panel in there like my brother has.

So far, the easier and more common exhausts 350z owners have been getting are the APS exhaust and the Hi-Tech exhaust. They perform about the same as each other, give or take a few kws. Though if you get the APS exhaust system, if you decide to go and get an APS twin turbo kit down the track it bolts straight up.

Performance wise, save up whatever money you plan to spend on the minor modifications for the twin turbo kit  :wassup:

Shame I missed it. I *believe* I'm getting better than standard power with the Unifilter pod , but had to pull the zed off the dyno early because of pinging (pretty sure it was an average tank of fuel and nothing else).

As I've said before- the zed's seen it's fair share of tracks so brakes are next - the one's which come standard on the convertible aren't much chop.

There's an old GTR set in the garage which look up to the job, just need to muck around getting them fitted!

An exhaust keeps tempting me though......

that truly is a bargain if it includes the two manifolds, turbo, dump and other little bits. I assume it doesn't inlcude ecu, injectors intercooler etc, but for $5K that is pretty good still.

I can't believe you blokes didn't bring me back one as a pressie from your trip!