I installed my SAFCII last night and went through the initial setup.

I just wanted to make sure everything was normal compared to everyone else.

I have a 93 R33 gtst btw.

Sensor type:

Hotwire. Sens Calc. 4,4

Car Type

Cylinders:6,Throttle type: arrow pointing downward.

OK. Now comes the lknock settings.

I wired up the knock sensor wire to Knock sensor 1 at the ecu.

I wasn't sure if I should use sensor 1 or 2. What did other people do?

When doing the knock set my raw readings were

60 @ 1500

67 @ 3500

Is this high?

anyway, the car was probably more than just warmed up when i did the config. This morning when i checked the raw readouts again after 5 min warm up the readings were between 30-45 instead. I didn't re-configure though. Should I redo the signal correction setting again??

When I tested the car with its current setup the knock reading didn't go above 0 at all. not even at idle (some reports that this happens). I gave it a run w'/ WOT but still on 0 so hopefully it's all good and I have nothing to worry about.

Getting it tuned on thrusday so hopefully will see a nice power gain and a bit smoother delivery of the power.

That all sounds good mate... Pretty much what I would expect after installing / setting up about 5 of these on 33's...

IIRC, I thought the throttle arrow went up? I could be wrong and just having brain fade though... So long as the throttle display is correct I guess...

Re the knock sensor wiring: I wired in a switch so I could swap between sensor 1 and sensor 2... But mostly I just leave it on number 1... All the others I've installed have been on sensor 1 as well... FWIW, I notice very little difference between the two...

The raw readings sound about right...

I found I get the best results by driving the car for about 1.5 hrs and then doing the knock set function again... 0 at idle is pretty normal when the car is coldish... As it heats up it can creep up to anywhere up to 40... This is normal... As you say when cruising or at WOT sits around 0 if everything is working properly...

When it knocks / pings / detonates, the signal will go over 100... More likely closer to 140....

All in all, sounds perfect to me mate...

:cheers:

I find that i get zero knock at idle on a hot day, rising to 20-30 on a hot hot day. The best you can do is try to do the knock calibration on a hot day, with the car fully warmed up. This helps control the 'false' readings.

I'm getting griffith's auto to service and tune. When i dropped in he had about 6 other imports in his yard so I guess he knows his stuff. Have heard good things about him too.

anyway, other mods are just standard stuff:

full 3" exhaust (normal cat)

FMIC

Boost controller (tune at 11-12psi)

still using panel filter

and SAFCII now.

thats bout all i can think of. Hoping for around 180-200rwkw but more realistically looking at 170-185rwkw I reckon.

A friend recently had his R33 GTS-T tuned up but with a powerfc.

He made 204rwkw on 11psi. The usual mods, FMIC & 3" Turbo back exhaust from japland that is rather quiet.

You can see a raise in tractive effort at around 5000rpm.

well I gave Dave the manual a few days before too read as he hadn't done a SAFCII before.

He didn't read it and then decided he couldn't tune it because he hadn't read the manual.

bit disappointing.

Anyway, he's going to read it over the weekend and we'll book it in next week for the dyno tune. He said he does heaps of powerfc's so I guess he knows what he's doing.

Will post results when I get them.

OK, I just got off the phone from Dave griffith and to set my boost controller to 8/11psi (dual stage) and tune my SAFCII he is charging $407.

Does that sound right? sounds bloody expensive to me.

He hadn't tuned one before so I can understand it taking a bit longer than usual.

But, I shouldn't have to pay for that time should i? He was the one who said he could tune it.

how much would a tune of the SAFCII cost on the mainland.

Will post up dyno chart tonight.

OK, I just got off the phone from Dave griffith and to set my boost controller to 8/11psi (dual stage) and tune my SAFCII he is charging $407.

Does that sound right? sounds bloody expensive to me.  

He hadn't tuned one before so I can understand it taking a bit longer than usual.

But, I shouldn't have to pay for that time should i? He was the one who said he could tune it.

how much would a tune of the SAFCII cost on the mainland.

Will post up dyno chart tonight.

:wassup: Shoot :wassup:

I think I better open up a dyno shop in Tas, that's almost double what it costs in Sydney.:)

Im paid $120 for my first SAFC tune and now i do them myself. But you still have to pay for the time on the dyno. For someone who has never done it before, he is just protecting his arsse. But really they are a peice of pisss to tune.