Dont know, but i have read in several places that the cams are bigger in the RB20DET-R. Just never been able to find out for sure/

Neither has anyone else as yet. However there is one guy with a GTS-R engine in bits on the R31club...but I don't know if he'd have the ability to measure them up. Username is snoopy.

However, I think its a very fair bet they are 248/7.8mm in, 240/7.8mm ex just like the regular NICS/ECCS redtop.

slowly but surely.

Looking good, only a few comments before you weld everything up. Try putting an extra cut down bend or three in the throttle body pipe so it goes around the oil filler cap. It took me a while to get it to work but i am glad i can now fill up oil without touching the top pipe.

Also, see if you can get a tight alloy cast elbow for off the compressor cover then perhaps it will work better being so close to the manifold (heat) . How do the silicon bends go being so close to a high source of heat. Maybe get some of the high temp wrap with the silver foil backign and wrap the silicon joiner.

But on the whole...looking A-Grade. Just thought i would comment based on some experiences i have had with my setup

Also, see if you can get a tight alloy cast elbow for off the compressor cover then perhaps it will work better being so close to the manifold (heat) . How do the silicon bends go being so close to a high source of heat. Maybe get some of the high temp wrap with the silver foil backign and wrap the silicon joiner.

I think Ash (R31Nismoid) can answer that. The result is flames.

hey roy cheers for the comments, we tried going around the oil cap but couldnt get it right so i just cut the top off the cap, everything is gona be heat wrapped scored 60m from work the other week, also got some off that sticky heat tape that holden use on their cars, is there anywhere in particular you can get the elbows from and would they need to be welded on? ive stil got a few days before it gets fully welded as the other guy is away. cheers

I know my elbow is a cast Greddy bend, which maybe a phone call to a Greddy dealer can helo source one.

It takes a bit of extra love but can go around the filler, but it does help to remove the PCV valve and maybe give the filler cap a tweak all the same. But as long as you can get the cap off.

462After_Engine_Pic.jpg

I am doing a few pipes for people over xmas, they are a pain in the ass and time consuming but worth the effort

adam, just looking in your sig. thats a decent set of numbers for a 20 care to share :blink: ?

no worries mate

internaly std rb20

trust td-06 20g 16c rear

tial 38m gate and screamer pipe

3 inch stainless intake pipe with K&N pod

3 inch front pipe

3.5inch cat back

decat pipe

600x300x76 cooler

blitz bov

grex-trust oil cooler kit

gtr radiator

nismo thermostat

nismo rad cap

nismo engine mounts

cusco oil catch can

nismo on rail adjustable fuel pressure reg

big intank fuel pump

R34 gtr rb26 injetors

EMS stinger ecu

profec b spec II boost contoler 20/25psi

has made 405hp @ 26psi about 6 months back, and most recently befor i pulled it apart it made 390hp @25psi and ran 119mph down the qtr

few new goodies have now gone on and a new turbo so im keen to see what it does now, its about 2 weeks away from a tune yet :)

Roy, is that the 10cm rear housing on your TD06?

It looks a bit larger than turboedsloth and my 8cm L2....

Good eye. That pic of the engine bay is about 3yrs old, and was back when i had the 10cm housing. LOL back in the days when it was too laggy to really enjoy

462Dyno5.jpg

no worries mate

internaly std rb20

trust td-06 20g 16c rear

tial 38m gate and screamer pipe

3 inch stainless intake pipe with K&N pod

3 inch front pipe

3.5inch cat back

decat pipe

600x300x76 cooler

blitz bov

grex-trust oil cooler kit

gtr radiator

nismo thermostat

nismo rad cap

nismo engine mounts

cusco oil catch can

nismo on rail adjustable fuel pressure reg

big intank fuel pump

R34 gtr rb26 injetors

EMS stinger ecu

profec b spec II boost contoler 20/25psi

has made 405hp @ 26psi about 6 months back, and most recently befor i pulled it apart it made 390hp @25psi and ran 119mph down the qtr

few new goodies have now gone on and a new turbo so im keen to see what it does now, its about 2 weeks away from a tune yet :D

thats brilliant i dont know what impresses me more the numbers or the 26psi on a standard 20, thanks heaps for the inspiration, very keen to hear the results of the new setup :)

I am doing a few pipes for people over xmas, they are a pain in the ass and time consuming but worth the effort

hey Troy if your doing a few of them for other people you can leave mine for the new year. Lets make it sometime mid Jan?

Re all the PMS i have been getting re the pipe. Its not hard to do, just time consuming. I am only doing this for the RB20 brotherhood guys down here in Vic :blink: ...and not getting any money or anything from them...hence the 20hours or so these two will take me is enough for the time being. But like i said, i will put up a tutorial so you can all do your own...probably end up better then my efforts :)

update: welded all the cooler piping up properly and manufactured an exhaust flange. exhaust should be done just after new years hopefully have to work next week solid.

I posted a while back I was taking the GTSR to the ndsoc heathcote drag day.

I did a warm up run off the trailer with the solenoid off to get all the driveline temps up and came straight back around to stage and switched it on.

Started to do a burnout and it started tramping badly and ripped the yoke and uni joint to pieces.

All fixed now. Re the GTSR cams, thankfully I havent needed to measure them yet as I still havent opened the engine up which still suprises me as its had a lot of hard work. Not from me driving it but from the dyno operator sorting issues lol. Its honestly done more WOT trips on the rollers than on tarmac.

Like people have said theres rumours they are larger but I reckon thats what they are...rumours. I have scoured the net high and low and the only times its mentioned about cams is from uninformed people. Never a nissan bulletin etc or whatever clearly stating they received larger cams. Besides the cosmetic differences the only concrete stuff they got is a front mount, stainless tubular manifold and a T3/T4 ( largest turbo fitted to any factory nissan). Dead stock were very underated as well as they make around 170rwkw but are rated at 215ps engine. All I have done is exhaust, ecu, fuel system and turn the boost up to record a best of over 280rwkw.

This peak power is at 6,000rpm though which makes me think cams are same as other redtops. It holds this peak power dead flat for another couple hundred rpm then dives off.

Tuner has tried using less timing and more boost and also less boost and more timing and the result is always the same, 6,000rpm and its all over.

It pegs target boost ( 21psi) at 4,000rpm but I think a lot of that is due to the manifold design and the fact my boost control is not that good as the gate is held 100%tight and then has a spike to about 26 before settling down. With a smooth and stable boost curve the taget would likely be reached later.

Interestingly, since I fitted a 25 box to the back of it I have not been able to repeat the 280rwkw number on the same dyno. Its only making 260rwkw now? Does a 25 box suck 20rwkw over a 20 box? You wouldnt think so but I cant repeat the number that had been repeated many times with the 20 box...food for thought.

I have a worthy RB20 to add to the list, but i would be cheating some, my donor chassis is a 2520lbs 240sx (2700 w/me in it) hehehehe, managed a 11.07 at 128.8mph, 1.521 '60 at low boost (22psi), and from experience, I'm well over 300kw at the rear wheels

the 11.07 run, 1.521 '60: http://videos.streetfire.net/video/19672bf...99e00b51eab.htm

an earlier run 11.48 at 114mph, 1.524 '60 : http://videos.streetfire.net/video/a8b026e...98e0175d428.htm

running slicks of course, 26 X 8.5 X R15

I'll be crancking the boost some this summer with a few more mods, looking to be in the deep 10's, how low i'm curious

Sylvain

post-45733-1198375929_thumb.jpg