Melbourne? Whats with the EPA and the Police - discuss here

Starionturbo

It's really becoming a big pain in the ass. Everyday when i come into this forum, there are poor dudes who get defected or fined just because they were driving an import on Ps, when they did nothing wrong.

Something MUST be done against these Mafia Cops. Don't get me wrong, I know there are good cops out there who are reasonable & fair, but there is a big number of Arsehole Cops who are ruining the image of the Victorian Police Force with their fu**ked up attitude & Nazi like behaviour.

Walk into any police station, you will see the Police Motto, stating the police values about impartial to all, protecting the people etc etc. BULLSHIT! If the cops were fair, why the hell are they targeting the imports?

Ok, so the law says u cannot have this or that under your bonnet, but so many other laws in other aspects of life are being broken, & the cops don't give a shit. Instead of spending more time & efftort in busting Drug Lords & Underworld figures etc, they are more contented with catching & defecting import cars. That's probably because this is considered a fund raising campaign.

I would suggest that all the forums get together on this issue, & do some protest or something. If we can get big numbers behind this, we can show these Hitler Cops we mean business.

• Replies 61

Well i have a date with the EPA.... this is after a cop sent me in for a full roadworth and fine for driving an unroadowrthy car. My car passed the roadworthy without a problem so i had to pay over $200 in fines and radworthy inspections because a cop 'thought' my car needed it.

Since then i have to go to the EPA for a full inspection emissions and noise test. I took the liberty of getting my exhaust tested before i went just to be on the safe side, and guess what, it passed!!!! This whole series of events was caused by one cop that had a grudge on his shoulder because i drive an import.... i will lose a days work and there is nothing i can do about it...

I was not driving like an idiot i was very polite and respectful and my mods which were illegal was a pod filter and a bleed valve. These itms have since ben removed and passed at vic roads. i accept that these 2 items were an illegal modification but the extent of punishment and inconvenience i have been put through is rediculous e.g "major defect, and a $170 fine" is excessive and i am sure that there are hundreds of others out there that will be going throuh the same crap..

How strict are the EPA... my only mods are an exhaust and a front mount on an r33 gtst... should i pass?

You know i used to think the cops were just doing their jobs and that alot of ppl were whinging for no reason, that they(importdrivers) in fact had done something majorly wrong, eg speeding. I drove my 34 around for over a year and a half, no problems with the cops, just the random pull overs which I reserve as them doing their jobs.

Soon after all the skyline accidents(imports) started filling our local news thats when the crap hit the fan for me anyways. I had previously got a fine for "not having full control of the vechile", fair enough I was doing a u-turn in the wet over tram lines and i spun the wheels. My fault i excepted and paid the penalty.

However a little while back, just b4 the new years i was in a Shell servo filling up, a cop pulls up behind me and tells me to pop the bonnet. Now that pissed me off, i was thinking to myself what did u do to warrant this sort of attention from the police. Mean while there are plenty of ppl that were speeding right in front of our eyes out on the main road. Does he pull them over or does he pull into a petrol kiosk and dick an import thats refuelling?

Nick

Nick:

I agree 100%, i have had my skyline for about 2 years now and only ever had trouble recently... with all the media hype.

I to had random pull overs with just a small chat to the cops and that was it.... my last speeding fine was 5 years ago and was my only one... i thought this alone would show the cops i am a responsible driver..

I have found that the police are only interested in seeing how are they can bend u over these days...

Many of you guys have mentioned how all import car drivers should take a stand. Has anyone considered doing something on the Tsunami fundraising cruise. I hear that it will be televised. Not only can we contribute to helping the Tsunami victims but we can also show that we are not criminals and do not deserve to be hunted like rabbits.

In addition, we all think that the cops are the bastards here. In some cases from what I've read above, they are. The problem is that regardless of the fact that we may be responsible drivers there are quite a lot of import owners (namely from poorer suburbs) that dont really think before they act. In effect its those people that give us a bad name. That is what the Police fail to understand and choose to simply generalise. THERE IS SUCH THING AS A RESPONSIBLE IMPORT DRIVER!!! WHY CAN'T YOU COPS UNDERSTAND THIS?!

If many of those irresponsible import drivers left racing for the track MAYBE the police wouldnt treat the rest of us like absolute crap.

Someone I know, lets call him Mr X had a discussion recently with the EPA about this whole situation, and Mr X was told by the EPA that the police and the EPA are targetting imports, and their collective goal is to RID Victoria of ALL imports, so watch out boys, they are after blood now, and they will get it....maybe we should all get shitboxes for the moment and leave our cars in the garage for a while.........

if your car passes all the tests, epa and rwc etc. And it cost you money, couldnt you try push this bill onto the copper who forced you to waste your money? Loosing 200 bucks for absolutly no reason at all other than a suspiscion is ridiculous and shouldnt be footed by the innocent

Get rid of all imports? WTF? This isnt ****ing Nazi Germany dammit! Those bastards wont rest untill each and every one of us is driving a piece of shit overpriced V8 Holden or Ford. I bet you wouldnt get a canary if you were driving a bloody Falcon Turbo with BOV, Pod Filter and 3 inch catback....There's real crime out there you know.

I truly think you should all just don blonde wigs..

This afternoon, a cop car came out of a side street at a bad moment and I came a tad close to swiping his front bar as I flew past him in the r32... and he didn't take off after me.. I wasn't speeding but from his perspective I would have seemed a bit reckless.. however some arsehole decided to hit the brakes and turn right at the last moment so I was merely trying to avoid rearending him by driving in the bike lane a tad too fast...

I wouldn't have been surprised if they had chased me up the street but they didn't.. just goes to show they aren't ALL out to shaft you.. or at least not us blonde chicks!

Someone I know, lets call him Mr X had a discussion recently with the EPA about this whole situation, and Mr X was told by the EPA that the police and the EPA are targetting imports, and their collective goal is to RID Victoria of ALL imports, so watch out boys, they are after blood now, and they will get it....maybe we should all get shitboxes for the moment and leave our cars in the garage for a while.........

or MAYBE you can tell em to get stuffed :D

Get rid of all imports?  WTF?  This isnt ****ing Nazi Germany dammit!  

You got the Nazi part right, but this is the Peoples Republik and Socialist Empire of Viktoria. (the Nazi's were Socialists BTW)

How can this government expect to get away with these crimes? Simple, they disarmed us the same way Hitler disarmed the Jews. The Jews couldn't fight back when Hitler's army rounded them up into camps and killed them. Our government isn't likely to kill us, but whats to stop them from rounding up all import cars?

Call me old-fashioned, but we need to take direct action against this abusive government soon, it is our right to. Once our rights are gone, it may take a bloody war to get them back, all of them.

I don't think there is any other way to win this war that they have declared on us.

You got the Nazi part right, but this is the Peoples Republik and Socialist Empire of Viktoria. (the Nazi's were Socialists BTW)

How can this government expect to get away with these crimes? Simple, they disarmed us the same way Hitler disarmed the Jews. The Jews couldn't fight back when Hitler's army rounded them up into camps and killed them. Our government isn't likely to kill us, but whats to stop them from rounding up all import cars?

Call me old-fashioned, but we need to take direct action against this abusive government soon, it is our right to. Once our rights are gone, it may take a bloody war to get them back, all of them.

I don't think there is any other way to win this war that they have declared on us.

spot on dude, as I said earlier

The only real, and sensible course of action is to protest, to write petitions to the government, and let the f*cking douchebags know that when the election rolls around that they wont get our votes, thats right, we are all over 18 and we should use our democratic rights liberally.

Additionally, we need to start a lobby group for drivers of performance cars, so we can have some political muscle and so the politicians take us seriously, thats what we need to do

My 2 cents :soap:

It's true, we do need to take action. Someone needs to take the initiative to lead us because we're not really doing much now. I'd like to do something but I'm kind of busy most of the time. BTW, today I was waiting at the lights at the end of a line of cars and some hero in a Ford XR8 ute decided to drive about 30 meters up on the wrong side of the road just to turn right. By the time his ute made it to the intersection the arrow turned red. Yep, its the import drivers aint it?

i just want to remind every1 [including any cops reading this] that we're only angry at the type of cops who actually DO purposely target import vehicles in determination to wipe them out from the face of victoria. dont generalise that ALL cops have it in for us (most people are making it sound that way); ive driven past heaps of cops during the past month of owning my liner and i still havent been hassled yet. one day i probably will, and then, i will only hate that particular officer.

just goes to show they aren't ALL out to shaft you..

maybe every1 should write down the names of the "bad" cops in the members forum (or has this already been done?), it could come in handy just by seeing if its always the same cop/s out getting us skyline owners, we already know of one....

I agree with 33Hesh- a political pressure group, the only problem is to be effective they need a strong voice, strong membership and the key element- strong funds

hellrazorette- I wish I had a great big sexy blonde main... but then again I don't think the bacon is overly interested in young men... unless they are in a 'line

83_R30_Hatch- Sorry, but constitutionally, we have no rights! For that you can thank our political forefathers and anyone born before 1969

yay for good cops... but it seems they are one in a million... and Vics pop of about 4.5 million means that there is about 4 or 5 :P

But yiu know it is ... Victoria - We say jump, you say how f****n high