• Replies 78

Buy an Australia supplied Skyline R31 I think, drive that a round for a few years insurance should be cheap and so should the car.

When you've got a job and saved all your hard earned cash you can either sell it and buy what ever or do a RB25det conversion.

At least this way if you bin the car it's relatively easy to get parts, you start clocking up insurance history, your gaining driving experience and your driving a Nissan.

Nothing stopping putting a sport zhast, pod, headers etc etc but it's a hell of a lot cheaper than getting a turbo'd car.

What's the point of having a car you can't or might not be able to afford to drive?

Good Luck

Yeah my brother said to grab an r31 as well, my mum has one but its auto.

i dont really like them to much though, im still waiting to see if any of you know weather or not a non-turbo s13 would be in my price range, and since its non-turbo it will be easier for me to transfer and run, etc..

Yup will do :)

Btw, can you guys tell me what a CANNON is ?, i saw a silvia advertised for just a little over my budget, and it said cannon in the description, i didnt bother with it because i thought it was bran of turbo or something?

Also, is there an 180sx non-turbo's ? if i can bump my budget up i wouldent mind a 180, my sister used to own one.

edit : i saw this 180 advertised for 8k, it had a airpod and a bunch of other stuff i didnt know what the hell it was, had sexy rims and everything, and it was only 8k, so wouldent a 180 minus all these mods be back down to my price range ?

heres a pick of the 180 i seen

http://www.nissansilvia.com/forums/uploads...-1104904727.jpg

it from another forum i cant even remmember what the forum was called, gotta find it again cause it had some good stuff on it.

forget the non turbo S13..

get a corolla or honda.. something u wont have to worry abt parking anywhere and insurance will be cheap etc etc

when u finish studying, get a job and earn decent money then look for an R34 GTR which would be affordable by then :)

Also, is there an 180sx non-turbo's ? if i can bump my budget up i wouldent mind a 180, my sister used to own one.

edit : i saw this 180 advertised for 8k, it had a airpod and a bunch of other stuff i didnt know what the hell it was, had sexy rims and everything, and it was only 8k, so wouldent a 180 minus all these mods be back down to my price range ?  

:kick: is what you need!!! Dude, nearly every 180sx in Perth would be a turbo. Get a JOB DUDE!!! If the only cash your getting is from Centrelink, $1000 bunky would be the best bet. If you have heaps of questions on silvias www.silviawa.com might be better than SAU.

My 2cents (again). :kick: (just for good measure)

lol imho you shouldn't even think about silvia's/imported cars as the cost of running + cost of purchase is too great for you atm without a steady income.

Like everyone said, getting a bunky would be your best bet.

Do remember, the more patient you can be, the better car you will have in the future :P

hmm ok well what do you guys think, take the money of my mum ( its not a load from the bank or anything, we have other means of gettin the money ) and get my self a cheapo car. or wait till i start working and save for the s13 ?

cheapo car for school.. nice car when u actually earn your own cash

/thread

Hey tj dont give shit to stormy he has complete cognisance of every synapse in his cerebral cortex.

Ahem, anyhow

As 33spec mentioned any s13 turbo that ure gonna get for under 7k is going to be completely dead and you going to end up getting yourself in more debt than u can poke a stick at. Some fool will no doubt tell u that fixing it will be cheap and that engines fall from trees, not true at all, it will be off the road for ages and you will still be wating for the bus anyway but all your money will be poured into a car that you overextended to buy let alone fix.

I know your young and all and thats cool we were all like that once. However if you went out and got an s13 and by some grace of god it didnt fall apart on you then the probabiltiy of you having an accident is astronomical, im not saying ure stupid or u cant drive. The mere fact of the matter is that young ppl have stuff in their blood/brains that makes em do stupid stuff from time to time and silvias and 180s tend to bring this quality out in most people anyway, it just happens.

Then of course your excess for any bingle is going to be huge (3-5k) and thats going to kill your budget real bad.

My bro got an 85 corrola that i bought for him in 1999 and its still running, sure he doesnt give a damn about his car and doesnt care what he drives, the point is that it costs him nothing is cheap to insure and register and u just cant crash the thing cause its got no power to play with.

You will be working for the rest of you life, have a bit of fun now and think about buying a real car that you can treat right and only spend your "spare" money on, after your about 21 when insurance will be resonable.

Well thats my 2c :rofl:

ive been on these forums a while now and ive seen ppl like this come and go, most of em last 1 year and sell due to not being able to afford renewal etc etc. then they spend 5 years paying off the loans/credit card debt.

No offense intended stormy

Oh and if you borrow money off you mum it will forever hang over your head. She could be the best mum in the world but it will always be there in the back of your mind when you want to go against her wishes etc etc.

Oh and in my opinion the s13 NA is a retarded piece of crap, so under powered may as well get a vw beetle and put a 911 shell on it. Might as well get a pulsar SSS same engine and all but will still cost you 7-8k for a decent 1.

No offence taken dude, like i said before im happy with everyones responce.

Thanks for your comments ive taken most of what everyone here has said into consideration, so when i go car hunting ( wich should be soon ) i will stay well away from anything turbo charged.

i might look for a q series s13 instead ( non turbo ), i might even be able to bump my budget up a little since i started gettin payed again just recently.

if i dont get the car i want i am willing to settle for the cheapo car untill i can save. i just hope by the time i have enough money the import laws dont kick in :rofl:

once again thanks to all for there help, its been really good. im glad i didnt just go out and buy the s13 turbo at the start.

Get a bunky a ke70 corrolla is still rwd and based on teh ae86 chassis very stable very fun to drive.

According to the bible (initial D) this is the kind of card that "teaches you to drive" good feedback through the steering wheel so u can tell where the wheels are and what they are doing and its basic as. It will give you a over "feel" for the car on the road and that does take a few years to fully comprehend to the point where it is second nature and the car feels like an extension of the body. My favourtie saying for some of the more idiot drives is "i dont control the car the car controls me!!!!" hence they are kind of riding the car around as opposed to controling it.

Or even the 1979 corrolla was gold, dont get an old maza, 626 especially, they suck the big one. Or the mitsubishi colt, they ruled. I had a c210 skyline for my first car, it was ok but didnt last me long.

Get a bunky a ke70 corrolla is still rwd and based on teh ae86 chassis very stable very fun to drive.  

:werd:

Exact first car that I had! Lasted me for years, drove it across the Nullubor, and used to give it quite a thrashing some days, never one issue with the engine or any other parts in the car. Would rev out to around 5k quite well also, only cost me $500 out of the quakka to. :headspin:

Aren't Q series S13's considered imports anyway? If you want the power of an SR20 and don't mind the car being a FWD go and buy yourself a Nissan NX or something. That way you can have a relatively fast car, more reliable, cheaper to buy and insure and still be able to save money on tyres as well.

Otherwise if those are still out of the price range listen to the wise words of the lots of people here who have voiced there opinons that have avoided or made the mistakes of misunderstanding the HUGE amount of money that is needed to run an import and that the money could be better spent elsewhere. Go with the bunky and then buy a better car when your better setup.

can you tell me the full name and year for the ke70 corolla, and and estimate how much its going to set me back, i think you guys already mentioned it but i forgot.

also, the q series may be considered an import, but im not going to import it. Like i said in the other posts im just going to find a car thats already here in australia.

i cant afford to import at the moment, and i also dont want to be waiting 2 months or something for it to arrive :)

its still classed as an import, so insurance companies will hit you hard and at your current income level... financial security... dont even think about a car like this, let alone an old 88 silvia j's ~5.5k etc..

let it be. bunky now, r34gtr later :(

--

Toyota Corolla 1.3L KE70 1981-1984 SE/CS/XX/S/CSX (i recall)

i dun want an r34 gtr i want an r32 gtr :(

and btw, any news on that import law, 2 months and we wont be able to import??

can you guys tell me if a toyota sprinter would be more around my budget?? someone reccomended i get a sprinter with a age4 motor, ive only seen one of thsoe and it cost 13,000$ :S

EDIT :

is that

Toyota Corolla 1.3L KE70 1981-1984 SE/CS/XX/S/CSX (i recall)

the same as the sprinter??

dude..

my nephew drives an AE86.. the market for them is overpriced so anything with the words 4AGE and AE86 in them would cost double what they would be before Takumi and his mates came about..

but the Aus spec ones are still affordable.. 2-3k but bear in mind that they are 20 yrs old so some might need a bit of work i suppose