Hi everyone! Thought I'd start my first thread here in the QLD section, hehehe. As the title says I'm "Moving to Cairns" Sold my house here in VIC and I've decided to start afresh! Here's some of my reasons - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/sh...ead.php?t=63153

Anyway, I'd like to introduce myself - HELLO :wavey: and would love to know who's up there in the far North. I've chatted to a couple of you guys here, like Cam and Danny. Looking forward to some nice cruises through the mountains!!!

Got a couple of questions too, if anyone can help? What do I have to do to register my 'line up there? Do I have to get a roadworthy before registration and whats the process? Does anyone know someone that can do this for me and are they very strict? What are the workshops like up there? Are they knowledgable with imports? Any feedback would be grouse guys... Thanks and hope to meet some of you soon! :(

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/

Not sure if they have cars any further north than the sunshine coast. Past that point all it says on the map is "Here be dragons"

To rego a car in QLD from unregistered:

(1) Buy car

(2) Goto insurance company (ie: suncorp) and get 3rd party

(3) Drive car unregistered but with 3rd party receipt and details on hand to the RWC place (valid for the day you bought 3rd party only)

(4) Get Road Worthy Certificate (50'ish bucks)

(5) Take 3rd party + RWC + Proof of ownership to Qld Transport

(6) Have lunch while waiting for the stupidly large queues of ethnics who cant speak english to be served

(7) Handover RWC + 3rd Party + Proof of ownership. Person no longer comes out to check VIN, as of very recently (read: last 3 months or so?) so no problems about having a shitter that barely passed RWC, eg: like a skyline.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202316

Not sure if they have cars any further north than the sunshine coast. Past that point all it says on the map is "Here be dragons"

LOL! So I'll be the first person there with a car... sweet!

hmmm, I guess to change my rego from VIC to QLD I still have to go through the RWC crap???

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202799

heaps of skyline and imports in cairns no dragons heaps, of babes.enjoy.

Oh good, so when I take my car into Bob's Backyard Auto Repairs he won't look at my car and say "Whoa, I haven't seen one of those Maxima's before!"

mmm... babes... I like... lucky I don't have a missus at the moment!!! :aroused:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202803

Hi Lukas - Why did you choose Cairns (not that there is anything wrong with that) . I am selling my place in Sydney and will most likely be moving to the Sunshine Coast. Cairns was second on my list, but I got disuaded by the Crocs on the beach and being that much mor further North.

Just interested in your reasoning - I like cairns cause it has a bigger population / workforce than the Sunny coast - and not as many retirees (I think).

I also have a mate up there that has just started a lollie shop and is doing really well.

Anyway - good luck with the move and hope it all goes well for you .

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1203435

Welcome to Cairns, Car scene is similar to down south now days, Skylines are breading like rabbits up here now.

Thanks BBQ, hope to see you up there!

Cairns is getting a bit like townsville.....R33's everywhere !!!

Welcome to the north Lukas !!!!

I'll wave as you go through townsville !!! hehe

Cheers Packy! :wavey:

Just interested in your reasoning - I like cairns cause it has a bigger population / workforce than the Sunny coast - and not as many retirees (I think).  

I also have a mate up there that has just started a lollie shop and is doing really well.

Anyway - good luck with the move and hope it all goes well for you .

Thanks B-Man, lots of reasons for heading North - Sold my house here in VIC and I've decided to start afresh! Here's some of my reasons - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/fo...ead.php?t=63153

download mIRC  

and come visit #cairnscentral  

/server irc.ascends.net:6667  

local peers here

Will check it out! :)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1204575

So guys/girls, as far as I am aware to transfer my registration from VIC to QLD, I need a road worthy check/certificate before I goto QLD Transport.

Can anyone confirm this? and if so, does anyone know someone in or around Cairns to do the RWC? Address, name, phone numbers would be cool.

Thanks! :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1211987

Lukas: Yeah all you need is a roadworthy cert, money for rego. Take them and ya old plates into qld transport. And get ya new plates. Ya might wanna write a letter to vic transport to say you have handed in ya plates and want a refund on rego you haven't used.

Roadworthy cert costs about $50.20, most workshops can do it for ya. Just drive around looking for one with a few good cars in it. The roadworthy cert. only lasts for 2 weeks i think, or is it that if you fail, you have to get it fixed within 2 weeks.

Which reminds me i gotta swap my wa rego to qld as well.

Hope this helps ya out a bit

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1212776

Wellcome to Cairns

Your car will need to be ozzie certified which it should have been when it was imported, approval sticker somewhere in the engine bay then you will have to take it to a RWC approved workshop for the roadworthy then insurance, rego. Keep using your current rego as it is until it runs out as there are plenty of cars here with out of state rego and then get QLD rego, but if you ever get pulled over by the police tell them you are just visiting as you are supposed to change over your rego within 2 months of moving into the state same as your licence, that will give you some extra time incase you have to do any repairs to get it to pass.

As for a import friendly workshop maybe some others here are more informative as I have been out of touch for awhile but there are places here that are anti import (backwards types) and will tell you that you can't buy parts for them etc etc.

I am a new import owner but a lot of blokes up here are very friendly with good advice, will probably see you around sometime. :rolleyes::)

Gary

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1219491