Lukas Posted February 9, 2005 Share Posted February 9, 2005 Hi everyone! Thought I'd start my first thread here in the QLD section, hehehe. As the title says I'm "Moving to Cairns" Sold my house here in VIC and I've decided to start afresh! Here's some of my reasons - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/sh...ead.php?t=63153 Anyway, I'd like to introduce myself - HELLO :wavey: and would love to know who's up there in the far North. I've chatted to a couple of you guys here, like Cam and Danny. Looking forward to some nice cruises through the mountains!!! Got a couple of questions too, if anyone can help? What do I have to do to register my 'line up there? Do I have to get a roadworthy before registration and whats the process? Does anyone know someone that can do this for me and are they very strict? What are the workshops like up there? Are they knowledgable with imports? Any feedback would be grouse guys... Thanks and hope to meet some of you soon! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
strutto Posted February 9, 2005 Share Posted February 9, 2005 Welcome mate... Enjoy your stay... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202018 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukas Posted February 9, 2005 Author Share Posted February 9, 2005 Welcome mate... Enjoy your stay... HAHAHA... yeah thanks mate, looks like the Skyline scene is fu cking huge in the Far North hey?! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202091 Share on other sites More sharing options...
krawler Posted February 9, 2005 Share Posted February 9, 2005 Not sure if they have cars any further north than the sunshine coast. Past that point all it says on the map is "Here be dragons" To rego a car in QLD from unregistered: (1) Buy car (2) Goto insurance company (ie: suncorp) and get 3rd party (3) Drive car unregistered but with 3rd party receipt and details on hand to the RWC place (valid for the day you bought 3rd party only) (4) Get Road Worthy Certificate (50'ish bucks) (5) Take 3rd party + RWC + Proof of ownership to Qld Transport (6) Have lunch while waiting for the stupidly large queues of ethnics who cant speak english to be served (7) Handover RWC + 3rd Party + Proof of ownership. Person no longer comes out to check VIN, as of very recently (read: last 3 months or so?) so no problems about having a shitter that barely passed RWC, eg: like a skyline. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202316 Share on other sites More sharing options...
kid Posted February 9, 2005 Share Posted February 9, 2005 heaps of skyline and imports in cairns no dragons heaps, of babes.enjoy. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202412 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukas Posted February 9, 2005 Author Share Posted February 9, 2005 Not sure if they have cars any further north than the sunshine coast. Past that point all it says on the map is "Here be dragons" LOL! So I'll be the first person there with a car... sweet! hmmm, I guess to change my rego from VIC to QLD I still have to go through the RWC crap??? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202799 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukas Posted February 9, 2005 Author Share Posted February 9, 2005 heaps of skyline and imports in cairns no dragons heaps, of babes.enjoy. Oh good, so when I take my car into Bob's Backyard Auto Repairs he won't look at my car and say "Whoa, I haven't seen one of those Maxima's before!" mmm... babes... I like... lucky I don't have a missus at the moment!!! :aroused: Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1202803 Share on other sites More sharing options...
55Nat Posted February 10, 2005 Share Posted February 10, 2005 Hi Lukas welcome to cairns, The babes love skylines up hear so you won't have any probs.When do you arrive in cairns? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1203325 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukas Posted February 10, 2005 Author Share Posted February 10, 2005 Hi Lukas welcome to cairns, The babes love skylines up hear so you won't have any probs.When do you arrive in cairns? Thanks mate, sounds good! I should be arriving around the last week of March. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1203339 Share on other sites More sharing options...
BBQ Posted February 10, 2005 Share Posted February 10, 2005 Welcome to Cairns, Car scene is similar to down south now days, Skylines are breading like rabbits up here now. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1203411 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Packy Posted February 10, 2005 Share Posted February 10, 2005 Cairns is getting a bit like townsville.....R33's everywhere !!! Welcome to the north Lukas !!!! I'll wave as you go through townsville !!! hehe Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1203422 Share on other sites More sharing options...
B-Man Posted February 10, 2005 Share Posted February 10, 2005 Hi Lukas - Why did you choose Cairns (not that there is anything wrong with that) . I am selling my place in Sydney and will most likely be moving to the Sunshine Coast. Cairns was second on my list, but I got disuaded by the Crocs on the beach and being that much mor further North. Just interested in your reasoning - I like cairns cause it has a bigger population / workforce than the Sunny coast - and not as many retirees (I think). I also have a mate up there that has just started a lollie shop and is doing really well. Anyway - good luck with the move and hope it all goes well for you . Cheers, Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1203435 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sicka Posted February 10, 2005 Share Posted February 10, 2005 download mIRC and come visit #cairnscentral /server irc.ascends.net:6667 local peers here Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1204141 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukas Posted February 10, 2005 Author Share Posted February 10, 2005 Welcome to Cairns, Car scene is similar to down south now days, Skylines are breading like rabbits up here now. Thanks BBQ, hope to see you up there! Cairns is getting a bit like townsville.....R33's everywhere !!!Welcome to the north Lukas !!!! I'll wave as you go through townsville !!! hehe Cheers Packy! :wavey: Just interested in your reasoning - I like cairns cause it has a bigger population / workforce than the Sunny coast - and not as many retirees (I think). I also have a mate up there that has just started a lollie shop and is doing really well. Anyway - good luck with the move and hope it all goes well for you . Cheers, Thanks B-Man, lots of reasons for heading North - Sold my house here in VIC and I've decided to start afresh! Here's some of my reasons - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/fo...ead.php?t=63153 download mIRC and come visit #cairnscentral /server irc.ascends.net:6667 local peers here Will check it out! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1204575 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukas Posted February 15, 2005 Author Share Posted February 15, 2005 So guys/girls, as far as I am aware to transfer my registration from VIC to QLD, I need a road worthy check/certificate before I goto QLD Transport. Can anyone confirm this? and if so, does anyone know someone in or around Cairns to do the RWC? Address, name, phone numbers would be cool. Thanks! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1211987 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Packy Posted February 16, 2005 Share Posted February 16, 2005 Lukas: Yeah all you need is a roadworthy cert, money for rego. Take them and ya old plates into qld transport. And get ya new plates. Ya might wanna write a letter to vic transport to say you have handed in ya plates and want a refund on rego you haven't used. Roadworthy cert costs about $50.20, most workshops can do it for ya. Just drive around looking for one with a few good cars in it. The roadworthy cert. only lasts for 2 weeks i think, or is it that if you fail, you have to get it fixed within 2 weeks. Which reminds me i gotta swap my wa rego to qld as well. Hope this helps ya out a bit Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1212776 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukas Posted February 19, 2005 Author Share Posted February 19, 2005 Cool... thanks Packy... just the same as here. *Note to myself : hand VIC plates in and get refund on remaing rego* Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1217977 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flemming Posted February 19, 2005 Share Posted February 19, 2005 Unless you just renewed your VIC rego, I would just stay on that until it runs out, you only get a small refund from remaining rego, not in proportion to what you really should get, at least that was the case when I brought a couple of cars up here from Sydney. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1218017 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary2 Posted February 20, 2005 Share Posted February 20, 2005 Wellcome to Cairns Your car will need to be ozzie certified which it should have been when it was imported, approval sticker somewhere in the engine bay then you will have to take it to a RWC approved workshop for the roadworthy then insurance, rego. Keep using your current rego as it is until it runs out as there are plenty of cars here with out of state rego and then get QLD rego, but if you ever get pulled over by the police tell them you are just visiting as you are supposed to change over your rego within 2 months of moving into the state same as your licence, that will give you some extra time incase you have to do any repairs to get it to pass. As for a import friendly workshop maybe some others here are more informative as I have been out of touch for awhile but there are places here that are anti import (backwards types) and will tell you that you can't buy parts for them etc etc. I am a new import owner but a lot of blokes up here are very friendly with good advice, will probably see you around sometime. Gary Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1219491 Share on other sites More sharing options...
kid Posted February 20, 2005 Share Posted February 20, 2005 for a (rwc) in just pull over one of the cars that has a prospool sticker (skyline,silvia) and ask for a bloke called stick thay will help.. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/63994-moving-to-cairns/#findComment-1219765 Share on other sites More sharing options...