• Replies 81

Cost of removing the block and putting it back in is around $2k to $2.5k of the total cost.

Richard,

I would definitely be handing over the engine to the experts for the actual rebuild - but would be tempted to have a go at pulling it out and replacing it myself if I was in your situation.

If you check out the GTR engine manual it's a pretty straight forward process, apart from the usual hand tools you only really need a bit of shed space, an engine hoist (cheap to hire, or better still borrow one) and a jack for the transmission. Always a good idea to take some pics as you go, and bag and tag everything so there's no dramas putting it back together.

Much better to be spending the $2.5k you would save on some better go fast bits than be paying some mechanic's first year apprentice to do exactly the same thing IMHO. Who knows, you might find that you could save even more by pulling off all the ancillaries and just sending the bare block and head in for the rebuild.

Pretty sure you could find a few of us willing to lend a hand if you needed it.

Anyways, just a thought............ :D

JD Thanks. What you say is absolutely true.

Ideally the help of some knowledgable people because I have concerns of using my car as a prolonged learning experience. I'm keen to get in and get dirty, as usual. So me plus a few able body volunteers please (3-4 I reckon).

Volunteers are sought for the following.

Hoist

Tools

Experience

Brains

Muscle

Pallet (Put Motor On) and Transport

I have a double Garage but would be concerned with staining the concrete (Rental). Then again I could find a way to overcome this (Tarp, Sand etc)

Once I get this sorted I'll organise a date (weekend) and the food/beverages.

Well if you need an extra set of hands i am happy to help out. i am probably like you richard but with even less knowledge so i guess i can be the muscles :headspin: personally i reckon you should just get some old sheets and chuck em down on the ground they work fine at absorbing stuff plus they dont rip likea tarp might

Ideally the help of some knowledgable people because I have concerns of using my car as a prolonged learning experience. I'm keen to get in and get dirty, as usual. So me plus a few able body volunteers please (3-4 I reckon).

Hoist

Tools

Experience

Brains

Muscle

I have a double Garage but would be concerned with staining the concrete (Rental). Then again I could find a way to overcome this (Tarp, Sand etc)

have tools, sockets and ring spanners (good ones too not super cheap specials)

some experiance (minis need rebuilds too) can come up with good answers for wierd questions.

Not much of a good worker but. Much better at looking and working out problems then bossing other ppl to do it. Not always the right way either. lol. j/k

Ute for transport.

Hoist

Tools

Experience

Brains

Muscle

Use that plastic bonnet, tear it off, slide it under the car motor and then you have a top oil catch drip tray.

You was always gunna get a proper bonnet anyway mate.

PS If you'd owned Triumphs you'd be a real spanner man by now and able to tackle anything.

As I PMed Richard:

Triumph, turning ordinary men into great mechanics since 1902.

Basically you buy anything thats 30 years old and owned by 10 different ppl [some of whom knew little and others who thought they knew everything about Triumphs], it's gunna need a full rebuild and check up from the ground up.

The new[after 1992] Triumphs are like all modern machinery, boringly reliable.

Im there if you need a hand Rich....

Done 2yrs apprentice mech at an Engine Reco garage...

Pulled a few engines out in my days...

can also just stand there for the looks... :(

Im sure i can chuck in a few good tips..

Let us know...

See, how easy was that? You could almost sell tickets......might need a bigger venue even :wassup:

And all those times the missus' said we wos wasting our time on web forums, pffffft.

Now with all that experience on hand, when you have that engine pulled out and swinging in the breeze it wouldn't be too hard to just lovingly loosen them there sump bolts, carefully caress the main bearing cap fastenings, and take a peak at the damage (it is the bottom end, right?)

Who knows, you might end up with a much smaller job (and bill) than you initially thought :)

Richard, if you need an engine hoist, creeper etc.. give me a yell. It's a shame to see such a nice car broken. BTW, i'm not trying to drum myself up work, just sorry to hear what happened. You may be able to just remove the crank and regrind/replace it if the conrod isn't damaged. It would be worth checking out the oil pump while it's off too.