I'm looking at a white '87 aussie Silhouette.

The guy that currently owns the car doesn't realise the car's potential and has been running it on regular ULP so it feels like something is holding it back (knock sensor?)

He bought the car 4 years ago and hasn't done a thing to it except for routine maintenance.

All mods are 7 years old and engineered and include

R33 RB25 DET and 5 speed

Front mounted Supra intercooler

HR31 struts and brakes

Koni strut inserts and shocks

2.5" exhaust

Things I've noticed that need attention

Factory tacho was never made to work with new motor.

Oil pressure gauge very erratic (reads high and flickers)

No boost gauge

The main plug to the TPS isn't hooked up but the one on the wire is.

Apart from this the car is very tidy for it's age but shows the usual r31 wear and tear on the interior.

It drives very well and I'm sure it would pull harder with some Ultimate in the tank.

What would it be worth and should I buy it?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/65194-r31-rb25det-sleeper-should-i-buy/

The oil pressure guage is a very common problem with the aussie R31, actually the whole instrument cluster can do weird things.

Good info here

http://darkhalf.r31skylineclub.com/guages/index.html

or r31skylineclub.com

Also.. i saw a R31 2 door coupe on jspec importers website last week. it had RB25 as well and looked sweet. Price was estimated between 7 - 11grand.

I'd buy an Sr20det silvia instead for $14.5k..

Nah you should buy my R31 for 14 :)

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/sh...ead.php?t=67397

faster,
No way :)
better at stopping
Maybe...just :)
, better around corners,
Possibly :)
looks better..
Never :)
do u mean this one?

http://www.autotrader.com.au/photodisplay....r=N15503438_31C

or this one?

http://www.autotrader.com.au/photodisplay....r=Y15504211_31H

(i know which one id be looking at, and its a long drive away :D

The 2nd one is a coupe.. so it's much more likely to be the 1st link.

Looks like a good clean car, with a nice motor in it. :headspin:

I reckon it sounds ok

but running it on regular unleaded could be a problem.

Since it's already got import struts you can stuff R32/33/34 brakes onto it

it can be made to handle well for what it is, but the live axle rear end is always going to hold it back.

If you want something that's going to take any corner at a stupid speed and stop on a 5c piece then you're going to be dissapointed.

If you want something that's a little different and something that's going to be a nice street car (not track car) then I reckon it would be fine.

My own Silhouette is having an RB25 conversion being done to it right now, so I'm a little biased :wassup:

If you're buying it from interstate then you're going to have make the whole instrument cluster work if you want it to pass rego, so that tacho is going to have to be fixed (Speedo as well?)

I hope it has an RB25 gear box to go with the RB25 engine.....

It almost sounds like a scrappy conversion, no working tacho, funny wiring

I find it funny that it's been engineered without a working tacho and no boost gague

If you think it's performance is a little funny, especially for a series 2(3?) RB25DET, then you should get it checked out by someone that knows heaps about it

a 3' exhaust will certainly give it a bit more shove

I dunno that's just my thoughts, sorry to ramble :D

here's another r31, but perhaps slightly more obvious than a typical sleeper

http://www.autotrader.com.au/photodisplay....r=N15618796_31D

guess it depends if its rb30det or rb30et whether it's worth it or not