You wont belive this omg omg omg please help

• Replies 51

Looks like u will have to try and get a few quotes to repair, goto jap wreckers and see if u can get a new bonnet, head lights (i think its a fair bit for just these), front bar etc. But get the quote's first as they will tell u what needs replacing and it will make it a lot easier for when u go shopping.

If not i want the windscreen!

My estimate

1-strip front $400-800 depends if motor needs to come out

2- repair dampage to radiator support $500-1000 depends if rails are damaged

3-paint $1000-1400

4- refit $500-1000 depends if you need to refit motor

Parts $1800-2500 for a fully dressed front cut.

This way you get everthing to repair it, then sell whats left from the front cut.

Aftermarket parts like FMIC will be extra.

total $4200-6700.

if you can do the stripping and the refitting (the fun bits) you could get away from for about $900-1800 less.

I have repair 5 or 6 cars before like this with more damage, and has never cost me more than $4000 doing some of the work myself.

Form what the photo's look like from here (in Brisbane) it should not be a write-off

Have seen R33 with same damage, except the wheels where not moved, alignment all that were fine. Only thing that was hit on engine was water pump/fan clutch.

Repair cost over $13K through insurance. If you paid out of your own pocket, $10K.

You only paid $16K, so cut your losses, sell off parts of the car, and buy another. It will be cheaper and better than getting it fixed.

Dude, if the wheels have shifted, it needs some work :)

I've seen a 32 with this type of damage, and the bill was around the 5-6 grand mark doing the stripping and stuff himself. That said, it NEVER looked or felt right again. From what he told me, the wheels being pushed was the biggest issue, it bent brackets and even a smal part of the chassis. Anyone else suspect chassis issues here.

If you've bent that, sell out.

I reckon a good front cut will cover it.. If you can line the wheels up ever again :P

And yeah, tons of lines have had big damage, but unless they are fixed VERY well, you can always tell in the driving....

i dont think you got a good deal at all, i got my 1994 R33 auto for $14k

plus mine had full 400r kit, gtr wing, avc-r, 17" rims, leather interior and a few other stuff like mods and stuff

u got ripped off....shouldve researched the market more, especially ur car only being auto

good luck with ur situation, things will work out

Shit man thats a bit of damage. About 1 month ago i had a red vl commodore full walky kit really wannabe bastard trying to get me to race him and ended up smashing into the back of my R32, its all covered with insurance but i got quoted $3000 to replace rear bar , tail lights, re align boot, resray etc, and in my pictures you'll see, but mate i think thats gonna cost shit loads. See a smash repair to get your estimate price, there pretty good with that. :flamed:

I might have missed something...

If the car didn't have rego, why was it being driven ???

No rego = No Insurance = your at fault and liable for all costs to all parties involved...

I'm guessing if the police were involved you also got stung with a few fines?

You might be better off cutting your losses and seeling it off as parts....

Its not a 10k fix at all:

- $1800 for a full R33 S1 Nosecut (Radiator support, radiator, condensor, fans, bar, reo, ind/foglights, headlight, bonnet latch and upright)

- $350 for R33 S1 Bonnet

- $295 for R33 Guard

- $500 to $1000 for suspension items

- $2500 for panel beating and painting

As stated by some others, you could in theory get change from $7000 if you do it all right