The only mod I'm not sure about on my car is the BOV. I'm a bit of a newbie...but I think it must vent into the atmo because I've seen the same model BOV with some kind of filter attached (looks like small pod filter). But I thought BOV's were fine so long as they didn't have noise-enhancing attachments - mine isn't excessively loud or anything. Is it legal? The only other mods are brake rotors, front/rear strut braces, pod filter, 3" exhaust with 3.5 tip (regularly checked for possums) and suspension/lowered (not too low). It should all be legal right? I've not been pulled over but I've only had the car 3 days so far lol.

• Replies 56

So...

Guilty until you prove yourself innocent?  :D

The cops don't have half a clue about what's defectworthy and what's not...  

See my defect:  Rear wing not within boot lines.  

I mean firstly, WTF are boot lines...  And secondly, that's not what the DOT Mod Book says...  It says any wings / spoilers must not protrude past the boundaries of the car, which mine doesn't...

So I got a defect, for having a legal mod...  And I'm supposed to take time off and hire a lawyer to go defend this in court?  Yeah right...

The system is farked... :O

Its not the boot line man... its within the body of the car, you can easily get it cleared from a DOT inspection officer that is not too freggin lazy. IE. take it to zilmere DOT, the inspection officer there is very good. Not sure how far that is for you to travel tho..... Assuming if that is the only reason why the officer defected you. Also keep a copy of the DOT mod book in your car for future pull overs. I will be doing the same once my 180 is on the road. :D

I'm with you on the last statement tho.. its stupid how anyone with a slight modified legal mod(s) have to spend time fart ass around to prove that it is actually legal.

The only mod I'm not sure about on my car is the BOV. I'm a bit of a newbie...but I think it must vent into the atmo because I've seen the same model BOV with some kind of filter attached (looks like small pod filter). But I thought BOV's were fine so long as they didn't have noise-enhancing attachments - mine isn't excessively loud or anything. Is it legal? The only other mods are brake rotors, front/rear strut braces, pod filter, 3" exhaust with 3.5 tip (regularly checked for possums) and suspension/lowered (not too low). It should all be legal right? I've not been pulled over but I've only had the car 3 days so far lol.

Pretty sure the BOV has to be plumb'ed back and not vent to the atmo directly. As to the noise as long as its not loud, it doesnt attract attention which = less chance of being pulled over?

Not sure on the brake and strut braces.. the pod filter should be ok.. as long as it is secure (tho if the blues really want to be a bitch, I heard they can still book you). Exhaust.. noise level and "smoke" factor from memory...

If you want to be doubly sure that the mods is fine.. take it to a good DOT inspection officer or call them up and ask them. Get a QLD DOT mod book and read it too.. very educational incase the blues want to shaft you for something that is legal.....

One last advise.. DO NOT post all your mods on any forums... I'm sure there are other people that disagree with this.. As someone I met a while back... the car is "stock as a rock" :D

Its not the boot line man... its within the body of the car, you can easily get it cleared from a DOT inspection officer that is not too freggin lazy. IE. take it to zilmere DOT, the inspection officer there is very good. Not sure how far that is for you to travel tho..... Assuming if that is the only reason why the officer defected you. Also keep a copy of the DOT mod book in your car for future pull overs. I will be doing the same once my 180 is on the road. :D

I'm with you on the last statement tho.. its stupid how anyone with a slight modified legal mod(s) have to spend time fart ass around to prove that it is actually legal.

Cheers Yotis...

My defect says in exact wording: Ensure rear wing complies IE shorten width so fits within boot line...

I know that it's got nothing to do with the boot line, but my Missus didn't at the time she was pulled over, so she had no choice but to believe the State Traffic Task Force, who were clearly in the wrong...

That's what annoys me... If they had of defected her for say, I dunno, a hypothetical NOS kit, I would have copped it on the chin, because it's clearly illegal... But to defect for something that is legal, is farked up...

Anyway, the defect is cleared now, so I guess I move on...

I was driving down beaudesert (sp) rd on sat minding my own business, saw a cop pulled over on the side of the road not relly doing anything, then a little further up there was about 5 cop cars with about 10-15 cops. One then jumped out infront of me and told me to pull over. wont go through all the details cause couldnt be arsed. but they popped my bonnet, pulled me into a car park tested my exhaust, was just legal by .3 decibal. i told them i could switch my BOV to plumback, showed them and they said that was sweet. they said that my pod was secure enough. told me to pull sticker off my front window. the guy was really quite nice and really knew his shit (for a change). at the end he was asking me questions about the car! these guys were taskforce though, not tradffic cops....traffic cops i cant stand

steve

Beaudesert cops are tops, no joke I live out there and they are very knowledgeable about all areas of the traffic act etc etc Jimboomba has it's own dedicated traffic branch and I've found them to always be fair and courteous.

There is a really good article in either this months or last months autosalon.. especially the bit where a cop sends in an email

He basically says that random pulling over and breathtesting is a major part of on road policing, and goes on to explain alot of other things..

is a good read for all those interested.

i dont think random pull overs is the problem, the problem is the random pull overs seem to be very biased towards modified cars or more particulary jap cars, modified or not. I rarely see cops pulling over mercs, bmws, holdens or fords for these "random checks" and I sure as hell am yet to experience it whilst travelling in one of these cars. Ive driven my mums rx8 and my dads ss ute quite a bit and I am yet to be "random checked" in it, however, sh*t drive the skyline down the street and im sure as hell a hoon....pull me over at all costs and fine me if you can!

Im over it, the cops are being rediculous and I sure as hell cant wait until I know the law backwards and one of these cops do something wrong...I wont wear it, im sick of being harrassed because of what car I own and seen as legals wont cost a thing I'll be more than happy to take it as far as it can go.

Most definitely..

If the cops set up a booze station about 5 mins from my house, they would catch about 4 out of 5 people coming out of the club near where i live for drink driving. They're all oldies or bogans, they've been to the pokies, and they're going to come out sloshed.

This is evidenced by the amount of burnouts on exiting the place by meatheads in their V8's. Cops could book about 20-30 cars a night just on the burnouts, and then there is the noise (which most seem to exceed any skyline I've heard) but of course they don't.

i dont think random pull overs is the problem, the problem is the random pull overs seem to be very biased towards modified cars or more particulary jap cars, modified or not. I rarely see cops pulling over mercs, bmws, holdens or fords for these "random checks" ... pull me over at all costs and fine me if you can!

:werd: :)

ATMO BOV's are only illegal because there is a chance that they can blow out oil fumes from the intake. You DO NOT have to have a plumb back unit. I went down to clark rubber and bought a piece of filter foam....it cost me $1 and used two zip ties to hold it down over the valve opening. This ensures that all air coming from the BOV is filtered. Badda bing 100% legal BOV.

If a cop defects you for something, they must give adequate reason to do so and also explain the law behind it. If they cannot prove that the defect is, in fact, legally defective, then they cannot issue it. A formal complaint to the Ombudsman never goes astray.

Most of the police in my area know me almost by first name because I get pulled over so many times every week. I don't really care. All it took was about three bonnet pops before I made my very 'pleasant' letter to the ombudsman. After that I still get pulled over just as much, but in a year and a half they have not asked me to pop my bonnet. They know the ar5e reaming is just around the corner if they do. All they do now is pull me up, breathalize, licence check....bye bye. They only do it coz they want to give me the shits. But I be really really really nice to them, it friggin burns them up something cronic.

The best approach to take, which I think has already been mentioned, is to get straight out of the car with your licence in hand and say, "how can I help you officer?". Play really really dumb and ask lots of questions. If you get a defect, or he mentions that something is defective, act stupid. Say things like. "I'm sorry, I didn't know that was a defective item. Do you know of any places where I could get that fixed?".

Another approach: Say for instance you have a blown bulb. Say that you were unaware that it had blown tonight and that you have it booked in for a service the next day and you will mention it to the Salesman when you bring it to them. This will usually buy you some time.

If it is a minor defect. Mention that you were totally unaware that it was defective and you will have it corrected immediately.

If it is a major defect. Mention that it had only just been brought to your attention yesterday by another officer and you immediately booked it in to have it repaired by your mechanic. It won't lift the defect but they might let you drive it home. Then PM me with your details and I will vouch for your booking. lol.

Don't be affraid of the police but don't talk down to them.

I had a policeman talk down to me once and I said, "pay attention, don't EVER speak to me like that again or I'll report you". A short pause followed and we ended up having a pleasant conversation. As long as you let them know that you will help them out in any way you can but also be confidant of yourself and not a smart ar5e.

Trust me, I have been pulled over in excess of 100 times.

ATMO BOV's are only illegal because there is a chance that they can blow out oil fumes from the intake. You DO NOT have to have a plumb back unit. I went down to clark rubber and bought a piece of filter foam....it cost me $1 and used two zip ties to hold it down over the valve opening. This ensures that all air coming from the BOV is filtered. Badda bing 100% legal BOV.

Thanks man, I'll pay a visit to clark rubber...on another note how ridiculous is it that big trucks can pour fumes into the air at about 10 times the rate of any skyline and yet I can't have an atmo bov just in case it blows out some oil fumes once in a while...

I wouldn't mind reducing the BOV sound though because although it doesn't have any enhancements to make it louder it definitely attracts attention, anyone walking along the street can hear it loud and clear when I drive past.

If one has a oild catch can. How can it vent anything other than air????

Ummmmmmm.....

CAMS says atmo BOV's are ok... But you do need a 3 litre catch can min....

Is cams rules good enough????

If i were done for BOV id argue that truck brakes and buses and stuff do it so why cant I!!!

If one has a oild catch can. How can it vent anything other than air????

Ummmmmmm.....

CAMS says atmo BOV's are ok... But you do need a 3 litre catch can min....

Is cams rules good enough????

If i were done for BOV id argue that truck brakes and buses and stuff do it so why cant I!!!

There always has to be someone to point out the exception to the rule. I was only stating for education purposes that it has nothing to do with noise levels although above legal DB would still be considered illegal.

Just for COL-GTSX I'll say this......Everyone with an oil catch can ignore that part. Everyone else take note.

And for your final statement they would say, Here's your ticket, enjoy your day. Trucks and buses fall under different guidlines and I am yet to see a truck with an ATMO BOV. They do have airdraulic braking systems if that is what you are talking about, but this is compressed fresh air that comes nowhere near engine intake air.

On another note. an oil catch can DOES NOT catch everything.

Ever seen the scummy build up on your throttle body. This is enough. They defect oiled air filters.

You blow three pistons at full boost and send 5 litres of oil shooting the reverse way up your inlet manifold and see how much your can catches.

There always has to be someone to point out the exception to the rule. I was only stating for education purposes that it has nothing to do with noise levels although above legal DB would still be considered illegal.  

Just for COL-GTSX I'll say this......Everyone with an oil catch can ignore that part. Everyone else take note.

And for your final statement they would say, Here's your ticket, enjoy your day. Trucks and buses fall under different guidlines and I am yet to see a truck with an ATMO BOV. They do have airdraulic braking systems if that is what you are talking about, but this is compressed fresh air that comes nowhere near engine intake air.

On another note. an oil catch can DOES NOT catch everything.  

Ever seen the scummy build up on your throttle body. This is enough. They defect oiled air filters.

You blow three pistons at full boost and send 5 litres of oil shooting the reverse way up your inlet manifold and see how much your can catches.

Not a truer word has been spoken.

Dan where do you work. I think we need to catch up once I am back in Brisbane re turbos and stuff.

I work at Midas but I dunno how much longer I'll be there. I told my boss to go f#$k himself today. He didn't like that. Then he came begging to get me to stay so I dunno. I might still be there when you get back.

We'll have to talk over a beer or 24.

Turbo's you say.....I love to exploit my trade discount so let me know what you need.