21 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

yeah I think 3 times to TO would be enough.

I reckon after this months steak expedition we do Jap next. Teppanyaki :) or, would could try the new branch of Makoto. For those that don't know Makoto is like an upmarket version of sushi train. it's on liverpool st in the city but they've now opened in chatswoo. I am partial to teppanyaki though...

is makoto a japanese restaurant which serves sushi as well.?

cos a guy who owns/used to own? sushi train chatswood, burwood?, castlehill?

has a restaurant in the city.

hmm actually maybe it was closer to chinatown

• Replies 142

Makoto is basically an upmarket Sushi Train. Much nicer decor, more gourmet sushi offerings, etc... Very nice, but quite expensive (worth it IMHO, but then again I always think good food is worth the asking price ;) Life's too short to eat bad food ;))

Kinda like Toko on Oxford St. A classy sushi train.

Makoto is basically an upmarket Sushi Train. Much nicer decor, more gourmet sushi offerings, etc... Very nice, but quite expensive (worth it IMHO, but then again I always think good food is worth the asking price :( Life's too short to eat bad food :D)

Kinda like Toko on Oxford St. A classy sushi train.

i'm yet to got to a japanese restaurant of ne kind.

:kick: :rant: :headshot: :bonk: :slap:

bar sushi train parra when dad used to own it. bad decisions made by him, he finally got rid of it but still in a legal mess with sushi train.

R&R is a better feed, but its loud and cramped

lanecove has better service but the steak is average.

well put. that being the case, I still say we follow the chronic steak to manly :(:cheers:

I dont understand why Japanese dinners aren't on the agenda more often. I think I've had Jap with SAU'ers once and that was not a regular monthly dinner. We all love Japanese right?

That being said I propose to boycott steak (even though I already voted for LCSH) and say Merli's Makato suggestion is "the win". Or any other Japanese place anywhere (with parking)... I'd suggest Sushi Suma in Surry Hills if it had decent parking and wasnt 125% full every night.

and say Merli's Makato suggestion is "the win". Or any other Japanese place anywhere (with parking)... I'd suggest Sushi Suma in Surry Hills if it had decent parking and wasnt 125% full every night.

oi! don't pinch my kudos! Makoto was my idea!!! :cheers:

how's it going mate?

There was a Tepanyaki late last year. But anyway... blah blah blah.

The fact is that parking in Manly is shit. Anyone who says otherwise is dreaming and I'll fight yas all. The other fact is that the food is better quality there. But there is a poll with Lane Cove in front. Let the poll speak for the final call.

Of course there is still quite some time to go and by the time the dinner rocks around the poll could be 54 to 68 the other way round. It's a crazy mixed up world out there and you'd be mad not to arm yourself with a flame thrower no matter where you ended up going for dinner.

It's a crazy mixed up world out there and you'd be mad not to arm yourself with a flame thrower no matter where you ended up going for dinner.

never a truer word was spoken.

But there is a poll with Lane Cove in front.  Let the poll speak for the final call.

since when have we listened to the poll? The monlthly dinner venue discussions are the most enjoyable bit! ;)

there is a car park in manly, its only $4 after 6 and i think there would be heaps of parking. i was in manly last friday night and it was fine. Wasnt scared for the safty of the line, and was cheap.

So if u guys are worried bout not finding parking there will be heaps...

We have some space and a BBQ......but if we are going the bb option we had better not leave it too much later in the year, good weather is on the way out :)

druncan, these dinners have been getting progressively closer to your house. I'm onto you. I know you want it in your house so that when you get shitfaced you don't even have to walk home!

selfish bastard.

I wanna get shitfaced too... :O

Sewid - Although Im not going this months I think steak is predetermined winner from last months little poll.....

But yes....all up for jap NEXT months !!! :)  

Chatswood Makoto sounds GOOOOD !! :O

Fair enough really. If it was decided last month than I shall stop rocking the boat.

• Similar Content

• It doesn't really answer your question...but is the head unit full android or just android auto, are you happy with how quickly it boots and responds, and do you have a link?  If we can identify good Android alternatives it will really help people stuck with Japanese screens. Did it have a separate reverse camera input so you would replace the factory one, or are you just going without now...that would be a pretty big steps back. And finally, do you have a picture of the "wire" that you can't plug in? Most likely it is some sort of aerial that is not too important eg japanese traffic or am radio or something if you haven't noticed a functionality issue
    • haha funny enough I did ask him wtf he had been up to with the electrics....but no answer
    • For a daily just run Akebono ceramic pads. That's what they're optimized for. Obviously don't try to run it on track or anything like that.
    • Hey all, I'm sorry if this has been discussed before.  I have a 2008 Japanese import V36 coupe with nav but without Bose. I bought one of those AliExpress android screens, which for the most part works really well.  The only thing that doesn't work is the air con controls (well sort of) and the factory reverse camera.  The AC can be controlled fine but it doesn't report the change in temp and mode to the screen, and the volume knob/other audio controls from the panel don't register on the learning app.  I am pretty certain that the problem is the difference in the head unit between base model (Nav but no Bose) 2007-2009 coupes and anything after 2009.  Mine is the one with the blue connector all the way to the right as seen in this forum post:  The reason I think this is there is one wire left over that doesn't fit anywhere on this head unit, or in the factory screen which also uses different connectors to more recent versions.  I've seen the upgrade from OWC, and have sent the guy a message on eBay but no response yet.  I also don't particularly need the whole kit, just *maybe* an adapter for this one cable.  Did anyone else here have the same problem, or have any insight about what I can do to get this working?  I have been in contact with the seller but all they seem to be able to do is ask for more pictures and videos. Minor edit to add:  I have been researching and found a screen on Aliexpress that actually specifies my head unit in the listing, so these things do exist.  I will contact the seller to see if the wiring adapters are interchangeable with other screens.   Thanks in advance!