I know John (Munro) wasn't overly impressed with them (Bridgestone RE540S comp tyres), but with mega kilowatts most rubber is gunna' have trouble!

I've only done a handful of klms on them but once warm WOW are they an improvement over the Falkens I had! Mind you that wouldn't have been hard :( From the feedback I've been getting from users of them, & retailers, they aren't too bad in the wet provided you don't do anything stupid i.e. full throttle on cold wet roads with cold rubber.

My car actually feels fairly quick now I can "almost" get ALL the power down in 1st & 2nd.

Total price was $1180 balanced & fitted (235/45/17 - 255/40/17) from Laurie @ Bridgestone in Gouger St.

For anyone considering running these tyres get in quick! Soon only one Bridgestone dealer will be able to get them in Adelaide, & when that happens (Jan03) the prices won't be so good.

Downsides – They’re noisy! They pick up every little stone & pebble on the road! They’ll probably only last me 10-20K max? I can live with that.

R33 GTR rims are polished, but am waiting to see if I get my other

rims back from the painters in time for the test & tune on the 14th.If I get them back soon I will fit the Nittos to them, & put the toyo RA1s back on the GTR rims for a street set.

the other rims I am refering to are a 2nd hand set of 17x9 Rays

TE37 rims.I am getting them painted gold like the ones on the top secret R34 on the 2nd GTR special cover.Cool looking rims & light too.

Hopefully the car will be ready before the 14th, but not going to rush, I want to run in the new box & get used to the car again before full power run.

YEP, I count my blessings(& my car keys)everyday.Always saw heaps of guys cruising around in cool cars when I was young & thought " one day " I'll have tough cars. 15 years later & all of my dreams have come true(well automotive ones anyway).

There are so many rumours flying around re the track I dont pay any attention anymore.All I know is that there IS a private T&T on the 14th.I hope the car is ready - but I'm not holding my breath.

Munro.:D

G'day Clint,

For a daily driver it probably wouldn't be worth it mate. The RE540S isn't as long lasting as say a Yokohama A032R but then the prices I got quoted on A032R's were waaaaay more expensive!

Give Laurie a call on 8231 6582 & see what 225/50/16's are worth? Laurie is a really good bloke, very friendly & will certainly look after you on price! I'd guess you'd be looking @ ~ $240ea. My fronts were $280 & rears $310.

Matt

G'day guys.

I wasn't impressed with them at the drags, but for handling on the street thet are supposed to be the bees knees.

20k out of a set!!! You are dreaming.

I only got 9000kms out of my V102 yokos(265/35/18) on the R34.

I have a set of 265/35/18 RE540s coming for the R34 now & will

be happy to get 8-10000kms out of them.Wanted to go to 285s on the rear but cant get them - would of looked the part though!

4,6&chook cooker national coming soon.

Holinger is in & should be ready for testing within a week or so.

When is next street meet?

Patientice grasshopper.Its only got 1 seat in it so better bring a milk crate or something to sit on.I've driven it twice on the street now, but with normal street tyres it just skips all over the place.

Have just got some thermo fans for it to keep it cool.

The new 265/35/18 RE540S tyres are on the R34 now.Got them on thursday & last night on the SMASA cruise I picked up a nail in the FLH & had to limp home from servo to servo.Murphy's law, could

have happened to the old yokos last week but no, has to be the brandnew ones!Haven.t had a chance to bed them in properly yet but when they are I think they will be awesome - go gorge rd.

Brad, get your tyres sorted out & come on the 4,6&rotor cruise feb 7.It's a tough car.Bring it out & show it off.