Hey Guyz

Got an 89 R32 rb20det,

when the turbo is spooling up sounds like the turbo is fluttering (cant explain the noise)

anywayz i took it past a turbo specialist and he reckons theres nuffin wrong with the turbo itself, he believes 99.9% that its a exhaust leak, he said sumthing about 12 bolts along the exhaust manifold side of the engine are probably missing or broken...

What u reckon??

he said to fix it im looking at $660 to replace bolts and gaskets...

PM me with ur thoughts plz?

Thanks JOe!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/71293-exhuast-manifold-leak/

he's chargin u too much if its the exhaust manifold gasket....It cost me ~$100 in gaskets (turbo, manifold, dump pipe) and 6 x bolt/nuts/washers cost me ~$65 about 6 months ago if my memory serves me right.

I did mine myself....wasnt too hard. Just need a fair bit of time and the right tools.

he's chargin u too much if its the exhaust manifold gasket....It cost me ~$100 in gaskets (turbo, manifold, dump pipe) and 6 x bolt/nuts/washers cost me ~$65 about 6 months ago if my memory serves me right.  

I did mine myself....wasnt too hard. Just need a fair bit of time and the right tools.

before you replaced urs, were u getting a fluttering noise, like a leak?

Can you describe the sound a bit more?  I have noticed a sound a bit like a tight belt o when my turbos spool....

LW.

basically sounds like the turbo is fluttering, you kno when ur spooling up you can hear it normally just sucking in the air, well it sounds like the air is escaping but its not a hissing sounds

hard to explain mate!

i have that high pitch eeeeeee sound. kinda like a super fast high pitch gym whistle. i think its an exhaust leak too cause it only happened after i got my custom front pipe installed dodgy. it doesnt appear to make that noise when the engine is still cold probs cause the exhaust temps are not up yet.

I have a busted stud, notm until engine is reeally wamre up does it seal almost completely. can hear it cracking back as it cools down after you have turned off the car. You can feel it, and see it on your boost gauge, epecially after start up on cold engine, even reving to 5 gradn- no boost, after a few mins you start getting boost as the manifold seals up. Getting mine fixed soon, havent been quoted nearly as much as soem fo you though

The noise in my car is getting worse. It does sound a little like a balloon being pinched, but I haven't heard of pipes collapsing on RB26s so I am guessing one of the gaskts/seals is busted. The question is: which one? Is there a good method for find leaks that someone car suggest?

Edit: Also the noise goes away as the car gets warmer. I assume this is because the metal expands to (semi) close the leak.

I recently drained the block of coolant which required removing the dump pipes. I had to use manifold gunk to reseal (in conjunction with the original gaskets) it as it was late on Sunday and I needed the car on the road. I guess that should be my first port of call although the sound seems to be more located to the left.

Does anyone know where I can get the dump-to-front pipe gaskets?

LW.

all gaskets are avaliable from nissan genuinne

genuinne gasket for manifold bout $90 studs are a must repalce at bout $3 each and about a good sunday at home with some tools, a sunday arvo with the right tools

costa nothing dont be scared bout this instalation there really isnt anything that can go wrong

get some metal gasket paper from parts suplier i used this on my custom dump and turbo setup same shit a manifold gasket bout A4 sheet like $20

i know they expansive but when you need the shit you need it right!!! luck its not a critical part...lol

Is anyone aware of any aftermarket suppliers for the turbo->manifold and/or turbo->dump and/or dump->frontpipe and/or front-pipe->cat gaskets? Nissan is going to rape me.. :)

A couple of people have mentioned GCG carry the Nissan (OEM I assume) gaskets, so I will call them first thing tomorrow and compare with Nissan's pricing.

Sigh. Looks like I have just lost my weekend to boot :)

Ok,

Just spent far too much time in FAST...

Syntax:

Description: Part Code. :: Part No. :: Alt. Part No.

Turbocharger Gasket Kit: 14401K :: 14401-05U25

Turbo -> Manifold Stud: 14411A :: 14064-05U01

Turbo -> Manifold Nut: 14432 :: 14432-P7600 :: 14432-0B700

Turbo -> Dump Stud: 14414M :: 14414-17F00

Turbo -> Dump Nut: 14432+A :: 14432-P7600 :: 14432-0B700

Dump -> Front Gasket: 20692M :: 20692-P9000 :: 20692-65J00

Dump -> Front Stud: 14440A :: 14064-N4200 :: 14064-58Y00

Dump -> Front Nut Fix: 20602 :: 20602-41G00

Does the turbo gasket kit include gaskets for both turbos (my guess is yes based on FAST)?

Assuming it does, then I guess I need the following, correct?

• 18 x nuts (14423-P7600)?
  • 4 x nuts (20602-41G00)?
  • 8 x studs (14064-05U01)?
  • 10 x studs (14414-17F00)?
  • 4 x studs (14064-N4200)?
  • 2 x gaskets (20692-P9000)?

Did I miss anything? What's the rought cost for those studs/nuts?

Edit: There are 5 studs + nuts per turbo for the turbo -> dump join, not four.

Lucien.