I have a made who lives in bridgeman downs.. When they were developing the area we did a 5000rpm clutch dump u-turn in a cul-de-sac, NO houses around at all, left the faintest of lines.

Copper who lived a few hundred meters away got his rego

got the accident investiagtion squad out

took photographic evidence of the faint skid marks

took rubber samples

had them matched to his car

took him to court

driving without due care and attention/excess noise

There must be some 'tard out that way who dislikes cars

most cops by the time they get to traffic duty are fairly senior.. senior counstable or more likely seargent.. Unfortunately you are right there Dave, in that they do have a bit of training in that area. Although it might be about 2-3 years since they did the course, it's possible their memory is hazy.  

ADR's are nothing to be scared of, most cars should pass if the obvious things are legal.

p.s.. deanx0r: unfortunately that would mean your nice bling 19" rims are 2" too large :P

From my understanding, all mods are illegal. That simple. But if you read differnet laws you can do a few things, but the way I read it they get over powered by the 'all mods are illegal' one.

Why does QLD Transport produce a brochure stated "guides to modifications" and mention a few key things then stating what you are, and are not allowed to do to your car? That should be the bible that should over rule any cop's idea of what is, or is not legal -- as they are the ones registering your vehicle, not the police. AFIAK it is them who are deciding which cars ultimately are to be registered and legal on our roads, not the cops. The cops job (as they should see it at least) is to question whether they are, and send them to be inspected through the proper channels. At very worse, your car is complied when it comes into the country, therefore it is complied to meet all applicable ADR's of that time. Period, cops should not even be able to question a car that was as complied with the plate recently.. although sure, they'd argue you could have changed something the day after.

What you do to it afterwards is your own business, but if you installed all original ADR compliant gear for that vehicle (sold in australia, with stickers stating compliance to ADRs) - you would be all legal. Sure, not many people do go for local gear, but it's all possible. Which also gives me a good idea...

Its all a crock of shit anyhow, as studies have time and time again said that modifications can be attributed to less than 5% of accidents.

By that logic, fitting aftermarket brake pads, or tyres would also be illegal.

my dad was in a big conferance and with senior police and rta people, and asked the police how they would go in court if they defected some one with out the proper qualifications to make the right judgement, the senior sargent had nothing to say and dad said " you wouldnt stand a chance would you, the sargent replyed, " no not really" and that is strait from a senior copper admitting it

'

By that logic, fitting aftermarket brake pads, or tyres would also be illegal.

Going by my understanding yes. But then if its plated, they are legal. But not legal. Its a stupid system, and it needs a nation wide overhaul so we are all useing the same laws.

And yeah, I have nothing to worry about with my 15yo rule complied car :P Other than tyres.

Hrm.. so a cop that is off duty can still book you? WTF ?

Read it Alex. He was hooning about on the Sunday. Cop took the plates then. Then back on work Monday, must have been a slow day, no stabbings or anything, so he went looking for old mate to book him for interupting his sunday arvo nap.

once the 'officer' gave his evidence, and provided, he told the truth and said that he took your rego on his day off, this would get thrown out of court so quick there'd be no use sitting down to start with.

well so my laywer friend tells me anyway, but then again that's just his view.

And as silver'sr33 said above, the only thing cops can book you on with reguard to the 'hardware' of your car is your tyres, i'm pretty sure they need transport officers with them to issue any ticket's. <---- could be wrong, just what i've been told.

in any case do something about it, i wanna see the little man win against the system!

Any large dept of people (police/k-mart)

Doesnt matter which store/goverment dept, but there is always a case of getting nice people and rude people. If you dont make complaints you cant get rid of the rude people.

He mus have been pretty keen to issue a fellow neighbour a ticket.....!

I used to live at Bridgeman Downs and a senior of Police (back in 97) lived over the road. One night a friend and i were having an arguement (over a chick of course). After nothing was resolved he jumped into his car and boy o boy did he light em up.

He then did a u-turn over our front lawn and ripped it up. Then the street was not wide enough so he ripped up the lawn on the opisite side also.... BIG MISTAKE....

Lost his licience for 3 years. Not good mates anymore and i liked my neighbours.