SAU Community

when i received my car from japan it had the back three windows heavily tinted. i pulled it off thinking no way would it pass like that. but i had a thought (yes it hurt), if a car has both side mirrors like a van/ute or truck why cant it have heavy tinting on the rear windows only. you cant see out the back of the van i drive for work so what difference is there between a car with both side mirrors with one way tint or a van with both mirrors and no rear windows???

so im thinking of putting the g35 tint on the front side windows and a 20 tint on the back three windows.

does anyone know what the laws are on back window tint of a sedan that has both side mirrors???

cheers :D

• 2 weeks later...

i've been tinting for a few years now and the laws are a bit foggy in that area. T35 is the legal limit for the darkness of tint, but i got told a story that as long as you have 2 side mirrors you don't even need to be able to see out the back glass.(don't know how true it is so no-one crack the sh!ts at me) . but you've all seen the bongo vans getting around with curtains in the back and you cant see out at all in them and they don't seen to be targeted as a defect. i tinted mine in T35 3m black on the side glasses with 3m black T20 (darker) on the rear glass and across the top of the windscreen. no one has pulled me over . i did the same on my last car aswell. i wouldn't put it (T20)on the side glass , that's asking for trouble - cam

from datto to gts-t, i went from gti to gtt - he

I've got crazy blacked out on the rear 3 windows and no tint on the front 2.

I've been engineered and blue slipped and noone said a thing.

Also I heard a thing about pre '89 (possibly) cars that apperantly the laws were different then and if your car made prior to that, you might have had the tints done back then so they can be darker. I'm not sure how true that is or what year it was but you might like to check this unless it's a NSW only thing (if at all true).