P _ Plater R33 GTSt. registration?

Guest alexR33

I live in Victoria and I am planning on importing a GTSt SPEC II Skyline R33 into Aus. I have some questions though. For P platers who drive GTSts, is it possible to register these in your own name? Or have you needed to register them in your parents names? Obviously I query this only because of the pointless power to weight ratio. Legally in court I heard that it does not stand up? Can anyone confirm this? Thanks in advance.

alex

Originally posted by Dragon18

i also wanted to ask with rego you pay rego which is like 500 buckz and then you have to pay for stamp duty which is 8 dollars on every hundred dollars =)

is that all???

It's $8 for every $200.

yo, getting back to your original question regarding the registration, i am a p plater...yes you can get an r33 registered in your name you dont have to get it under your parents name.

i got mine registered under my name and i also know of other people who did the same.

There is nothing to stop you owning it. The law only says you can't drive it.

But even then, the police won't be bothered enforcing the law. They reckon its too hard to do the calculations, despite they don't need to do any calculations because VicRoads has a list. They all seem far more interested in collecting revenue from speeding fines than in protecting members of the public and promoting road safety.

In these litigious times, I can see the day when the family of a P-Plater killed while driving one of these 'high-powered vehicles' will sue the police, government, Vicroads and anyone else for failure in their duty of care to enforce the law.

there are many holes in the law 1 such example being that:

it is illegal for a p plater to drive a care over 125kw per tonne however if it is the only car a plater has access to it is legal. If you father drives a 500kw gemmini you can drive it on the road without any hassels.....within reason.

Guest alexR33

Well I understand that. But unfrtunately the family has many cars under the power to weight ratio. So in court, if i did in fact get in trouble would I be able to get out of it? I was thinking if i got an engineers report stating that the car was under the power to weight, then if ipolice tried to charge me on it i could provide this to them? Or any suggestions...? By the way, how much for you Black GTSt? thanks. alex

Guest GR33DyMANGO

hey alexR33:)

u should find the name of an import broker in melbourne then ask him all the questions. they can send u pics etc so u know what u'll get for specific price ranges.

a black r33 gtst, manual gearbox, about 70,000kms on the clock, sideskirts etc.. good condition would prolly cost $24g??? find an import broker they'd give u heaps of info on every query u have:)