Just wondering if anyone knows how to get that wicked 'flutter' sound, when backing of the throttle on a turbo. Im not sure, but I think it may be the wastgate? Or is it a particular type of BOV? Heaps of tough VL RB30's do it, specially that yellow Bresciani racing monster!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/74592-how-to-get-that-flutter/

Block off you blow off valves so that all waste air from closing the throttle has to go back through the compressors on your turbos. This will cause massive surging to your turbos - some people say it damages them - and make that flutter sound. Problem is you slow the turbos down every time you hear it, causing it to take longer to get back on boost.

In short it isn't the sound of an effective street turbo setup unfortunately.

Yeah my car makes that noise, u just have to push it really hard to get it. Reason mine does it is that my stock BOV cant support the ammount of boost im running. Its not good for the turbo so dont do it. Need to find me some Twin GT-R BOV's.

Im puttin one of those new exhaust tips on so it goes, wooo wooooo wooo woooooooo

http://media.ebaumsworld.com/bubbrubb.wmv

pwwahaha "das early in the mornin , got be up cooking breakfast by den" magic !wonder if my bovs will make it on sandra sully's table this arvo ?

i just bought a new stock bov coz the stock one that was on the car when i bought it had been welded shut to stop it from opening

i'll take a pic tonight of the bottom of it to give you an idea..... sounds cool for a bit, but you get sick of it lol, and it does slow you down, coz the turbo almost needs to respool after every gear change.

-ruffels

mine flutters with a turbosmart BOV.. the tension in the spring is just a little tighter so that the air cant hold the piston open for long, so it does lots of little sharp bursts

only does it when you ease off the throttle tho, when you let off fully its just a normal bov sound

Yeah, when I took my car for a drive once it was cleared by customs it made that sound, turns out there was a screw in the stock bov, so they had blocked it off for that sound. Sound was sweet, but does the turbo no good. I haven't heard the sequential bov, would it make a similar sound though????

I CALL BULLSHIT

Bullshit yourself mate, you dont know anything about my car. A stock BOV cant handle 17 Pounds of boost...

Damn i didnt know people were so dumb in western australia, guess its true what they say

Bullshit yourself mate, you dont know anything about my car. A stock BOV cant handle 17 Pounds of boost...

Damn i didnt know people were so dumb in western australia, guess its true what they say

Considering most stock bov's leak in between 12-15psi, that's where the bullshit factor come into it, and if you're not bullshitting your losing power. I'm sure running 17psi with it is doing your turbo a world of good too.