just put some in an r32. with standard springs and softest adjustment they are kidney bashers. and people were saying Bilstein were harsh so I went with koni (admittedly had good experience with konis before). spewing.

spoke to Toperformance (they are good to deal with) and they said the valving r and d is done in Japan for these. we all know what that means...spewing again. also said that they've been told about the harshness before...hmmm would've liked this bit of info before buying...

i'm not impressed at finding this out the hard way and reckon these dampers are way too hard for the road although they're supposedly a good 'compromise' shock.

got onto koni in holland and they said they 'see the problem' and will speak with Toperformance.

anyone else picking their fillings up off the floor with konis?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/75558-koni-dampers-in-gtr-anyone-got-em/

Hi Scooby, I hate saying "I told you so", but how many times have you seen me say Bilsteins for Skylines? I have nothing against Konis, we use them in lots of cars, just not in road Skylines.

Tops can revalve them, they have a number of alternative valve packs to choose from. You will have to push, but it is worth it. PM me if you wan't further details.

:cheers:

my mate put a set on konis in an R32GTS4 which had lowered springs(not by heaps either) and the front shocks were bottoming out. he complained to koni and they wanted nothing to do with it. It was the last time anyone I know is buying koni's.....

I don't blame them, bottoming out has nothing to do with the Koni shocks, they are the right length. It is either too low or the springs are too soft for that height. This is not unusual in GTS4's, people use GTST springs in them. They simply are not designed for the extra 200 kgs. Sometimes they even use GTST shocks. :rofl:

what are the price differences between the 2?

The quotes I have are about $650 for Bilsteins (front pair) and $620 for the Koni's....

Are KYB shocks any good for a daily driver? I have a quote for $292 for those.

KYB (KaYaBa) are japanese shocks. come on quite a few jap cars from the factory. depends on the model you get. as to whether or not they are suitable for your application.

If anyone has a pair of koni sport (yellows) for the rear of an R32 GTR that they don't want I'll take them off your hands :) (as long as they aren't pounded out :) )

Have used koni's for years in race cars, road cars and motorcycles (race and road) without problems. Like any other shock they have to be properly setup for the intended application.

Marcus...are you running Bilsteins??? i thought you are running K Office Coilovers...

Kei office coil over aluminium outers, king springs and tender springs, bilstein inserts fitted to the Kei Office bodies in the front.

Kei office coil over aluminium outers, king springs and tender springs, koni inserts fitted to the Kei Office bodies in the rear.

If anyone has a pair of koni sport (yellows) for the rear of an R32 GTR that they don't want I'll take them off your hands :) (as long as they aren't pounded out :) )

Have used koni's for years in race cars, road cars and motorcycles (race and road) without problems.  Like any other shock they have to be properly setup for the intended application.

I don't think my fronts were valved correctly for the springs (at the time 600lb).

Now running 450lb (i think, maybe 400lb)

I just put Koni Sport damper adjustable shocks and king spring low springs in my r33 and they are great. Also had pinapples fitted. They are great for cornering and on 'full soft' damper I find them no problem for daily drive use.

My previous suspension was JIC height adjustable coilovers, now "they were like 70% harder than the Koni sport on full hard setting, going down a normal road was uncomfortable". Only at calder park and albert park were they smooth.

Anyway with the suspension make sure it is set up by someone who knows their stuff.

Loving the Koni Sports, can't wait to test them on the track