Hi guys,

Im still looking at a possible solution to my turbo surging problem when i use my boost controller. So far i have the possibilities of spark plugs being rooted and boost controller duty cycle solenoid on max. Ill be checking the plugs this weekend however i have another theory.........

I have noticed recently that it could stem from my fuel pump. Now my fuel pump constantly makes a straining like noise to which my mate told me that he thought the pump was an aftermarket one, however im not too sure as the car is an import and there was no record of sach a mod. Could this noise be a sign that the pump is shagged and that as soon as i try higher boost it cant supply enough fuel?

Any help would be appreciated!

Laine

I suspect you will find it is a problem of the combination of turbos and controller. It is likely that the turbos cannot work efficiently when pumping as much boost as you are pumping (you haven't stated the boost your controller is permitting).

Try dropping the boost back a bit and see what happens.

As for the "straining" of the pump, have you changed the fuel filter recently?

Yeh sorry forgot to mention that i had posed this question in a previous post. The controller is causing problems at all levels of boost including the lowest setting of 0.8 kg/cm^3.

I also had the car fully serviced about 5 months ago but there may be a need to change the fuel filter again.

Regards

Laine

Hey dude, did you end up fixing this?

My 32 is doing the same thing since I boosted it, only to 11PSI and its surging sometimes but not others..... Fuel pump access panel looks untouched so I think its the stocker in there still.

Anyone wanna help out? much appreciated

Doubt its fuel pump.. unless you have a wiring problem.

As mine went dodgy recently, you'll probably find its more likely just to cut out, or drop the pressure, not "spurt" more pressure into the system. It may be possible, but from my understanding I don't think that would be the problem.

Anyhow, your fuel regulator should stop any excess pressure getting to the injectors. It may be possible that is more likely to be the culprit. If that is gone, it may not be providing consistent rail pressure. Or likewise, blocked or dodgy injectors.

With the RB30 mine makes all its boost easily under 2000rpm if its loaded up.

Under 2000rpm I've noticed the car goes really flat then once over 2000rpm it's like a switch and clears up.

Watching the PFC hand controller's O2 sensor voltage I've noticed during this time of possible surge its reading maximum lean. If I hold my foot in to it she begins to missfire and pop a little. I suspect this is what they call a lean missfire???

Unsure really. I wouldn't put it past the stock turbo on the r32 to surge at such low rpms but the lean o2 sensor reading is a concern.

I'll have to get it on the dyno and check it out. I have had the Bosch 910 pump in since I bought the car 3yrs+ ago so I wouldn't be suprised if that is on its way out as 100% duty cycle only makes 176rwkw at a low ish rpm. I was under the impression the RB20DET injectors with a good fuel pump max'd out around 190rwkw or so and that is at a higher rpm where the injectors don't have as much time to push fuel in.

coils, or fuel filter just change the filter there only $10 or pull it off and tip it up the wrong way on to your hand and check what comes out if there is heaps of stuff then it blocked

Took mine out tonight, went fine, no surging or anything? Weird.... I thought this sorta problem was normally fuel pump related particularly in an 89 model....

Is it worth getting a new pump for piece of mind.? I'd hate to skimp on this and then having to rebuild the motor due to it leaning out......

Spend $35-$50 on a dyno power run for piece of mind.

All my fuel filters etc have been replaced. I will check the pumps sock tomorrow i think. :thumbsup:

Its still running the stock internal pump with an external bosch so no doubt as I run it to the red every tank it will have picked up crap.