anyway, i still wanna get my engine rebuilt.  Or should i wait till you guys get your issues sorted?

go the RB26 dude, save u doing it later on or buying a stroker or something (if you want to go all out)

you don't need a huge budget to get an RB26 to 300rwkw if spent in the right places.

• Replies 64

im currently getting my rb25det rebuilt from a previous major stuff up

getting the head machined and just replacing valves + stock pistons

its close to 5k now using stock parts ($2.5k for labour + parts + machining)

it'll probably be cheaper/expensive depending where you go i guess

Big Carl, $7,500 - thats just the engine right. Or does it include turbo as well.

Nick - Current modifications are the following:

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/sh...ead.php?t=72202

Add hi-flowed turbo, and new custom button clutch from Rajab Racing (www.rajabracing.com.au)

Engine is blown, need to rebuild anyway, wanna do it once and properly. Hi-flowed turbo would only get around 200kw (give or take 10kw) i would think.

I wouldnt mind selling the hi-flowed turbo, and getting a T67-25G or TD06-25G. Just dont know how hard i need to go on the engine for that setup (280-320kw).

Like everyone, i have a budget. I dont want the engine rebuild to go beyond 6K. Regarding the ECU, i might get a Microtec as I was told it is better than the Power FC.

Hope that gives you guys an idea.

The Q45, and Trust TD05 on my profile was my previous car.

He just go tme so angry... Really pee's me sometimes....

The GTR i bought had a single garret unit (roumered to be a GT35 turbo) It was a very good buy. The engine itself was of a stock internal configuration and the motor was fairly worn to be honest. But a set of pistons were sourced quite cheaply and the rods were x-ray tested and tested ok. New bearing kit was also cheap. Nothing needed to be done I just wanted to do it. I get that way.

IE. Im doing a HKS timing gear astm so i decided the water pump and timing belt should also be done as i may as well cause im already pulling it apart. It has a little cost for great piece of mind. As i got back to the topic eariler there is no need to point the finger anymore. If you dont apriciate my input to these forums then just ask a QLD member who i am and what i do for a living. Blitz as a mod you should know your heavy forum users. I have never lied or misplaced the facts. The setup using an rb26 motor will easily produce 300rwkw all day in a 2wd skyline.

It hurts me when someone questions my education or ability to produce products that work. I have built 4 cars now (not to showrrom condition) but a lot better than they were. I have lost money on 2 of them. But i think a cheaper go fast car is the only profitable exercise. (ie. vb commodore with a rb26). In fact im about to start on a new car. Im not doing anything ground breaking, im just doing it myself. I do most of my own work for the reason of not trusting and being ripped off by workshops. I never bag a workshop i just never go there again.

The next project will be probablly a datto ute or datto 1600 with a sr20det (who whould have ever guessed) But yeah i feel like doing a 4cyl car for once.

go the RB26 dude, save u doing it later on or buying a stroker or something (if you want to go all out)

you don't need a huge budget to get an RB26 to 300rwkw if spent in the right places.

Back to the topic thanks you for supporting my idea of an rb26dett engine in some format. I drive a rb25 powered 33 now and if i was wanting 350rwkw-400rwkw id certainlly go to a rb26...

But as i stated once i got back to the topic, o have suggested 2 combinations one with an rb26 and one with an 25. For the money this is a close as you will go with 6 grand. Like i said keep a few extra dollars aside for those un-expected expences like gaskets and so forth.

I believe you will have a lot of fun doing this mod. I like power making mods more so than making looks. Its good to see you spent money where it counts....

If you want to bounce any more question off me than feel free to PM me. If you have any trouble sourcing parts also give me a PM. I have plenty of contacts that will be able to get what your looking for.

Cheers Colin

PS. Sorry to say that Blitz its just how i felt when you questioned my trade my bread and butter. My 4 years as an aprentice and my last 2 years working with computers and EFI products for jet ski racing.

Big Carl, $7,500 - thats just the engine right.  Or does it include turbo as well.

Nick - Curren modifications are the following:

Add hi-flowed turbo, and new custom button clutch from Rajab Racing (www.rajabracing.com.au)

Engine is blown, need to rebuild anyway, wanna do it once and properly.  Hi-flowed turbo would only get around 200kw (give or take 10kw) i would think.

I wouldnt mind selling the hi-flowed turbo, and getting a T67-25G or TD06-25G.  Just dont know how hard i need to go on the engine for that setup (280-320kw).

Like everyone, i have a budget.  I dont want the engine rebuild to go beyond 6K.  Regarding the ECU, i might get a Microtec as I was told it is better than the Power FC.

Cool... I believe the microtec will go better than a pfc. But you need to weight up the costs. As in the purchase price and more so the tuning cost. I have heard some horror stories about pfc tuning at local shops. There is one id certainlly go to (chapman) but as for the rest i just couldnt trust them. Microtec on the other hand i dont know of any reliable shops who tune them???

As i have stated i believe 6k will be enough to spend on the motor... If you keep the turbo purchasde seperate than you will be laughing...

6k with a new turbo on the other hand would be an interesting challange...!!!

I hate it when i share info from my years with working on motor cars and some shit head come in today and picks a post fight with in his first 3 posts... at the age of 13.... Ive had it with know all's.... The topic was for help and suggestions... If you dont agree then dont say so. Just post what you would do not disagree with what some one else would do...

About 2 years ago i purchased an r32 GTR front cut. Over the next 3 months I implanted it into a VB commodore (cheap car to piss off the common dore hoons) This car set me back 6k for the half cut (sold the trany/intercooler & front axel for 2.5k) Then spent this money on pfc/fuel pump/dyno time/jun cams and it achieved 312rwkw and the car is almost indestructable. I used the brakes from a later commodore as gtr brakes were not compatible with out extensicve mods.

Total project cost inc car 8g's tuned and sold it for 15g's

So i guess im just a beginner...

hey factor, did you do most of the work yourself?

remembering most people cant, they are fair to ask questions.

a stocker 26 probably best to have pistons by 330rwkw, but motor Hus is making will still take more of a pouding than that no worries

ok.., throw away the idea of T78

I want to build an engine to suit 300kw at the wheels.

Can i get a descent built engine for 6k?  Or should i just buy a 2nd hand engine and drive with a 160kw skyline :)

Now i can help, 300rwkw no worries, that what i got :cheers:

If you are serious PM me and i'll give you the workshop to do it that you wont ever have an issue with.

I aint read your current mods casue i cant be stuffed.

Take from below what you will. These prices are about 6-12months ago when i did it all, and are only approx

they are not "mates rates" or "done by self".

These are all ligit Workshop labour prices or Jap parts delivered etc etc so its realistic for someone who cant do it themselves like me

Approx Prices -

Motor - $7000 (inclu labour in/out etc)

Custom Turbo - $2500 (wish i got a special one now)

Manifold - $1100 (i think)

Ext Gate - $700

Injectors 740cc - $900

PowerFC - $1100

Z32 AFM - $450

Fuel pump(surge tank) - $350($600)

Clutch - $1500

New slot rotors and good pads - $1000

Diff - $600

Suspension - $NFI

I/C - $900-$1200

Tuning $500

CAMS - $700

Stock parts used in my project as somethings are great stock

Fuel Reg

Fuel Rail

Fuel Lines

Head (read no cams or cam gears)

Plenum

GTR BOV (didnt come on my car but its a stock bases item)

Now that will get you the power, and the stuff to hold it, and stop it all in a good package thats actually safe. Not a jockey who goes out with 300rwkw and stock everything else.

If i have left anything out post up and i'll jame the price in if i can remember

As for the bickering. Both sides have fair points, none are willing to see as such.

PIPE DOWN or its warning stick time for the lot of you.

Big Carl, $7,500 - thats just the engine right.  Or does it include turbo as well.

Nick - Current modifications are the following:

Engine is blown, need to rebuild anyway, wanna do it once and properly.  Hi-flowed turbo would only get around 200kw (give or take 10kw) i would think.

I wouldnt mind selling the hi-flowed turbo, and getting a T67-25G or TD06-25G.  Just dont know how hard i need to go on the engine for that setup (280-320kw).

Like everyone, i have a budget.  I dont want the engine rebuild to go beyond 6K.  Regarding the ECU, i might get a Microtec as I was told it is better than the Power FC.

Don't sell the Hiflow, get a VG30 turbine housing and get that fitted up by GCG and for a few hundred bucks you will have what your looking for.

Ian

Budget 10K -12K for Engine rebuild (including labour) - to do it properly. Trust me, I have done it.

Then add your turbo kit

Then add clutch to handle power

THen add semi slicks as you will need them for traction.

You really gotta ask yourself - do you need 300+ rwkw ?? OR do you just want it ?

I wanted it - then when I had it , didn't use it (even at Eastern Creek).

Have you even driven a 300+ rwkw car ? It's pretty scary. Especially RWD only.

If I were you I'd go a dicopotato - HKS 2835 - plenty of power and resoponse.

Anything more than that is a laggy laggy hoe and you won't be able to enjoy it as much.

My 2c

Thank's guys, your feedback and knowledge has shown me what kind of a goof i am. I did forget to mention the car was going to be for daily driving as well, and after reading all your posts, its not going to be much fun for driving and on the pocket.

Ok, i want 250rwkw nothing more. Would the 2530 or 2540 be a good choice, or are there problems with them too (for everyday driving). How about a TD05 25G - i think that will be good for every day driving, and should get around 250kw.

What kind of a turbo would be good for the above power, and everyday driving.

I already have the clutch to handle that power, i have the HKS FMIC, i have a hi-flowed turbo (but doubt it will get more than 210rwkw). I have a car coming down which has an oil cooler and a few other little goodies. I'll take them off and put it all on this car. Slowly getting there guys : )

I would have thought this was a situation where an RB25+30 combo would be an obvious solution if you can stand loosing some revs for some displacement, particularly if the RB25 head is OK

Less RPM + more displacements = generally cheaper as things don't have to be moving as quickly.

Lucien.

$6500 for engine rebuild plus parts except tomei poncams. does not include turbo. turbo cost me $2150 from horepowerinabox gt30. the $6500 includes engine out and engine in and running in on dyno. yes alot of money but speaking to other people on these forums it seems about right . i think r31 nismoid paid similar money and that was with ben from race pace whom seemsvery reputable.

300rwkws on a RB25 -

Forged Pistons - $1200

Big End Bearings $?

Rods - $?

Garret 30-40 Turbo + Piping - $4000

Fuel Pump - $180

New, decent ECU - $1500

Clutch - $1000

Labour - $1500

hhmm This is all guess work

But should be an idea for the RB25

Someone mentioned the vg30 rear on the hi flow from GCG. Someone on these forums (maybe even the same guy) did that and got great results. You should search up for it.

I would go this option for sure I think the guy is making 270rwkw with this setup and still has a very resposive turbo and engine is stock apart froms cams (dont quote me on this). From what I understand for over 300rwkw reliably you would be better off with an rb26. Doing this with an rb25 would cost more.

Allblitz send me a PM mate if you are interested in some knowledge and ideas... I dont work for or own a workshop, but I am currently building 3 rb30's, an rb26, and I am building a rb25 for my 240k that I want to have a really reliable 260kw atw's...... Its really achievable for little money but there are a few areas rb25 need special attention as oppossed to the other two rb's... Cheers...

Daniel...

i have a hi-flowed turbo (but doubt it will get more than 210rwkw).

What sort of high flow is that? Sounds more like a :uh-huh: low flow :uh-huh: :uh-huh: :uh-huh:

I have a GCG ball bearing high flow that makes 265 rwkw on an R34GTT

Ian (Bullant47) had the same on an R33 GTST and his made 245 rwkw

Now he has changed to a VG30 turbine cover and he is up to 271 rwkw

This is the thread

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/sh...ead.php?t=78983

If you do exactly what Ian has done (except use Tomei cams instead of HKS ;) ) you will get the same result. And there are at least 6 others in Sydney that I have advised to do similar upgrades and they are getting the same results.

:O

sorry blitz i relize after reading you post agai that you were sticking up for me... Thanks mate...

I had a chat to the boys at work today about the idea... Now im thinking i should do it...

I should try and get 300rwkw from a rb25 for 6k plus turbo... I reckon it can be done (dont know how reliable it would be, LOL). Of course labour is nil cost for me as id do it all myself. But i dod need the car on a daily basis so i cant do it straight away. But i reckon a 3 week holiday will cover it inbetween cans... lol But i guess to use my car for example id be cheating cause im already almost there. Id just have to do turbo and install pfc and id be done... So 6k would pay for that no worries...