Sigh...wish i had've just paid to get it installed but stupidly i installed my fmic kit myself last week on my r33 series 1.5

A couple of problems i encountered and wondered if anyone knew any simple ways to sort them out.

1. Anyone have any ideas where i can mount the horns?? Theres 2 of em, and not a lot of room. Just wondering where others may have put them.

2. Is my ic piping going from the inlet manifold out near the wheelarch on the left side (from the front) supposed to be close to the alternator mount?? Mine is and i'm worried it might rub a hole in the piping. I've just put some rubber between the 2.

3. BLinkers on my front bar are being pushed out by the intercooler. Not sure if the only thing to do is to move the intercooler back.

Anyway if anyone has any good ideas can they let me know...

Much appreciated.

Caine

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84034-fmic-install-problems/

ive installed a couple of fmic in my time. First of, is it a kit ie just jap kit or the likes? I found that with these "bolt on" kits, it actually required alot more work than simply bolting it on.

With the horns, you should have alot of room where the horns are located if its slightly pushing against the cooler then simply push it towards you. Best to post some pics up to get a better understanding of the problems your facing.

Are you kidding...Do it yourself, learn how to overcome these sort of problems...you will be better experienced for the next round and you will have 300 bux to spend on something else.

Dont be quitter mate. Cause you know what quitters do? THEY QUIT! hehe i watched pacifier the other nite :rant:

Dont they come with instructions for installation to aid first timers?

i did an FMIC install a few weeks back with little/no instructions, also to make it even harder it was an r33 style fmic kit and guy didn't even know if it was going to fit. After a full weekend of grinding, hacking and cutting the modding was complete, horns were moved to the latch bracket, the wiper watertank was truned 90degrees and the bonnet supports were hacked up a little.

Have a few shots up on cardomain:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/802508

Edited by RyanN

I was quoted about 200 simoleans to get my FMIC installed but did it myself anyways. The kit I brought (Trust one) came with a new wiper water tank to accommodate the extra piping. I mounted the horns to the latch bracket as well, and had to shave bits off the fan in the front and also off the back of the indicators. Also needed to buy a little extra silicon hosing. Got it to fit well, but there is a little extra gap between the front bar and the headlights. Had to cut the front bar as well, but didn't mind as I plan on getting a new one later on.

"Games don't affect people. If Pacman affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms munching on pills and listening to repetitive music."

HAhahah yeah i know. I'm feeling better about it now. Just took me so long and was a pain grinding and regrinding things to make it all fit. Now i still have to take the front bar off again to try and get the blinkers to fit....just painful thats all. Still you're right i'm 300bux richer and know a bit more. Would be easier to do again. I did have instructions which made it easier, just a bit nervy about cutting holes all over my car <_<

Does anyone have any pics of their horn possies? Did you drill holes for them or mount them to existing bolts?? Its hard to get em in and have the cables reach em.

I was quoted about 200 simoleans to get my FMIC installed but did it myself anyways. The kit I brought (Trust one) came with a new wiper water tank to accommodate the extra piping. I mounted the horns to the latch bracket as well, and had to shave bits off the fan in the front and also off the back of the indicators. Also needed to buy a little extra silicon hosing. Got it to fit well, but there is a little extra gap between the front bar and the headlights. Had to cut the front bar as well, but didn't mind as I plan on getting a new one later on.

"Games don't affect people. If Pacman affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms munching on pills and listening to repetitive music."

Same on every point here. I'm guessing you got V-SPL kit too?

Edited by Shane
Does anyone have any pics of their horn possies? Did you drill holes for them or mount them to existing bolts?? Its hard to get em in and have the cables reach em.

sorry haven't got any pics

i just used existing holes, unbolted something, slid the horn attachment into there, and re-bolted. didn't affect anything.

its pretty easy.. shouldn't be a prob if you are capable of mounting a FMIC that's for sure...

I did have instructions which made it easier, just a bit nervy about cutting holes all over my car  <_<

they are called speed holes! :lol:

I just made a bracket that bolted to the hood latch for the horns to sit off to the side and tucked back a bit. No problems with wiring.

Get some aluminium strips from bunnings.

This is on a 34 though.

Took me around 20hrs all up and that was start to finish mounting the cooler + making up the pipes from mandrel bends.

Go the speed holes! They make your car go faster! I did what Ed did; made a bracket up to attach them to. I'll see if I can get some pics up. The kit I got was an R-SPL HG; meant to have high performance and polished end tanks and piping. But yeah I would say that it's near identical to the V-SPL kit in terms of what you get, how you install it and it's dimensions. And yes, it was a real effort just to get it to fit right.

sorry haven't got any pics

i just used existing holes, unbolted something, slid the horn attachment into there, and re-bolted. didn't affect anything.

its pretty easy.. shouldn't be a prob if you are capable of mounting a FMIC that's for sure...

I dunno man, i'm pretty retarded in some pretty astounding ways!!!

hahaha anyway i'll get some brackets from bunnings. Think i was too brain fried to think of that, by the end of the install i was just pushing things in hoping they'd fit!

Been driving without a horn for a few days, desperately need it as i'm an angry driver..... :P

Oh yeah, and i reckon it took me about 10 hours to install....

Edited by shif_tea

Hey here is a pic of where I placed the horns after I moved them. Hope the pic is ok, it was off my phone!

"Games don't affect people. If Pacman affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms munching on pills and listening to repetitive music."post-13548-1124335947.jpg

Cool thanks man, i think i'm gonna have to do a similar thing, i was looking this morning and it doesn't look like theres enough room anywhere else back there for em.

My horns look bigger than those though, pretty loud too so we'll see. Photo turned out pretty good for camera phone!!

I was worried about blocking the radiator too much but i think i'm just being overly pedantic, shouldn't really make any difference should it.