Its that time of year again last year I celebrated my birthday at the WSID cause it was a Wednesday night 25/8 but this year its Thursday so still going to race next Week

also Have to beat my elusive 13.6 which i did almost a year ago SEPT 01/04

any one else looking at coming down for the racing not my B'day

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/

haha, johnny you sly dog! you should have said something, i would have come out, though i may be a bit of a curse...

Good work, that certainly is a bloody quick time, now hang up this drag sh1t and get back to the track.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1543883

I dare say it but the slot car has high 9's written all over it. I seen all 4 runs and every single gear was just massive wheel spin. The best launched gave the 10.7sec pass and even that was all over the place!

Bad decision to go racing last night though (or for atleast the next month) as the track was re-surfaced about 10 days ago and it appears to be like driving on ice. Even the professional teams at last sunday's 'Bracket Attack' were complaining how useless the track was (and many drivers were shutting off after 2nd gear).

Not sure why John was using grooved drag tyres though rather than full slicks?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1544065

I could not even begin to compare to the slot car but i was happy reset my PB 3 times from 13.6 to a 13.437 to a13.394 to a 13.354 @103MPH

with the car in everyday trim nothing removed other than the spare tyre

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1544390

Ben, the HPI records list might have something to do with the use of a drag radial:

http://www.hpi.com.au/drag_records.php

From that MPH, the 300 is capable of being no.1 and a flat 10, high nine is possible.

Alot of cars were getting loose last night, as were the bracket meet cars on Sunday. Apparently due to the resurfacing of the track last week.

Edited by NXTIME
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1544404

Those RWD over 2400cc times look quite high to me, 11.2sec nets you 10th place.

Adrian isn't too far off that and he has an unopened engine running a standard engine.... what is everyone else doing with their money???

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1544787

Those records are old, although i have heard that he was going for the fastest drag radial

They are a bit behind as they print a few months behind.

Ran a 10.709 139.67mph, cold night still had circuit set up as did not have time to change springs or even raise the car or adjust camber which was neg 1.4 and car was on the deck so not good for weight trasfer to rear and would not squat much. We only raced on Sunday at E Creek circuit and alternator failed which we changed on the Monday. My guys have been so busy with customers cars that we did not have time to do what we wanted and lucky to have made the track as the motor was sold and coming out on the Thursday at short notice and yes buyer was aware it was goign to the track. Traction was our biggest problem this time as the car had HEAPS of power. First two runs I smoke four gears and even grabbed fifth and went over the line spinning the wheels. With a warmer night and better set up, and with the power it makes it should do a low 10.

As testimony to our clutch just one of our single plate clutches and done heaps of track days with a bit over 1300 kg 456.6rwkw was too much for it. Now we have new ones with 1550kg clamp load. Only managed 5 runs as a big oil down and lots of cars and the last two runs I had clutch slipping bad. I ended up in the lane right after the oil down and did a massive wheel spin in third when I suspect I hit a slippery bit and thought I might get to test my new cage. Straightened it up but not a good run.

The motor is out today as planned and sold and on the back of a Ute with one of our engine brackets we make to transport motors and heading up to Newcastle with the new owneras I type. We have the funds now to put together a VQ35, 100kg lighter and will have a lot more power. We will throw together a cheapy VG motor for cicuit days for the short term.

Also got to weigh the slot car for the first time and 1310kg with three quarter of a tank of fuel and with out me in it. This was about what I thought it would be.

Yes running DOT approved street tyres for the HPI comp as well as Sport RWD.

Good to see yo there Benm which you always seem to turn up to motorsports events. A true enthusiast. Beer Baron it is not that I did not invite you it was last minute rush and no time to let you know. I was on the back foot after th false start at the SAU drag day so rather than say yes we are going etc and something comes up we just put our heads down and got there.

Edited by Boosted Zed
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1545293

Beer Baron it is not that I did not invite you it was last minute rush and no time to let you know.  I was on the back foot after th false start at the SAU drag day so rather than say yes we are going etc and something comes up we just put our heads down and got there.

now that i think back you did mention it when we were out at EC saying that before the engine went you wanted one last run at the strip. what can i say, beer kills brain cells... true story.

all things considered it was a great time. I'm guessing the replacement alternator cured the low power problem?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1546450

You would expect the HPI website to also not be 2 months behind ;) Although MSRB26 and TWO06L's times were in there not very long after the drag day. I have always preferred for records lists to also include the date on which the time is run, but none of them do this.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1546478

Guest two.06l
I could not even begin to compare to the slot car but i was happy reset my PB 3 times from 13.6 to a 13.437 to a13.394 to a 13.354 @103MPH

with the car in everyday trim nothing removed other than the spare tyre

well done spx25t...... ;) getting a new PB is a good present for yourself for your Birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MATE. :)

Well done Uncle JOHN.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1547920

Hey slow up on the birthdays I don't want them to come around any faster after 41 of them under my belt, mine is 30th June or is this my other life or?

We actually turned down the boost to try and get traction withthe circuit suuspension set up and still did 139.67mph. Wait until the VQ35 much more power again and 100kg lighter, although Sport RWD I think I will have to add weight, currently 1310kg with out me?

How is this for power graph though 5000rpm nearly 400rwkw and 200rwkw plus from 36000 rpm and it rev limited at 8500 which I hit lots going down the straight line thing. Huge power band.

zed456kw.gif

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1552419

ummm "uncle John" the birthday wish was for me hahaha

Thanks stace for the wishes I am almost contemplating to see if a set of slicks would help me go quicker before upping the power when fitting the new turbo

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1557619

Consistentally in the 1.9 to 2.0 on my quickest pass I have listed it below

60 foot= 1.963

330 foot= 5.606

660 foot= 8.610

1000 foot= 11.173

ET = 13.354

MPH= 103.23

this was on TRX rims (15X5 I think) running cheap tyres Bridgestone G Grid on one and something Ventura on the other.

Edited by spx25t
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/84496-wsid-248/#findComment-1559431