• Replies 40

I just sent this general bitch:

Dear big head honcho journalist,

Australia is a large island with an aging population, and as such the government has geared itself to laws that would keep any large Retirement Home (of say, 12 million people) happy.

The laws against P Platers not being able to drive cars that an 95 year old woman, or a man with epilepsy could get into and drive legally is a testament to this.

I am a 23 year old Australian male, and I put a lot of my paycheck into my pride and joy, my car. I have done this ever since I could afford a car, and will continue to do so for the rest of my life.

My country and my fellow road users are not giving me a fair go.

I have owned performance cars ever since I could afford to drive. All my cars have been modified safely, and have accelerated, handled and stopped faster than your average family sedan. I have never had a car accident or drunk alcohol and driven. I have never ran a red light. I give drivers around me heaps of room and pay far more attention than normal road users. I never tailgate or weave between traffic. People compliment me on my car and I love my car.

So please tell me why :

- At nothing more than a Police Officers word, with no evidence he can take my car (and sell it) causing me emotional and financial loss under the new "Anti-Hoon" laws

- At nothing more than a Police Officers word, with no evidence he can claim that my car has illegal modifications, and am treated GUILTY until proven Innocent (as if this is a free    country anyway!) which involves my time and money spent to prove my innocence. Upon being proven innocent time and cost involved are not ever returned.

- After paying HUGE amounts of Income tax and Registration, we still have crap roads

- Even though Motor sports and cars are ingrained into our culture, we are persecuted by our Government and legislators through the hidden road tax called "Excessive Revenue    Raising" from speeding

- Per Capita we are more fined for speeding than any other country in the world (Australians are given speeding tickets about 5x more than Americans)

- It is Illegal to put larger brakes or firmer suspension to improve a cars safety

I guess at the end of the day, Hidden ways to screw people over in the name of Safety is a really effective money maker. And what politician in their right mind has the balls to challenge something proposed for "Safety" .. the answer... NONE!

Not only is grouping young car enthusiasts with "Hoons" discriminatory to my subculture, its actually shoddy journalism. I use the term journalism loosely because as we all know your show does not fall under the same strict guidelines as regular News programs, right?

Sure there is a few morons out there who wreck it for the rest of us, just like everything else, but most car enthusiasts actually obey all the road laws just as much if not moreso than ordinary Australians. It is therefore likely that someone interested in cars would pay FAR MORE ATTENTION while driving. Inattention is undisputedly the #1 cause of accidents on the road today.

Anyway, if you see me on the road give me a wave.

Regards,

Heath

Edited by pentae

great stuff there mate. i agree 100% with it all

i've always thought that not being able to modify a cars brakes and suspension was so ridiculous its not funny.

most modified cars are modified in all aspects, making them far safer than anything else on the road...yet its illegal. what a crock of shit

i'm also glad to see you didnt refer to them as journalists...they're a joke.

On the other hand. if any of you have seen the ACA vid i have on my PC, you'd see the exact MORONS that have caused all this shit. they are an absolute disgrace.

anyone that has webspace and wants to host it for all to see, let me know. it will make the majority of us real enthusiasts sick.

pentae: That was well typed up mate... the only thing I could've suggested was to omit the word 'crap' because it kinda made that part sound a bit teenager-ish. Otherwise well done.

But...

I can't help but imagine the retard at ACA who gets it is just gonna read over it, go "pffffft", then send it to another folder never to be seen again.

Time to organise a street protest?

pentae: That was well typed up mate... the only thing I could've suggested was to omit the word 'crap' because it kinda made that part sound a bit teenager-ish. Otherwise well done.

But...

I can't help but imagine the retard at ACA who gets it is just gonna read over it, go "pffffft", then send it to another folder never to be seen again.

Time to organise a street protest?

aka defect station

lol

the guy who is leading this (king of the concrete jungle from boostcruising) posted this earlier-

Just got a phoe call saying they have been inundated with responses all of a sudden from people all over Australia in the car scene with the same email so they are looking into doing a story and will get back to me I told them "looking into it" wasn't good enough and until something is done people in the car scene will be angry and voice their concerns so I presume the emails will continue and that I had no control over them

Sooooooooooooo Continue on sending them [/i]

so to those who said it would do no difference, look at it now, it at least made them sit up and notice!

Totti, there was a thread for the aca report of those wankers back somewhere on here, i think it was called ACAs slander goes too far or something, it has the link you are looking for ;)

the guy who is leading this (king of the concrete jungle from boostcruising) posted this earlier-

Just got a phoe call saying they have been inundated with responses all of a sudden from people all over Australia in the car scene with the same email so they are looking into doing a story and will get back to me  I told them "looking into it" wasn't good enough and until something is done people in the car scene will be angry and voice their concerns so I presume the emails will continue and that I had no control over them 

Sooooooooooooo Continue on sending them  [/i]

so to those who said it would do no difference, look at it now, it at least made them sit up and notice!

Totti, there was a thread for the aca report of those wankers back somewhere on here, i think it was called ACAs slander goes too far or something, it has the link you are looking for :)

i got an email from ninemsn saying that my email would be delayed because of a massive amount of traffic to the inbox! looks like we're stopping their other stories. lol

This has been posted on several other forums, and there have been hundereds of emails sent in!  someone has even set up a program that send them in automatically!

Great idea. Now instead of a proper petition, it just makes car enthusiasts look like spammers.

If they're not from individuals, it makes it a whole bunch easier to write off all the same message as the act of some script kiddy hacker (which will give them more ammo to fcuk with teens in public perception).

As a side note, under the new email laws what this "someone" has done (set up a script to flood someone's mailbox and stop it from being accessed) can be construed as a Denial of Service attack, which is a criminal offense. Its an extreme case, but possible under current laws.

If Channel 9 gets very punitive, they could just file a lawsuit against the guy and then vilify him on ACA.

Anyway, Channel 9 contacted BLISTC (a mod on NS.com) after doing their series on car hoons (with the despicable shots of some fnarkwits trying to start a fight with the cops under the Harbour Bridge) for a response from a car enthusiast's point of view. He asked me to help him write a reply, given my various rants on Silvia NSW. I'll attach what I sent to him as a suggestion to reply.

Anyway, after BLISTC sent it in they said "we'll get back to you", and never did. Don't hold your breath that the "we've seen the responses and want to do a story" is anything more than a handwave.

street_racing.txt

Got an email saying unable to be sent due to some difficulties on their side or some sh1t.

got that too....at first i got an email saying it was delayed...tonight i got that it failed etc...so i just sent it again directly through my email and not on the site