Help Buying An R33 Gts-t

Hi guys, have just joined this forum.

Currently, I own a 1997 TF Magna Sedan, nicely done up looks very tidy.

I'm looking at selling it, and picking up an R33 GTS-T Series II M-Spec.

I want one in pretty much stock format, maybe mags and lowered at most.

I've been doing my searching, and am budgeting 18k or so, max. Alot of them are going for well over 20k though, and some as low as 16k (with 60,000km's average).

What sort of price range should I look at, where should I look and what basic checks should I make as to avoid any common problems with this particular model?

I'm 19, located in Eatons Hill, QLD.

Thanks for any and all help.

hmm price range anywhere between 18.5k-22k including all on road cost/insurance etc etc..

trying searching it on carsales or in the for sale section on this forum and see if you can pick up a local one. If you dont ilke any of them, then i guess you can import one..

gd luck..

Best tip: Search around and be ready to pay a little more than you budget for..

hmm price range anywhere between 18.5k-22k including all on road cost/insurance etc etc..

trying searching it on carsales or in the for sale section on this forum and see if you can pick up a local one. If you dont ilke any of them, then i guess you can import one..

gd luck..

Best tip: Search around and be ready to pay a little more than you budget for..

I've budgeted 18k for the car itself. Rego, Insurance, Stamp Duty etc is seperate and I've budgeted for that also (all insurance quotes together ready for purchase etc).

It's just a matter of finding a nice, clean low Km M Spec Series II for under 18k (18k is my limit).

you want to find a local one or import one??

there are so many on carsales.com... suggest you check it out..

or try searchin here dude.. so many skyilnes for sale..

Local for sure. I know way too many people who've had issues with importing, mostly wound back odometer... I know one guy who bought the car, and when it arrived it was a different colour entirely... he ordered a black one, and it came in burgundy. Broker was not held accountable, and thus, he had to cop it.

I've looked around here, my biggest gripe is that alot of them are Series I, which are definitely not aesthetically, my cup of tea... furthermore, alot of cars here are modified quite a bit and/or thrashed.

Doesn't seem to be many M-Spec @ Carsales, but I'll keep looking.

heheh i had no problems with mine, when my compliance shop imported one. but anyways.. keep searching dude, im sure you will find one..

hmm another reason why its better 2 import is that you can buy a totally stock as a rock car and start fresh.. You just need to know the right ppl..

well gdluck anyhow..

lol, you say you dont want to import because of the odometer being wound back....where do you think all the 1's available locally came from?...they're all imports

if you dont mind a white car, then you should have no trouble finding 1....

lol, you say you dont want to import because of the odometer being wound back....where do you think all the 1's available locally came from?...they're all imports

if you dont mind a white car, then you should have no trouble finding 1....

Yeah, I realise that they're all imports, but irregardless I'd probably prefer a local one. However, looking at some of the import prices etc it'd probably be my best option.

Anyone interested in buying a Magna? :)

I would love a White Skyline, but I can't find any good nick Series II M-Spec for less than 20k. Quite strange, because some of them are really cheap too (some around 16k, but in automatic tranny and possibly something wrong?).

Mate when you’re talking about R33 GTS25-t M-Spec is implied, as they are the only specification released besides the A-LSD spec.

Really? So all, 1996 GTS-T 2.5's are M-Spec??? That'll help heaps.

Sorry to be a pain guys, I'm new to Skylines, I just they know they look sweet as, and go pretty hard.

Also... any idea on what needs to be done, and for how much with the major services?

I picked up a 95 series 1 with a genuine 48 000K's,, stock,, I also got a 3 inch pollished stainless Nismo exhaust with carbon fibre tip,, a new front mount,, a set of 17 inch Volks racing GTP's,, side skirts,, strut brace,, and a new stainless 3 inch high flow cat,,an extra front bar (dunno what type) a set of perfect series 2 front seats and got all that for 16.5 K,, got it from an importer over at moorooka Qld..

Edited by 33GTT

No true dude,, I am a mechanic and have worked in the rental car industry for years,, I can tell wear and tear, and this car is for real,, also under the bonnet is dusty and never washed,, it still has paper tags qith jap writing on the wiring harness,, it drives like new and feels the same,, I was very lucky

EDIT,, whoops, this reply went in the wrong possi,, forgive me I'm new,,

Edited by 33GTT