how did you get the gt30 to use a standard rb25det turbine section. i was told it could not be done as i already have a nice downpipe and aexhaust i was wanting to keep using. what HP levels do you think the internally wastegated gt30 will allow for before blowing open the wastegate flapper. beautiful setup!!

• Replies 333

The wiring on the rb25det s2 is different to s1. S1 has four wires - 12v supply, 12v earth, signal supply and signal earth. While s2 has 12v supply, common earth and a signal supply.

how did you get the gt30 to use a standard rb25det turbine section. i was told it could not be done as i already have a nice downpipe and aexhaust i was wanting to keep using. what HP levels do you think the internally wastegated gt30 will allow for before blowing open the wastegate flapper. beautiful setup!!

He is not using the std rb25 (a/r 0.4#) housing, he is using the vg30 (a/r 0.6#) housing.

I had the same problem with my turbo up grade, when the car is started it will idel fine but after a few revs it hunt idel and stall. so to fix this I need to plumb back my BOV and make sure the spring wasn't to hard set.

fixed the problem but need to update the ecu from standard now as the safc2 is as far as I can go with it. Pulling 230rwkw on standard injectors and 12psi.

need the powerFC and 555cc injectors to get bigger power!!!!

I had the same problem with my turbo up grade, when the car is started it will idel fine but after a few revs it hunt idel and stall. so to fix this I need to plumb back my BOV and make sure the spring wasn't to hard set.

I'm still running the standard BOV plumbed back. My mate put a little pipe on the 4 inch intake to accomodate... so its not that :D

Tonight, I might record the whole 2 maps onto an excel spreadsheet, and reset the ECU. This might help it find the idle again.

The maps are tuned too good to loose. Paul, I'll be sure to pass them onto you. You'll have 210rwkw in no time.. But just be careful, as you may need to tweak it (retard timing just a little) to prevent detonation.

Its a VG30.. .63 housing, not standard. You need to read the thread a little better.

I'm not going to blow open the "flapper" unless I put on a really weak actuator. My mate has a supra running 320rwkw + it has a 800hp turbo attached internally gated.

the only problem with an internally gated turbo is the fact that it may surge, and the boost cannot be controlled as well at higher levels...

I'm only gonig to be running 1bar - 1.1 bar.

Edited by The Mafia
The wiring on the rb25det s2 is different to s1. S1 has four wires - 12v supply, 12v earth, signal supply and signal earth. While s2 has 12v supply, common earth and a signal supply.

thanks heaps for this, will update my page/info pics area

if u reset the pfc will that reset the idle learning thing too?

yeah, and I lose all my tuning ($500 worth)

I just spoke to my tuner and he said that I may have fried the little stepper motor that controls the idle, so I am going to pull it off tonight and see if it moves. If it appears to be working properly, I am going to grab a laptop and map out the ignition and injector maps on an excell spreadsheet, and reset the power FC and do the idle learning.

My tuner (he is a pretty good mate too, mates with my fabricator friend lol..small town) said not to lose the current tune as it will be a good starting point. I really hope I can get some good power out of my motor. Torque mainly. He did say it was a bit of a freak to be a 1996 and have 169psi accross all cylinders and only 2% leakdown, and should go well.

Must be the oil and tune hey? I run Shell Helix 5w40 Fully Synthetic, and change it every 5,000 kms.

Myself and Ashton (fabricator friend) are gonig to change the clutch on saturday. My tuner is giving me a RB25 Flywheel to get machined, so that I can put it in and give him my flywheel to swap (cause we won't be able to get it machined on a saturday)

anyway, its looking good.

Checked Nengun, the injectors won't leave Japan till the 9th of october.. must be a shortage :D oh well, plenty of time eh :D

I will keep this thread updated. Oh and if anyone has any tips, you are more than welcome to share them.

And I again say thanks to Paulr33, he's a value to the SAU community. If you own a Skyline, definately go and have a look at his site (in his sig)

The project has only begun.

Edited by The Mafia

With regards to the turbine housing size of the vg30.

I've been speaking to ATS here in Adelaide, he said there are no documented specs on the RB20/25DET and VG30DET turbine housing. He has measured up the VG30DET turbine housing and said it is some where around the .72 size.

The RB25det turbine housing on the other hand is a .6 something, not a .4 like some of us believe.

If he is right or not is another thing. :D

Edited by Cubes
With regards to the turbine housing size of the vg30.

I've been speaking to ATS here in Adelaide, he said there are no documented specs on the RB20/25DET and VG30DET turbine housing. He has measured up the VG30DET turbine housing and said it is some where around the .72 size.

The RB25det turbine housing on the other hand is a .6 something, not a .4 like some of us believe.

If he is right or not is another thing. :D

very interesting..

as .72 would be even better... Quick spool of a .63 with the nice smooth characteristics of a .86..

if anyone can, please confirm this. maybe measure one up.

no worries paulr33. Took me a fuse to work it out properly lol. That was for wiring a z32 to a s2 r33. I used cubes guide as a reference and then once worked out cubes and sk ok'd it. If you add that it should give everyone else an idea on how to do it.

With the 0.70 comp housing and small 0.64 rear its gonna come on like a switch and your gonna be laying black rubber all over the road than have forward momentum :D

It will be interesting to see the response and top end using the stock cast exhaust manifold.

lol thats awesome, good to see safety is priority no.1...whos the bloke wearing the thongs in the workshop? wicked project there, should go nicely once tuned.

I was thinking the same thing!

oh and Mafia have you tried Greenline.jp for the injectors? I find them quicker than nengun

mmm GT30...