Im from adelaide and going to purchase a manual R33 S2 skyline somtime this year but having a few problems. This is where u come in

My first consideration is buying a car interstate (melb). :)

My 2nd is using Prestigemotorsport service

IMPORT

There are pros and cons for bother situations i.e. cheaper with import however, u cant acutally test drive the car and all the 'inspectors report' is very very brief. They dont really go into detail. e.g report on how breaks are, any rust on car, any electrical probs.. etc etc (some do rarely). So i import a car, it arrives 6-8weeks down the track l8r. suddenly the car's air con unit dont work, rust probs with car etc. So i guess trust with the service dealer plays a great role. but then with this sum of momey u cant just 'trust any one'.

Or my 2nd option is tofly 1 way up to melb to buy a low k S2 man turbo skyline wif reasonable low ks for around 17,000. then get it fully inspected then drive it bk to adelaide.

The benefits of this is that u can actually test the car etc. but then u have to book for accomodation (hotel) etc. Plane ticket x2 one for me and me old man, then money to catch a cab, hire car inspector. It all adds up.

So Fellow South Australians What approach should u take if u were in my use?

Also has any one from SA used Prestigemotorsport service with geoff and can gimme a summary of how it turned out? i.e. any mechanical probs, exterior probs any probs.. at all. any extra costs? how teh car turned out?

All Feed back will greatly appreciated ;)

Kind regards

Shorty_01

hey buddy, wasn't too sure which thread to reply to, so after a looooooong game of paper rock scissors i chose this one.

I came accros the same problem a few months back when looking for a car, Prestiege or private car in OZ. I think Geoff runs a pretty good style of business, and everything is upto you. I personally would look for one already complied here in Aus, Going to Melb isn't that bad, Mate and i flew over hired a brand new Maxina(Phat as) slept in it and then bought car and drove back straight away, no worries! Cheap as! But i was lucky enough to do a deal with my mate for my car. i take it there isn't much around in Adel?

hey guys,

yeh i have looked locally and there aint any Manual R33 s2 turbo with lows ks around below 70 for the price of 16-17g.

If u knoe any gimme details plz :D my sources im looked are simply the tradingpost, carpoint, some dealers etc.

Prob follow deluxe's idea or hiring a car, lol. How much did it cost u mate for the day? LOL

yeh mate

but im only going to drive it say 1-2yrs max then buy another car.

What im saying is lows ks with good conditons always sells easier than a car that has high ks(100+). Its simply more attrative etc. Im aware that there are rarely any cars that acutally have genuine lows ks as most of the cars with low ks have been wound bk prior import etc.

I good car doesnt matter on the ks it depends on how often it was serviced, thrashed or not, look after or not etc.

Its a good point ur making. i just thinking how to sell in near future etc.

Im gonna spend money refreshing the engine to get it tp preform to it optimum etc. on da car im buying.

When buying a car thats already been imported to Aust, demand to see the compliance / auction paperwork, as the kms are shown there. From that original km reading, you can tell by the wear on the interior (gearknob, steering wheel, carpets, seat, etc) if that kms reading was genuine or not.

Beware of buying a fully modified car from interstate, may need to take back to near-standard to get the SA plates. May not either, but keep that in mind.

From what Ive heard both JSpec and Prestige are good operators.

WWW DOT FOR SALE

1996 GTST 83,000KM's

Drift R's

Hybrid frount mount,

D&T 3inch turbo back dual 3inch tips

HID xenons

Apexi SAFC

K&N filter

Rgularly serviced with original nissan oils and fulids

well looked after

new tyres and brake pads over $1500 spent

Pioneer head unit with jbl splits, alpine rears and JL audio sub. 600W JBL amp for sub

mint cond inside and out

pics @ http://www.users.on.net/~skravo/Skyline/

0404 092 041

will be advertised this saturday in advertiser

after 20,000 but am negotiable.

come have a look and u'll be impressed.

actually my car wasn't the first, it was just on a crackdown weekend and some smuck cops decided to pull me over. neway didnt get a fine so all is good.

i have some new personalised plates that are to do with the R33 that should also be interesting to see as im selling them with the car.

nice nice nice

yeh 20,000 is over my limit man.

Ur car is one fine ride which is well looked after with. Its got the looks and the performace to bk it up at teh lights.

my figure is under under 17,000g

Good luck with the sale!

ShortY_01

I was, and prob still am in ur situation shorty_01, i was gona get a r33 1997 series 2, but now im going 4 a R34.

I rekon u got a better chance on finding 1 here that importing 1. Theres heaps around, n they come up here and there. I founda couple in melb a while bk, but they've prob sold. Melb is ur best chance.

Its pretty hard 2 find 1 at about 17k, especially with low k's, ur better off going 4 somthing around the 60,000kms, and even if its late 1996. I think there was 2 at redline on north east rd the other week.

look around and 1 is bound to pop up. at the same time if u see and r34's let me know :P...

actually im thinking of getting a cheap 1996 for a while till i get my r34, cos my non turbo is getting very annoying, especially against my mates HSV GTOLE...lol...

Hey dude,

Yeh mate thanks for teh advice. Yeh mate i prob use J-spec or somfink like that as u can pre-arrange a full inspection of the car prior import. for lil extra dosh.

Looking for an R34 ey. Not bad. Mate if u want a good deal got to www.prestigemotorsport.com.au ull find plenty of R34s manual turbos for about 25-28g wof one wif decents ks. Finding 1 in adel or aus is pretty gay as it cost u about 30+g

Take care

Looking for an R34 ey. Not bad. Mate if u want a good deal got to www.prestigemotorsport.com.au ull find plenty of R34s manual turbos for about 25-28g wof one wif decents ks. Finding 1 in adel or aus is pretty gay as it cost u about 30+g

Yeah mate, i know, ive been in touch with them, but like u, i wana c the car n have it checked out first, so im leaving importing as my last option :P