Some excellent cam design info MegaGTS4 in the second link.

As far as blower size goes, it has more to do with required airflow than actual engine size. For instance a 5.0 litre engine with a 4,500 RPM redline might require about the same size blower as a 2.5 Litre engine that redlines closer to 9,000 RPM, at similar boost levels.

For both engines the maximum blower speed might be 13,500 RPM, but the 5.0 litre engine would turn the blower at 3 times crank speed, the 2.5 Litre engine at 1.5 times crank speed.

In my opinion an RB25/26 engine is not a typical production engine, it has far better top end breathing than a lot of similar capacity engines.

If you look at the power levels produced by the M90 on larger engines at typical roots blower boost, maybe 7 to 10 psi, you might expect 150 to 200 Kw. This would be a reasonable power goal for an RB25/26 at those same boost levels as well.

As a very rough guide, an RB26 will inhale 1300 cc worth of air each revolution. If you run 0.5 Bar boost (7.35psi), the blower must inhale 1950 cc worth of air per engine revolution.

With a theoretical blower capacity of 1400cc per revolution, it must be driven at 1950/1400, or 1.39 times crank speed.

There are going to be a lot of factors that influence the final boost you end up with, particularly exhaust back pressure.

My first guess with an M90 on an RB25/26 would be to try a blower drive ratio of about 1.5 as a starting point. This would be a pretty comfortable compromise between blower leakage and maximum blower RPM.

According to Eaton, the M62 is supposed to be a more appropriate size. It probably would be on an older 2.5 Litre two valve pushrod engine with lower redline.

Hey Mega and Warpspeed, thanks heaps for your replies its all good stuff. I realise that mounting the blower is not going to be easy, and I dont want to have to redo it once I have done it. I dont think that matching up the outlet of the eaton blower will be too difficult, isn't the 4.0L jag a straight 6? either way it shouldnt be rocket science to fabricate a collector for the outlet out of aluminium? What do you think?

Bottom line though is cost - I can get a new Eaton M90 from holden for about $1600 - buy one new from a supercharger dealer and it is around $1200 dearer, so it seems to me that perhaps the buying power of holden has kept the price down? 'Spose they can really buy in bulk.

It says alot that the eaton M90 is recommended for 3-5L as the SC14 (same size) is on a 2L and if anything wont pump the air required for an RB25 efficiently....

Warpspeed, could you explain why a 2.6L engine only inhales 1300cc per revolution? Also, how did you come up with the figure of 1950cc for a 1400cc blower at 0.5bar? Just curious - and it could help with calculations in the future. Is it in Corky Bells book?

Cheers Steve

Hi Steve.

A four stroke engine only has an induction stroke every second revolution for each cylinder. So for each turn of the crank only three cylinders will be on an an induction stroke, or 1300cc of air per crankshaft revolution will be drawn into the engine, for an RB26 anyway.

If a positive displacement supercharger also had a displacement of 1300cc of air per rev, there would be no boost if it turned at the exact same speed as the engine. There would be atmosperic pressure upstream and downstream of the blower.

But if the blower pumps more air in, say 1.5 times as much, or 1950cc, then this air will be compressed so it fits into the volume of 1300cc that the engine will flow. The pressure will rise to 1.5 times atmospheric. This is 0.5 Bar boost, or 7.35 psi.

This is all very theoretical, perfect engine, perfect blower, no pressure drops, no rotor leakage, and so on. What you end up actually getting, might be more or less boost on a real engine.

But it is a good way to make a really quick rough guess as to how fast you might need to turn a certain blower on a certain engine to get somewhere near the boost you want.

Yes, the Jag is a 4.0 Litre straight six, DOHC four valves per cylinder.

I agree the new Holden M90 is a very good deal. I strongly suggest you make up a dummy blower first and see if it is going to fit before forking out $1600 though. I have never used one of these, and they look pretty bulky. Shorter drive snouts may be available from Eaton as a spare part, or it may be possible to fabricate something yourself if this is going to help to install it.

You will need a flat, very strong surface to bolt the blower onto, and the mounting/manifold can be either steel or aluminium.

Personally I prefer steel because it is easier to weld and work with, and I can do it all myself at home. Aluminium will need to be very thick, and probably will not end up any lighter in the end.

Hello Duncan.

Now this is mighty interesting. I know Jaguar make a 4.0 (4.2) Litre V8, but I have here a Magazine article that gives details of the supercharged six as also being 4.0 Litres ? ?

This article appears in Zoom April/May 1997 page 70, and briefly describes the following supercharged engines, Holden 3.8L V6, Mazda 2.3L 800M miller engine, Jaguar 4.0 six, and Mercedes SLK 2.3L supercharged.

What it says, and I quote from directly Zoom...........

The XJR uses a positive displacement Roots-type Eaton M90 blower - yes the same basic unit as the one on the Holdens ! The blower is driven at 2.5 times crankshaft speed (13,750rpm at the redline) and it boosts to a maximum of 0.7 Bar (10psi). A compression ratio of 8.5:1 is used and the valve timing is such that there is no overlap where both intake and exhaust valves are open at the same time. The 4 litre straight six has a mighty power output of 240kW (320bhp!) at 5,000 rpm and a peak torque of 512Nm at 3,050 rpm. If you buy the supercharger unit from Jaguar it will set you back by $2,970.

End of quote.................

I hear what you are saying Duncan, but now I am confused, anyone know more about this ?

Fair nuff, there could be another engine. I just checked www.jaguar.co.uk, the engine in the XKR is definately 4.2 supercharged v8. Couldn't find details of the supercharger though....

Interesting, apart from this jag engine, are there any other supercharged straight sixes?

Hi,

I have looked into this a bit for an rb20det. Almost to the point of doing it.

The issues I thought were needing to be overcome are issues such as blower compressing air at low rpm and pushing it backwards out the turbo rather than through the engine. You may need some sort of a control valve to control this, also finding the correct rpm point to switch the blower off.

Does the engine management system have enough scope to provide enough fuel at low rpm given the huge increase in power you would get from idle?

I guess you can run two filters for intakes, and I gather that afms generally are just a cumulative voltage type arrangement therefore you could just wire the one from the blower and the one feeding the turbos together and feed that in to the management system.

I wonder if you might be better off removing the turbo and just put a blower on, you would smoke everyone in traffic because you have instant power from so low down.....

Russ

Hey Russ,

the problem of the air being compressed at low rpm is pretty easy to overcome by using a bypass valve, the air is allowed to pass back to the front of the blower when cruising and when at idle -

As for engine management, that shouldn't be too much of a problem, as the MAF sensor will fuel for whatever air is drawn into the system, so if you have boost at low rpm, the computer will know this and compensate appropriately.

there would be no need to use two AFMs, as this would confuse the computer - adding two voltage signals together will double the voltage, if you wired them in series this would also cause problems with the correct voltage being seen by the computer. If you did want to use two intakes you would probably have to run the car from MAP but then you will have troubles arranging a shut off for the blower outlet when the turbos come on boost.

Hi russcb007.

Steve is right about engine management, the airflow meter just sees more air, so adds more fuel. In fact the engine management self learning will slowly adapt and fully remap the ECU over the whole part throttle fuel map.

Full throttle mapping at low RPM will not be that far out either, because it just adds more fuel automatically. It is not the same as say doubling the boost pressure with a stock turbo. Here the engine could go dangerously lean because either the injectors, airflow meter, or fuel pump may top out.

The only problem you might encounter is that the ignition may be over advanced at low RPM. But even here most mechanical (turbo) distributors and ECUs employ boost retard on the ignition curve, or alternatively, the detonation sensor will retard the ignition.

If your engine was originally n/a it will not have provision for boost retard of ignition timing, and you may have problems with overadvanced full throttle low RPM ignition.

Supercharging a previously turbo engine in my experience has worked o/k every time for me. For best results a full dyno retune is required of course, but you are not likely to blow your motor just because you now have a lot of new low end boost pressure than you originally had with the turbo.

Just removing a turbo and fitting a supercharger will radicaly change the engine characteristics, even with an identical boost level. A supercharger can never give that top end rush, but what you end up with is bulk low end and midrange grunt that slowly tapers off and dies right at the very top end.

How badly this tapering off is, depends on a lot of factors, but you can get most or all of it back with some further engine work.

Twincharging will give you absolutely everything you want, because you can set it up to behave as you desire. By changing pulley ratios, and turbine exhaust housing size you can make it act more like a supercharged engine, or more like a turbocharged engine. If cost and complexity does not frighten you, and you enjoy a challenge, go for it !

The easiest way to go about it is to first supercharge your engine, sort it all out and get it running right, then add a really large turbo in SERIES with the supercharger. Lancia and Nissan have both sold production twincharge systems.

Both of these are series flow, where the turbo compressor and supercharger flow the same air. I have built a system like this myself, and would have no reservations about doing it again.

hmmm..

Yes yes and...yes....

I have no A/Con so that should make life easier...I can easily fit the blower to the A/Con braket for belt tension etc....

All sounds too easy, just have to make the pipe..I have done the calculations for this already....

Just have to wait until I can have the car off the road for a week or so...

Will let you know how it goes...probably have many more queries etc....I am considerably less then competant with anything involving electrons providing current...many fires have been started due to my incompetance hehehe...

Cheers and thanks for the help,

Russ

I was actually planning to use a toyota supercharger off 4agze..it has inbuilt clutch etc which I thought would be easy to switch on and off when needed. It almost bolts straight onto the A/Con bracket and it is smallish.

I am concerned about oil supply etc as maybe it has to be orientated a certain way. Also maybe it will be a bit small, after reading some of the previous posts ...maybe a bigger blower is warranted???

Ahhh it is also very cheap..already have one. May be the deciding factor :D

I thought it would be better run in parrallel with turbo not in series, but may change my mind, just wasn't sure how in series the blower wouldnt blow out the exhaust...I guess you would just have another valve...alot of valves though...

You said you have done in series and it worked well....could you give a brief description of how it was layed out etc...

Thanks,

Russ

I have discussed this topic in a fair bit of detail on previous threads on both SAU and SDU Forums, it might be worth your while doing a search using SUPERCHARGER or TWINCHARGE as key words.

Another place to look is a thread I contributed to on the GT-R Register Bulletin Board (UK). Look under Technical/Turbos, in the archives there will be a thread titled "Supercharger as well?"

http:www.gtr.co.uk/forum/upload/showthread.php?s=c2f334bb7c5525911d87eaa6

I lost my password and have not bothered to re-register on that Forum. For some strange reason my WARPSPEED handle has defaulted to someone called "ellisnc" whoever he might be ? But in response to my posts I am referred to as Warpspeed, and it is really me not ellisnc !

So ellisnc must be as baffled as I am ?

For some reason the link does not come out as I typed it in, try

gtr.co.uk/forum/upload/showthread.php?s=c2f334b7c5525911d87eaa6

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• Hi everyone, I've found some free time to write up my "build thread" which is 10% 'build' and 90% fixing problems of a skyline that has endured a lifetime of abuse. I will start with the backstory & get everyone up to speed. Ever since I was just a teenager in high school I have had a spot in my heart for the shape of an R32 rivaled only by the look of an S13, my mates & I all having overly ambitious dreams as one does about having the sickest car in the school carpark. Unfortunately I started my journey of cars down the path of the Silvia and after spending years of putting up with the underwhelming SR20 life I dipped my toes into the 1J Toyota pool for a small moment until my true compass brought me back to that incomplete dream of an R32. At this point the trawl through marketplace, gumtree, carsales etc. starts looking Aus wide for an affordable example in the current economy which was extremely barebones compared to the good old days of sub 10k cars everywhere. Out of the handful of cars in the budget at the time I settled on a 1992 R32 GTS-T that was located in Adelaide. It had caught my eyes as it was similar price to the others on the east coast and had been RB25DET NEO converted and an open door respray in a custom colour based off TH1. It was also a stand out to me because it already had some NSW registration left which saved me the hassle of getting it on the road in my state. As for mods I was told it was pretty stock other than the motor swap, a nistune to run it, and an unknown fuel pump. My first mistake was trusting the seller blindly that the car was in good condition in all aspects and decided to purchase the car unseen other than some walkaround videos & pictures as the flights down there were very expensive at the time. The price of getting it transported to my door from Adelaide from Sydney was surprisingly cheaper than the flights at the time. I was told the few issues it apparently had was only 1 speaker not working, some cracked or missing trims, and it had been rear ended at some point but had been all professionally repaired (this is all foreshadowing at this point). I paid for the car, and then booked the interstate transport. Now at this point save your criticism as I already know how stupid I sound in hindsight, this was a major lapse of judgement and I accept the problems that followed. I spent the next 2 weeks in a crazed excitement knowing I am finally the owner of an R32 & that it was on its way. I started preparing as when negotiating with the seller I opted out of the Lenso wheels as they aren't really my style & I wanted a set of genuine wheels, and the bucket seats in the car as I am 6ft5 and not the skinniest guy so I had my predictions that I wouldn't fit in them anyway. Due to this the car was put on a set of R33 stockies and some average condition R33 seats that he had laying around. While I waited for the car to arrive I went and picked up a pair of R32 seats and some R32 GTR wheels to fit nicely on it once it had arrived. Being the first time I had done anything like this or had a car transported interstate I had no clue how the logistics of it were, I chose my work as the delivery address assuming it would arrive at some point in the middle of the day. You can imagine my surprise when I wake up to a call from the truck at 5:30am telling me his about 20 minutes away. When I tell you that was the fastest drive to work I have ever done, I managed to catch up to the truck before it even got there. Spent the hours before work taking in the car and living my first experience with one, I had never even been inside one so I spent some time getting familiar with the interior before doing the seat swap. Here is my first proper photo of it as the sun rose in the background. I also noticed it had the switch for the electronic front lip which was a pleasant surprised but sadly upon looking it didn't actually have the lip or the motors or even any wiring behind the switch. As I swapped the seats, the extremely questionable history of the car started to show itself starting with some really dodgy seatbelt buckles that had been extended for some reason with horrendous welds. This was followed by me noticing the drivers side front was quite bent up to which the owner then decided to let me know it had been hit in the front at the same time as the rear end. It also had a pretty leaky power steering rack and the pump was screaming for its life. By now I was a little on edge but I had to get to work for the day, I sent the car down to my mechanic to get the fluids changed and a general check over as I started to question what I had got myself into. I packed the GTR wheels into the car to get put on while it was there as I ran out of time which was a struggle because the handle to release the fuel door/boot was non-existent and just had the end of the cable tied to a bolt. It wasn't much of a surprise when I got a call saying that it looked like the fluids hadn't been done in quite some time. Although that didn't come as a shock, it did catch me off guard when I was told he couldn't open the boot which had the wheels in which I just had open not long before. Mission #1 was to squeeze through the back panel and open the boot from the latch while loaded with a set of wheels which to my amazement he pulled off after a bit of a struggle to reveal there was nothing holding the cable mechanism in place where it sits at the fuel cap. After that dilemma was solved the mechanic did an inspection over the car while on the hoist with nothing too interesting being found other than the expected crushed frame rails. It seems to have had some bilstein shocks installed at some point and judging by the AWD sump that has been sealed up I suspect the NEO is out of a stagea. By the time I got the car back and was ready to have my first drive home in it I was still excited but now quite anxious with the car already. First stop was to the servo to get a nice fresh tank of fuel as I had no idea how long it may have been sitting around for before I bought it. It sat quite nicely on the GTR stockies I must say. Now my drive home from work is short only being a 15-20 minute commute so the chances of anything going wrong is quite small right? WRONG. As I go over a speed bump only 100m from home I start to smell the dreaded smell of electrical burning and my lights drop out and shortly after the car dies. I am in extreme panic at this point thinking the car is going to burn down on its first drive before I have even had a chance to insure it. I move to the bonnet as quick as I can and lift it up, and as I go to grab the bonnet prop my brain is in such a frenzy that it takes me a second to realise my hand is being burnt to a crisp. This is where I notice that there is no plastic clip for the bonnet stay and when I have gone over the speed bump it has knocked the stay onto the positive terminal of the battery welding itself there. Levering it off with a nearby stick I sat there for a few minutes making sure nothing was going to burn down while waiting for a mate to come jump start me. My main stress was that I could've absolutely cooked the ECU or any other electrics. I was relieved when the car started fine with jumper leads on it but it would die as soon as the headlights were turned on so I carefully limped it home with no lights and decided it was a tomorrow task. You can see here where the stand sat on the positive terminal. Thankfully with a new battery the car behaved and seemed healthy. It was pretty smooth sailing for a little while getting to enjoy dailying the car. Interior wise it was pretty much as the seller described except for the the lack of working speakers, the digital controls had no power, and the headunit would randomly turn off & on. I installed a quick release I had laying around from an old car to help with getting in & out of the car and a nice momo wheel. I bought some oem side skirts to match the rear pods that were on the car already, who said a skyline can't be a practical parts mover. Test fit looks good! Found a good deal on a GTR wing & boot that I couldn't turn down. At this point the skyline was being too good to me and had to throw the spanner in the works again. First incident was as I was coming off the motorway and heard a bang and an awful grinding noise. As I pull over down a side street to investigate I notice my whole exhaust has basically fallen off and is dragging on the ground. After waiting around to let it cool to the touch I managed to get it back on its hangers. Thinking it was a weird 1-off instance I didn't think much of it until it happened to me again a few days later to which I see this time the middle hanger has snapped in half and the rear hangers have snapped at the welds. I manage to get the car in to a shop to get the hangers welded and while there I notice that my intercooler has broken its brackets and was being held up only by the piping. Quickly got that sorted and got some thicker brackets out of steel plate to support it all. Just when you thought at this point the car might give me a break, I fill the car up on my way home from the fabricators shop and after I pay I walk back to a good portion of my liquid gold on the floor. I just shrug it off at this point in exhaustion and call it a job for another day. The car had other plans for me though as the next morning on my commute to work, I am halfway there when I notice I am struggling to shift gears. I get lucky with a run of no red lights to work and find some time on my lunch break to investigate the problem. The slave wasn't leaking and the master still had fluid so I was left confused until I contorted myself under the dash and noticed the whole pedal moving loosely side to side when pushed in. Upon pulling it out of the car I found it to be multiple snapped spot welds on the clutch pedal bracket and the actual face of the pedal that sits against the firewall had snapped in half. I jerry rigged it with nuts & bolts at the spot welds but I will need to come back to this in the future and replace with one of the strengthened nismo brackets available. I then got to enjoy the car for another 2 months of cruising and dailying it, peep the obnoxious fireballs it would shoot every shift on the dodgy tune that was on there. On a sunday drive in that period of working car, I was on my way home on the motorway when I heard a slapping noise on my front left to which I pulled over to find my indicator had ejected itself from the car. Nothing a bit of tape can fix lol. I then bought some smoked indicators but after I realised I didn't like the look I found some damaged series 1 indicators. I repaired the tabs with some cut up cards and they looked good to me. My next venture was the hunt for some wheels, I test fit my mates Work Equip Spinning that were tiny 15" and I wasn't sold on the small wheel look. I ended up finding a killer deal on some Rays Volk Racing Group C in 17x8.5 & 17x9 that had been rebuilt many years ago and not ran on a car. I am still yet to get these on the car as they require some specific adapters and shank style lug nuts but I think they will look awesome. At this point my 2 months of reliability had ran out and on a cruise with some friends I suddenly lost the ability to shift gears again and thankfully could get it home by taking main roads and not having to stop. This time my master cylinder was bone dry and the culprit was the clutch slave that had decided to let go. It was a quick and fairly easy fix, but in my luck bad things always come in waves. Only a few weeks later I am on my way home from World Time Attack when the car completely shuts off while coasting down a hill, I try crank it while I still have momentum but no luck. Thinking I might have killed the fuel pump from running it low or maybe killed a CAS because the symptoms seemed to line up somewhat, I opt to get the car towed to a workshop to get fixed up on the Monday. When it gets there they get stuck into diagnosis and the CAS wasn't sending a signal to the ECU, and the fuel pump was also dead so it was comical for a small moment there. They replace the dead fuel pump when one of them notices some smoke coming from the passenger kick panel. Boy oh boy this is where it gets very bad and very expensive. I am not sure who wired the car when the NEO swap was done originally but I hope they never attempt auto electrical again as I am lucky that this handywork only managed to short and kill the ecu and engine loom and not do more damage. This is the point where you could say the 'build' started but not by choice. After some deliberation with my bank account I opted for a Haltech Elite 2500, RB terminated loom, and WB1. While I wish I stopped there and did the minimum of get the car running and leave it at that, I slipped into the rabbithole and decided I wanted to make the most of getting a retune and throw some bolt ons at it and see what it would do. I then threw together a bit of a mix n match build of marketplace deals starting with a GCG GTX3076R, a turbosmart FPR6, 980cc injectors, walbro 460, jackspanian ffp, throttle & fuel rail. At this point it was coming along nicely, the shop was making quick work of it and the bay was looking a lot nicer without the stock crossover intake. I also got them to replace the noisy centre bearing while it was off the road. Then we couldn't get an OEM CAS to talk to the haltech so ended up getting a PRP Street Trigger Kit for it.   While the car wasn't playing nice it decided to kill the stock alternator too so went with an LS1 alternator conversion kit. By now the car was pretty much done and ready to go but come tune day the car kept throwing the timing out every time it would warm up. Upon further investigation it seemed to be warping the PRP trigger bracket when the metal would get hot and expand which would cause the sensor to lose timing as it moves. Herman advised that they have seen the issue a few times now and don't know what the cause is. At this point I decided to switch to the PRP Pro kit with the crank trigger and considering the whole timing belt would have to come off I decided to get a new timing belt kit with water pump fitted. The car would now run fine with no issues and it was finally tune time. It ran up a healthy 275kw but ran out of boost due at 17psi to the rear housing being undersized. At this point the clutch also started slipping and due to it still being a weak RB20 box the tuner set it up to ramp from 8psi up to 17psi with the revs so that it wouldn't load up the clutch and box as hard. Car drives like a dream now. With the car back on the road I could return my focus to the smaller details, starting with getting a set of badges for the hood and quarters. I was struggling to drive with shoes on and I noticed that my accelerator pedal sits higher than my brake and clutch, if someone could confirm how it should sit that would be great. Next little changes was a killallwipers rear windscreen wiper delete, I also got some interior bits I was missing such as parcel shelf speaker covers, wiper trim cover, and boot floor and trims. Finally made it to a SAU NSW event which was awesome to cruise with a bunch of likeminded individuals. Another creature comfort I decided to look into was my lack of A/C. Since the Haltech got wired up the digital climate would power up now, and would blow but no cold air. First issue noticed was the lack of belt on the A/C compressor. After sorting that to no avail, it also had no A/C gas in it, but turns out the condenser has a huge leak. We are almost caught up on the story so far, but at the start of this month while coming into a driveway I heard a huge clunk in the front end to which I got out to witness whatever dodgy camber arms someone installed in this at some point decided to snap in half and I feel very lucky that it didn't happen at speed. Managed to get the car fixed the next day with some replacement GKtech arms. Next problem to address was the leaking gas tank from months ago. Checked the pump hanger seal first but that was fine, stuck my camera up after filling up to try scope out the leak which looked like the breather hose. Got the car up on a hoist prepared to drop the tank when I reached up to feel with my hand and I could feel that the hose clamp was missing and soon after felt that there was a gaping hole in the top of the hose. Replaced and tested and the car holds its liquid now and doesn't give me a fume headache whenever I drive it now. Finally have caught up and now onto fixing my latest issue which is the lack of dash light when driving at night, checked fuses first, then when searching I found the common problem of the headlight switch burning out but mine looks fine. Next test will be plugging a known working headlight switch into my car to tell if my switch is dead. Sorry for the long read but I wanted to be thorough, so if anyone made it this far I salute you soldier. Enjoy the rest of your day and I will keep this updated with issues I find/solve and any cool mods I can do inbetween. Merry Xmas!
    • can someone tell me what information a block number of 330680a on a rb25det engine specifies?
    • Would you suggest staying with a twin setup but upgraded turbos  ?
    • @Duncan hopefully they have a good hard look at Toyota. Both EVs AND performance vehicles!