Looked in the letterbox today to find an my local newspaper, normally it goes straight to the recycling bin but todays frontpage headline was interesting. :lol:

full.jpg

My highlights from the article are:

intro.jpg

Hmmm... what do you mean by anti-social?

safety.jpg

Hmmm... what sort of actions are deemed anti-social ey?

revving.jpg

LOL as you can see I've highlighted "revving your engine"...

As much as this hoon hotline will be useful since in Frankston theres bogans ripping up the road at 4AM, to suggest simple non-hoon actions as anti-social driving is just stupid.

Imagine your working on your car in the front yard, and to check something you need to rev your motor repeatedly, since you have an exhaust it will be louder than usual and your neighbour reports you :blink:

How about some uneducated bogan kid runs out in front of your car out of no where for no reason (an everyday occurance in Frankston :) ) and you have to brake really hard? Wait I must think... hit the kid or screech your brakes/skid to stop just in time and end up being reported for hooning. At this point hitting the kid seems like an attractive option since we don't really need retarded bogan kids who just run onto the road without looking, AND I also don't need to be reported for hooning. :P

*end rant*

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/92650-ammusing-article-i-found/

The big issue i see this having is if some one doesnt like you, and youve got even a slight exhaust upgrade on your car is to report you hooning in an area relativly close to your home thus making you at fault, and you most likely being in the area. Its silly, but im sure people have had things called up against them just because some one in particular doesnt like them.

Did they think of this, or do they think all car enthuiasts are 'hoons'

If your a hoon, you deserve everything u get.

umm its in frankston peoples..

i rekon the hotline is a good idea....

no no wait.. a great idea :)

theres so many scumbag drivers in that part of town its scary... seriously...

Obviously it wouldnt work in most suburbs but you all have to admit frankston is one of the worse suburbs when it comes to this sort of crap.. or any crap for that matter :)

finaly the government is doing something right :(

Yer I didn't say I didn't support it because I hate hoons ripping up my street in the middle of the night but I'm just saying that classifying revving your engine anti-social is taking it a bit too far. Anyone with a slightly louded exhaust will just get dobbed in by all the old farts who think because your cars louder your actually driving at a faster speed.

Also like others meantioned, if someone has an issue with you then they will dob you in and what can you do?

Its just used as a gimmik by local councils etc to win votes from the minority groups who makeout this is such a massive issue @ thier monthly council meetings.

Nothing more. The police cant do squat.

Think about it. Its your word against some other common joe.

Different story if the police actually saw you doing it.

I could ring that number right now and report my next door neighbour.

Doenst mean he was doing it. Its my word against his, no-one will ever know if he was or not

isnt it already possible to ring up like EPA and say so and so has a loud exhaust, and then they have to get tested?

No, only a police officer (and perhaps an officer of the EPA itself) can report a noisy vehicle. However there's nothing to stop Joe Public taking the number plate of a car and walking into a police station to make a complaint. The police can then investigate. See here:

http://www.epa.vic.gov.au/epafaq.asp#s10

Third Offence: Possible total loss of vehicle

That's apparently the case as of 1 June next year (or was it July ??)

Do we at least get compensated for it?

If it's your car, apparently not. If it's a hire car or company car, etc then the 'true' owner has the opportunity to seek some compensation. Details are somewhat sketchy.

Ash is right... police can't act upon "hearsay". There must be proof of an offense being committed before you can be charged...

I don't believe the hoon hotline idea is very useful, more than council's or police trying to be seen in the eyes of the community as "doing something" about reckless driving on the roads. Although there have been a few times I've seen very dangerous driving on the road and just *wished* there was an undercover cop watching it happen to take action.

Ah well, these type of drivers will either grow up and get over their reckless 'hoon' behaviour, or end up in jail or dead. The sad thing is that they could take someone else's life in the process.

LOL. Sounds like some people have too much time on their hands. "Anti-social," why do i get the visual image of some one hooning down the street with 5 ppl in the car and some dude yelling "shuuuuuuuutt uuuuuuuuuppp!" out his window? who's being anti-social. i wanna send Dona Kelly a dictionary

From what i understood of these new laws if the car doesn’t belong yo you weather is be company or relative they cant actuary take the car away from you but they can take a car that is in your name... so what do we go and do ppl buy a lil kick around have it in our names and then have our lines under our grandparents/parents name that way they are more than welcome to take my $300 car. It will all be because someone has an issue with my car although i have done nothing wrong...

Who knows but again from what i understand you have to be doing in excess of around 40km or dragging or serious burnouts “HOON” stuff for them to take the car off you.. First time it's for 48Hours then 2nd im not sure and then the 3rd time they take it for good...

Hey we all know that this isn’t going to stop all our hoons in their “Vl Calais Turbo’s” etc but as Ash said it’s the government’s best way to keep the public happy and give them the impressions that they will be safe on our roads...

i read another article in the paper the other day which said something to the effect of 'after a third offence the car can/will be confiscated and sold at police auction, and if the car belongs to someone else they can apply for compensation'...it also went on to say the laws were aiming to "hit them where it hurts".

stupid really, they should just have more cops patrolling on the lookout for dickheads. Maybe cops who actually follow up reports <_<

Got the article, Frankston Councils are copycats, i may as well give them a call and tell them 'copycats!' or report one of the members of council car for hooning!

And i just catch the quote, "If hooning is their hobby they can pay and drive at tracks. The public shouldn't leave areas because of hoons behaviour." Where's the nearest track in Frankston? Sandown? Does Sandown usually open their doors to public every day? I don't think so, so that leaves Calder Park which is good 2 hours drive.

I remember a article about hooning @ same newspaper or other local newspaper, the owner of VL said, we'll stop if there's a track nearby.

As some said Frankston has worst drivers, i have to disagree, Dandenong is the most worst driver, (no offence to whoever lives there) most Dandy drivers can't drive! They tend to cut you off while it's peak hour traffic cause me to brake my 2 ton Patrol to avoid hit them in back!

I actually feel safe driving around Frankston, in my 5 years of living here, i yet to see bunch of hoons ripping burnouts in car park, it makes me wonder what good these anti-hoon phone thingo are...

Anyways, enough ranting from me, and feel free to correct me if some of these is wrong.

Grant

I think we hammer them for discrimination....

Spoke to a copper mate about this over breakfast yesterday. It will generally be employed for the real idiots. Remember you always have the right of appeal and to submit a complaint if an officer is overzealous or discriminatory. There must be a real offence.

BTW I picked him up in the GTR and gave a demonstration of wet standing start traction. He was, to say the least, impressed and with no wheelspin, there was no hoon behaviour :)