Guest Cacophony

Hi all

I have read heaps of threads, with some great info, but didn't know which one to append my question to. So, here it is:

I have just purchased a R33, which has a heavy duty clutch. I have no idea whether it is brass button or not, but I know that it's hard on the left leg and does not have much play (enables gear within approx an inch of the pedal fully depressed).

I was driving the car for about an hour, giving it a little to test it out... no slippage what-so-ever - and earlier on a test drive with my friend (Drift Spec) and I, no dramas either. However, after an hour of driving, I took it for a cruise around the block with my mate and it was slipping in any gear (other than 1st) whenever I went over 3000rpm.

I am mechanically challenged, I have no idea, so I am wondering if I was just not using the HD clutch properly (and it was getting revenge), or it is totally buggered. I thought that I would have no troubles, with a HD clutch. But these things happen I guess. I just bought the car, so I have no idea how old the clutch is - but the car has only 48,000 kms on the clock.

Is it rooted or something else? If it is (I am expecting the worst), what is a good replacement, what cost, where in Adelaide can I get it? If not, then what alternatives do I have?

Sorry for the long post! Any info would be cool.

Cheers guys, awesome forum.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/9477-clutch-question/

Guest Cacophony

Thanks bud.

I went past there tonight - I got a quote on their 9 button ceramic clutch with heavy duty plate (not extra heavy duty). I was quoted:

$350 labour

$35 Exchange machined f/wheel

&

$605 for clutch (new) or $500 if I exchange my plate.

So around $900 fitted. Is that expensive or what? Most people I have talked to say about $700-$900.

It would cost me about $715 for their standard clutch fitted.

Any ideas?

Thanks again

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/9477-clutch-question/#findComment-144603

Cacophony,

Alot of people say they have heavy duty clutches when in actual fact there have a standard clutch which is just been resprung stiffer. I would suggest you go with the Extreme clutch as they are built specifically for the purpose of hard street driving.

See'ya:burnout:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/9477-clutch-question/#findComment-144625