what's wrong with the market these days

i cant even sell my car for even what i bought it for nearly 2 years ago...

damn...

am i asking too much ???

or is it just modded GTR's that turns people away

a stock 1 with the same price tag got sold heaps quik..

and mines still standing here about 3-4 months

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/

No idea mate. But you don't really expect to get what you paid for it two years ago do you?

Mod's don't add that much on the top of the price. I usually look at them being worth about half what the cost of them was.

I don't know if your asking too much, wouldn't think so. Some heavily modified ones are asking around 29-30+k. However, maybe that's too much for the market to bear when a 33 isn't that much more.

That said, I bought an mildly modified one and have thrown a fair few k at it since. Your's would be a fair sight cheaper. I guess it's the mentality of having it done yourself. But still, same problems when people who take this approach go to sell.

I think if your not going to leave it stock it's best to buy a modified one. Doesn't have to have all the go fast bits, but some of the good gear sure helps reduce cost. Especially if you've got all the reciepts for interested buyers.

Edited by 1q2w3e4r
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1716190

I think theres a fear factor of buying someone elses rocket ( aka GTR )

Such as unknown problems/unknown history etc

When i was looking to buy mine (not long ago, under 3 months) i was about to buy a r33 instead of r32 but couldnt get the colour i wanted, and i used the difference to to a few things to the r32 - so the above post is right in saying the r33's are a very close price and unless you are a r32 junkie the r33 is the more sensible buy

Hope this helps.....

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1716314

what people think is that when there is big mods on it, the car has been thrashed, and usually it is better to buy a nearly stok one as it means it hasnt always been thrashed. i dunno but i dont think id every buy a car stok standard again, its too much money wasted that i will never see again, id rather buy one modded and get it checked over properly.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1717474

Another thing to factor in might be the new P plater restriction. Young kids looking to do stupid things in high powered imports are not legally able to buy said imports anymore.

daddy cant buy his sons dream car for him anymore on his 17th bday.....

if i had the cash id buy your car in a flash... its awesome....

got it on all the car websites and newspaper??

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1718206

the problem doesnt neccessarily lie with the price of your car. The problem is the market has been completely flooded with GTR's (modded and stock) A lot of people bought some GTR's thinking they could make a quick buck, but they are having a hard time to make any real profit off it. for the price you are asking and for the mods done (the rebuild in particular)it is way below what it is worth in my opinion. i know cars are hard to make money off, but end of the day, you get what you paid for. people can buy a 'stock' GTR, but when that thing lets go (its only a matter of time), they will realise that it would have been easier AND cheaper to have spent more in the first place. This rule also applies to the R33 GTR's.

you could always go another option and buy a stock 2nd motor and drop it in and then lower the price and try to flog off the motor seperately.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1718875

another fact is some GTRs are known to be nuggets especially the 89 ones

I demolished a 32 GTR the other nite off the lights in my GTT, they are simply worn out due to age and thrashing in Japan

the worn out ones output like 170-180 kw so I hear many say

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1720430

Cars are a very subjective thing.

Even if your car is competitively priced, a potential buyer may not like the mods that you've done to the car, or the look that you went for.

Oh, and 1q2w3e4r is VERY generous by granting a 50% concession to modifications done. I would calculate them at more like 20% of original parts cost, EXCLUDING labour.

Modifying cars is a VERY expensive hobby... Both at the time of modification, and the hit you take when trying to sell it :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1723304

Why not strip it and sell it as a stocker.

That way you will probably get more for it in the end

even thats a gamble, your going to have to spend $$$ to get it back to stock, then you still have to find a buyer.. and then you have to sell all your parts etc....

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/94940-why/#findComment-1723587